Customer Reviews for

Island of the Sequined Love Nun

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    In Moore's top 4

    In all fairness, i have only read Lamb, Fool, The Stupidest Angel, and this one but it is nestled in the top for sure. Once again, Moore manages to to give so much heart and soul to his severely depraved and flawed lead character. The story is funny, the characters are well written and the plot advances and evolves quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Surprisingly good

    I had never heard of Chris Moore before, so this book was a treat. It was funny and qwirky and entertaining all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Good read.

    I was looking for a supernatural without all the intense drama. I guess this would fall under dark humor. Easy fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    What did you expect from a title like this?

    Whenever I finish reading something a bit heavy, I look for something a good deal lighter in my next read. I can always count on Christopher Moore to provide some laugh-out-loud material with outrageous characters and an even more outrageous plot. And as crazy as his characters and situations might be, he always seems to hit the nail on the head with common human emotions and thought processes--so I can identify with, yes, even an elderly island cannibal or a bunch of natives that worship a dead World War II pilot. Moore never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    He is a very very sick man...............

    this has to be one of the most twisted stories that I have read to date - he keeps you coming back for more - that's for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    quick read

    One of Christopher Moore's best books. So funny and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wild satire

    In Seattle, Meadow Malackovitch asks Tick Case to help her become a member of the Mile High Club. Being a bit drunk while having a bit of action in the air, Tucker ¿Tuck¿ Case crashes his company¿s pink plane, landing in the weekly tabloids. Wheeled away to the hospital with damage to his penis, his buddy figures that God takes care of fools and drunks, of which Tuck is both. However, he loses his divine luck as he faces the wrath of his employer, Mary Jean Dobbins for thinking with the wrong head and the loss of his aviator¿s license. <P>Fleeing to the Pacific Ring, Tuck accepts a job with a missionary, Dr. Curtis flying medical supplies to an isolated Micronesia island. He makes new friends with a transvestite and a fruit bat, but unwittingly (the norm for Tuck), he is the runner in a lucrative organ transport business. <P> Renowned for his amusing yet ascorbic satires, Christopher Moore returns to his fertile grounds to provide the audience with a wild ironic look at the action thriller. The story line is two parts of humor and two parts of action, which add to the irreverent glimpse at a world gone crazy, Mr. Moore simply eradicates everything sacred under the western sun. Though somewhat stereotyped in characterization and not quite as wild as expected from the king of weird, the plot entertains those readers who enjoy a tale to the extreme of the absurd. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Moore's stange style hits the spot.

    This might not measure up to some of his other novels, but it stills holds its own. The story is far out enough to make you laugh, but Moore just barely makes it beleiveable by giving the characters real human flaws. There were times when I thought the plot was absurb, but that's the point! His insights into what the fall of one man can to to a person; and the god complex deep down in all of us makes the novel a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3