Customer Reviews for

Isla's Redemption

Average Rating 5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of this book.

Isla's Redemption takes the reader on a fantastic journey with a young lady searching for the meaning of her dreams. Romance finds its way into this quest. With this comes struggle. Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of the book as this tale gains in its le...
Isla's Redemption takes the reader on a fantastic journey with a young lady searching for the meaning of her dreams. Romance finds its way into this quest. With this comes struggle. Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of the book as this tale gains in its level of intensity. I found it to be a great story, pulling me in as each event unfolded. Truly, the Gods need mortals as much as the mortals need the Gods.

posted by 880221 on January 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

A must read

Not the best book I've ever read. But far from being just good. It will entrap the hearts of teenage girls, and young women. There is just enough action to keep the avid male readers intrigued as well. It was overall a fantastic story. Still, there were those mistakes t...
Not the best book I've ever read. But far from being just good. It will entrap the hearts of teenage girls, and young women. There is just enough action to keep the avid male readers intrigued as well. It was overall a fantastic story. Still, there were those mistakes that were easily spotted. I wouldn't knock down this story because of them though. Give the book a chance. Most first novels have these very same mistakes in them and yet they are still great stories. Without a doubt, Isla's Redemption is a must read.

posted by 887952 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of this book.

    Isla's Redemption takes the reader on a fantastic journey with a young lady searching for the meaning of her dreams. Romance finds its way into this quest. With this comes struggle. Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of the book as this tale gains in its level of intensity. I found it to be a great story, pulling me in as each event unfolded. Truly, the Gods need mortals as much as the mortals need the Gods.

    87 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    Blew me away.

    Let's get the negitive feedback out of the way right away. Errors. And lots of them. Spelling and grammar. With this being Terra Pitre's first published manuscript, that is acceptable. In her future works, however, she'd better be more on top of things. With this being her first book people, such as myself, will easily look past the errors and love her book for what it is, a great book. But if she continues to let her errors slide in her future books, she won't find her writing career going very far. For now, I'm not going to bash her for her errors. If there are the same errors in her next book, I will bash her for them.<BR/><BR/>With the error business aside, I have to say this story blew me away. I did not expect it to. Like some other reviewers have mentioned, I was a bit speculative when I found out what publishing company she went through. However, from the first page of Isla's Redemption, to the very last, I was completely sucked into this book. I felt as if I knew all of her characters. Each had their own distinct personality. I even found myself sympathizing with Donovan, the bad guy. Terra Pitre has a talent that few writers have. She has a way of weaving her words together and hooking you to them and to her story.<BR/><BR/>I found this book to be a great read and I would suggest it to anyone. Definately give it a read.

    83 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    Isla's Redemption is a winner!

    Terra Pitre has woven a wonderful story through a skillful blending of fantasy, action, and adventure. You will find yourself cheering for Arissa and Oliver while laughing at the antics of Tessa and Rupert. Isla's Redemption is a winner!

    79 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ┬┐Breath-taking story of love and friendship┬┐┬┐

    ¿Isla¿s Redemption¿ is a moving story. A real page turner. It is a story that tells the true meanings of love and friendship. You¿ll be holding your breath as you get toArissa and her friends on a quest ssed through time following three generations of love. Terra Pitre did a wonderful job in telling this story.

    76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    I enjoyed Arissa's fiery temper

    I just finished this book and came online to review it and I saw mostly great reviews for this book...except for one. I was suprised at that review, really suprised. It claimed that Arissa always talked in all caps. Well, wow, so what? I loved that about her. I loved that she spoke her mind. Yeah, sometimes she went too far...but that made her human. That made me, as the reader, identify with her more. I got to see that she wasn't perfect. And that is what draws a reader in. That's what makes a reader care about a character. I very much enjoyed when Arissa would go into her little rants. I found myself laughing because it was comedically perfect. And as for the characters having the personalities of a 'pop-up book'...well I laughed at the absurtity of that. All of Ms. Pitre's characters were appealing and exciting. Readers will easily fall in love with all of these characters. There is someone in this book for everyone to identify with. Now maybe I'm not some major reviewer, and maybe I dont know what I'm talking about. But I'm an avid reader and a book has to be amazing to pull me in. And that's exactly what Isla's Redemption is. Amazing. Magical. Magnificent. I loved it. I'm a fan of Terra Ann Pitre.

