Customer Reviews for

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Average Rating 4
( 894 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(565)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Never forgot the story!

I read this book when I was in 4th grade. That was 15 years ago and I still remember the story from beginning to end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading and the knowledge that can be gained from it.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

"It was the blue dolphins that brought her home..." Well, I wish they had taken me away from this awful book too...

I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever...
I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever, right up there with Holes and The Tale of Desperaux. The worst, is the blasted Witch of Blackbird Pond and...this one. This whole book, a Robinson Crusoe/Castaway tale of an Indian girl who is living alone at an island for 18 years, is mostly a tell book...the character, Karana, has no emotion, no feeling whatsoever. This is mostly what i hated about this novel. It's approx 200 pages felt like 2,000 pages becuase of how dull and lackluster it was. No emotion, no feeling. You would think the poor girl would be heartbroken, no? Well, she isnt at all. Every chapter is her making a speat or sewing a skirt or sailing down the river. This gets very dull after 100 pages of it. I was bored to death, sadly.
Content....everything is okey dokey. No sex or language. There is some mild violence and thematic elements.
This could have been such a great novel. But This book lacked depth, and the most important ingredient in every children's book...a little spice called feeling. without that one thing, everything else just comes out tasteless and burnt.

**Thanks for reading my review! Please mark it as helpful and check out my other reviews! Thanks so much and God bless!**

posted by Victoria-Star on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Uggg

    I have to read this book for school and disliked it feel asleep teice ehile reading it

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Dumb

    I had to read this stupid book at school but it was kinda good

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Mak queen is my name

    I have to read this STUPID BOOK FOR SHOOL AND I HAVE TO DO A PRODJECT on it. Me and my freind carly had to partner read it and we kept maiing fun of it the whle time. But awesome if u guys like it

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I hate it

    It is so boring can't you just watch Survivor instead?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I hated this Book. Island of the blue doplin

    i had to read this for my home school program and my teacher and i both hated this book. we found it to be a difficult read, strange plot, hated the characters, wasnt at all FUNNY!, and over all it was challenging because she speaks in an indan langue. ALTHOUGH... it had an amazing twist ending that was BRILLENT! but i wouldnt recommand it at all!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Omg

    This is the worst book ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    It stunck

    The worst book I ever read

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    This is one of worst books i have ever read

    SUCKS!!!!!!!!!! I hate this book

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Terrible

    Karana isnt even sad that shes alone on the island. Her bro dies, she doesnt even cry. This book has no heart. Im reDing it f school and i hate it. l: /

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Island of the Blue Dolphins:DON'T READ IT!

    Island of the Blue Dolphins is a story about a girl and her family living on an Island until the island is invaded by Russians who make her life not so easy. All of the residents on the island are forced to relocate to a new island, but they forgot her and her brother behind. She has to do many tasks trying to stay alive. This is one of two books in this series and I would not recommend it.

    This book is based on a true story by Scott O'Dell. A girl left on an island is forced to hunt for her food, try not to get eaten by the wild dogs, and stay alive. Along the way she meets some animal friends and grows attached to them. She tries to sale to the island on which her family is on many times but is forced to turn around do to things such as a hole in the boat or bad weather. She tells us in the book that she is "very lonely" and her "animal friends give her a sense of love as if they are her babies". In this book I think Scott O'Dell was trying to tell us a story about a girl who lives on an island. He was very creative and used good grammar while he was writing the story. The young girl is narrating the book and tells us about her journey.

    In the Island of the Blue dolphins I failed to see the point in this book. The story line was too hard to follow because one day it would be summer and the next day it would be winter. O'Dell jumped from place to place without warning, making the book very hard to understand. I would not recommend this book to you because of this problem. I tried to read the first chapter in the second book but quit because it lacked the same qualities as the first book. A critical elements the book didn't have was having a plot.

    In conclusion Island of the blue dolphins is a book based on a true story about a girl stranded on an island and she has to overcome her fears. I thought the book had a very thin story line and was not appropriate for the age level it suggests. One critical element the book didn't appear to have is a plot. The plot jumped from season to season and the young girl grew up too quickly. The readers didn't get a chance to actually get to know her character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    I Demand a Refund!!!!!

    Never before have I demanded my time back from a teacher for making me read something. This is by far the worst novel I have ever read, and I send my condolences to all those who have read it. It is the archetypal waste of time and it should be read to prisoners of war as torture. Island of the Blue Dolphins makes me ashamed to be the same species as O'Dell. I have not read his other works, and they may be worthwhile, but Island of the Blue Dolphins is a sad mark on the literary history of the English language.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    Scott O'Dell, OUTSTANDING AUTHOR!!!! :)

    Island of the Blue Dolphins is a great book for both adults and young children. It is a fantastic story to relax and read, or find information. The book puts together an intense, spiritual story of a girl who faces many problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Not good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Islabd of the blue dolphins

    OMG I LOVE IT island of the blue dolphins omgn, oh my god nutella well it was awesome and its just sooooooooooooooooo beutiful love the book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Dang people. Pick me!

    I hate those dang sad books! The writer is an idiot! Hate ur book! Hope u write back!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    One white dolphin

    Pretty good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Ddnd

    Have to read for summer reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Bad

    Dont get it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Jonathan

    Awww didnt even get to use the Powerstones...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4