Customer Reviews for

Islands in the Stream

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hemingway Does It Better Than Anyone

Islands in the Stream is the best Hemingway novel that I have read to date with the possible exception of The Old Man and the Sea. Hemingway can make the reader feel what he is feeling and experience what he is experiencing better than anyone else. When I read commerc...
Islands in the Stream is the best Hemingway novel that I have read to date with the possible exception of The Old Man and the Sea. Hemingway can make the reader feel what he is feeling and experience what he is experiencing better than anyone else. When I read commercial literature, I finish with a feeling of nothingness. When I read Hemingway, I feel the challenge of life. If you are scared to cry and to hurt and at the same time not give up, stay away from Hemingway. You cannot handle him. But if you wish to 'suck the marrow' from life, grab Islands in the Stream. Read it. Savor it. Let it take you to places you have never been before and experience the deep emotions of life.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Islands in the Stream

the book is not as good as I thought it would be. But there are some good parts in the story and I would not recommend reading Islands in the Stream but you could if you want to.

posted by 2130297 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Hemingway Does It Better Than Anyone

    Islands in the Stream is the best Hemingway novel that I have read to date with the possible exception of The Old Man and the Sea. Hemingway can make the reader feel what he is feeling and experience what he is experiencing better than anyone else. When I read commercial literature, I finish with a feeling of nothingness. When I read Hemingway, I feel the challenge of life. If you are scared to cry and to hurt and at the same time not give up, stay away from Hemingway. You cannot handle him. But if you wish to 'suck the marrow' from life, grab Islands in the Stream. Read it. Savor it. Let it take you to places you have never been before and experience the deep emotions of life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I've read

    "Islands in the Stream" is the story of how a man deals with a devastating loss. Though the main character is very masculine and tough, Hemingway reveals his sensitivity through his actions, words, and most important, by what he leaves unsaid. This book touched my heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    I Wish I Had Never Read This Book

    This is by far one of the most powerful and gratifying books I have ever read. I often wish I had never read it, so that I may open it once again and read it for the first time. Hemmingway's work is simply amazing. And what a magnificent last book as well...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Hawkpaw

    She leaped on Nightfall, but kept her claws sheathed so she didnt scratch him. "Got ya!!!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Nightfall to Hawkpaw

    You must learn to be stronger. No one is going to give you rest in battle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    URGENT

    Celestialkit is locked out of main camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Blueblaze

    Sure! Are you six moons

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Electricclaw to foxtail

    *dips her head respecfully*congrats!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    To Clan

    I am a green and blue with a yingyang on my forehead i am a warrior cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    R

    The white-and-red queen limps in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Black claw dips her head respectfully

    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Rosetail

    Beautiful kits!*backs out* I'll leave you with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Gleamingheart to you two

    *drops down and her fur is black and she has a thin glowing white streak down her back* this place is stripping me of my powers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Enderfur

    Padd to main camp

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    d

    Next to the medicine den, the nursery is found in a cave of soil under a root of the tree. Sunlight filters in from empty spaces in the roof, and fresh air can be foumd all around the large, underground cave.

    *+*CrystalHeart*+*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Hemingway Fan

    My favorite Hemingway Book. Thomas Hudson is one of my favorite Hemingway characters too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Islands in the Stream

    Islands....is my favorate works of Papa. Normally I don't like a movie as much as I like the book but Island's is the exception. In this work, the character Thomas Hudson is reversed; Thomas is a painter who wishes to be artist while Hemingway tried to paint. The character and Hemingway share a great number traits; both have an older son to a first marriage and two by a second, both lived in Bimini (Papa only rented a room above The Complete Angler) but both had a love for the Gulf Stream and fishing. The interplay between the the three boys, Thomas and the author reveal the pain both shared about the boys and the lingering love for past partners. The tragedy in their bitter-sweet lives plays out extremely well and brings author and reader close together. A great treat for anyone who reads Hemingway. If you, by chance, get a copy of the movie staring George C. Scott, the movie will bring a smile to your face and possible a tear to your eye as both are great works and both should have a spot in your libray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    the paper was his canvas

    Unlike teenagers who might sometimes read books they find in their old man's study, most who read this will be thrill and floored that ernest used timely calculations and measured phrase, allowing the reader to jump in to his past, allbeit considered fiction, to know the man as even at times his own family could not. His therapy was sadly at times not to express himself to those who mattered, but to the canvas, with the understanding that the pen was his paintbrush. He combined long and choppy strokes, starting the reader off slow, yet bringing each of us down to that beach in bimini, with the rummys, the thoughts, the aspirations and the tragedy. A beautiful work that transends time. P. Chadz is a close resemblance in the modern day, where as his book concerning the days he spend in the service seem to be an quiet expresssion of all he saw that was both wrong and right and mirrors his text with the same sureness, yet also shows signs of his own mortality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Very Very Excellent

    He's one of My favorite authers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2