Customer Reviews for

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Average Rating 4.5
( 899 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Never forgot the story!

I read this book when I was in 4th grade. That was 15 years ago and I still remember the story from beginning to end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading and the knowledge that can be gained from it.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

"It was the blue dolphins that brought her home..." Well, I wish they had taken me away from this awful book too...

I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever...
I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever, right up there with Holes and The Tale of Desperaux. The worst, is the blasted Witch of Blackbird Pond and...this one. This whole book, a Robinson Crusoe/Castaway tale of an Indian girl who is living alone at an island for 18 years, is mostly a tell book...the character, Karana, has no emotion, no feeling whatsoever. This is mostly what i hated about this novel. It's approx 200 pages felt like 2,000 pages becuase of how dull and lackluster it was. No emotion, no feeling. You would think the poor girl would be heartbroken, no? Well, she isnt at all. Every chapter is her making a speat or sewing a skirt or sailing down the river. This gets very dull after 100 pages of it. I was bored to death, sadly.
Content....everything is okey dokey. No sex or language. There is some mild violence and thematic elements.
This could have been such a great novel. But This book lacked depth, and the most important ingredient in every children's book...a little spice called feeling. without that one thing, everything else just comes out tasteless and burnt.

**Thanks for reading my review! Please mark it as helpful and check out my other reviews! Thanks so much and God bless!**

posted by Victoria-Star on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "It was the blue dolphins that brought her home..." Well, I wish they had taken me away from this awful book too...

    I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever, right up there with Holes and The Tale of Desperaux. The worst, is the blasted Witch of Blackbird Pond and...this one. This whole book, a Robinson Crusoe/Castaway tale of an Indian girl who is living alone at an island for 18 years, is mostly a tell book...the character, Karana, has no emotion, no feeling whatsoever. This is mostly what i hated about this novel. It's approx 200 pages felt like 2,000 pages becuase of how dull and lackluster it was. No emotion, no feeling. You would think the poor girl would be heartbroken, no? Well, she isnt at all. Every chapter is her making a speat or sewing a skirt or sailing down the river. This gets very dull after 100 pages of it. I was bored to death, sadly.
    Content....everything is okey dokey. No sex or language. There is some mild violence and thematic elements.
    This could have been such a great novel. But This book lacked depth, and the most important ingredient in every children's book...a little spice called feeling. without that one thing, everything else just comes out tasteless and burnt.

    **Thanks for reading my review! Please mark it as helpful and check out my other reviews! Thanks so much and God bless!**

    25 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Um.....

    I had chosen this book to read for school and i compleatly regreted it i was forgeting what i was reading! But by the time i was inn the middle it was ok but not a real page turner so i recommend this to ppl who really x5 like reading

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Excellent

    It was a good book. I enjoyed it a lot. Every word I read I became more intrigued into the story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Island of the Blue Dolphins

    This is a kind of a sad. It's about a girl who lives by herself after her dad and brother dies and the ship left her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Good

    I liked this book but it is not something I would pick up and read I was forced to read it over the summer by the teachers at my school. Since I did read I thought it was a nice O.K. book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    Beautiful setting for a story

    The idea is an interesting one. The girl lives alone on this island and has big problems and hopes forever , it seems, to get rescued. Sometimes , the story goes on too long, but overall its pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Island of the Blue Dolphins

    This book was about a girl who survives on an island where she was suppose to go to Calforina, but her brother was left on the island. She jumps out of the ship to get him. Then the boat leaves without them. Will the boat come back, or will she be stuck on the island?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Love it

    Sad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Island of the blue dolphins

    I read this book last year in class. It was a decent book. There were some parts when it ws boring and i didn't pay attention in class! Haha lol! Aafter all it was a giod book,but not an amazing book, thats just my oppion you might like it a lot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Mystery

    Good book. Some parts didnt make sense.
    Still great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Good

    Read for school.

    Interesting but sad.

    Saw the movie afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good book

    I think this is a good book beacuse it says details and also i read it with my teacher and my class and i liked it that was a long time ago i was 4th but i really liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Not a read again.

    I liked it. Thats it I liked it. It was a hard book to follow but i finished it. The plot was cool it made you buy it but when you read it it wasn't as cool. At first I loved it then more into the book I stopped reading it for awhile then started back up again. It was hard to finish it but I am the tpye of girl who if your close to finishing a book then I want to sit and read it in one sitting. The book was just not that good. I liked some parts and then I didn't like someother parts. I say not a read again. Try it but I am just wraning you that it was not good. Not a waste of money but not a " oohhh I am so reading this again" not one of those.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    SAD

    SAD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    To pierce

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Sab

    Ken just cause your on blue doesnt nmean you can sheat and show favertizim....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wow

    Wow in tje beginning of fourth grade o remember reading the first chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Alright

    This book is OKAY its interesting when things happen on the island but otherwise its kinda slow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Awesome

    I read the sample and it rocked.I think you sould read it.Right when you read it you wil LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Pretty good

    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4