    71 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Epic

    The fight scene towards the end was insane. With the right producer this would make one bad ass movie. I even enjoyed the romance, and I'm not usually one who reads romance books. But it was great. I gave it to my girlfriend to read and she's already halfway through it. She's loving it. This is a book that everyone can enjoy. The girls will swoon over the romance, and the guys will very much enjoy the action. There were spelling and grammar errors, which is why I'm giving this book a four star rating, but I still thought the book was pretty bad ass. Looking forward to seeing what Terra Pitre has up her sleeve next.

    54 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I am very impressed.

    Everything is well thought out and connected, yet some things are still left to our imaginations. Isla's Redemption starts off intense and its intensity only continues to grow rapidly. I was literally gripping the edges of this book. I wanted to know what happened next! Then I'd find out..and wonder what happened next! Though the path to Arissa's truth is one filled with pain and suffering, the end will leave you smiling and sighing. I am very impressed.

    52 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Terra Ann Pitre has scored, and scored big for her first novel.

    It seems everyone here, so far, has enjoyed so many different aspects of Isla's Redemption. What I enjoyed the most was the tragedy. Yes, the romance was sizzling. The war scene at the end was intense. But the tragedy is what got me. I actually cried. She takes you places you would not expect her to take you. Isla's Redemption was also touching. What I found the most touching was all of the friends Arissa had to back her up. You truly felt she bad a bond with them all. They all had their own lovable personality. They also all had their flaws, which made them relatable. As said in my headline, Terra Ann Pitre has scored, and scored big for her first novel. This is not a book readers will soon forget.

    52 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Isla's Redemption is not to be missed

    Ms. Pitre has the very rare ability to paint a picture with her words. You'll see everything you're reading as if you're right there in it, experiencing it. You'll feel as if you know the characters, as if you are a part of their lives. You'll pull for Arissa through all of her struggles. I won't ruin the end for you, but you're heart will break right along with Arissa's. Isla's Redemption has nearly everything. There's romance, mystery, action, comedy, fantasy, and tragedy. You'll leave this book glad you've read it and with a happy heart.

    45 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Uplifting

    There is so much going on in Isla's Redemption that you often have to stop to catch your breath. It's an absolute thrill ride. I remember stopping at the end of the first chapter to look over at my husband and to say, "This is intense!". Even with being thrown many tragic loops, you'll find this story an uplifting tale. Very good book. Terra Ann Pitre has, without a doubt, written a winner.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Next best seller

    Just finished Isla's Redemption! I don't see how anyone wouldn't enjoy this book! Yes, there were spelling and grammar errors, but in all honesty what book doesnt have errors? Twilight is sprinkled with them, and I'm a major fanatic of Twilight. I'm not comparing Isla's Redemption to Twilight, but it is very good. I not only see Ms. Pitre becoming very successful off of her first novel, but I also see Isla's Redemption being made into a hit movie. Even if people think her writing is crap, they'll still enjoy the story and want to see it on the big screen. I personally loved her writing style. She has room for improvements, but what first time author doesn't? I loved Isla's Redemption! It's an amazing start to an extremely promising writing career for Ms. Terra Ann Pitre!

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    Fantasy Romance is a great combination

    Isla's Redemption takes the reader on a fantastic journey with a young lady searching for the meaning of her dreams. Romance finds its way into this quest. With this comes struggle. Readers will find themselves gripping the edges of the book as this tale gains in its level of intensity. I found it to be a great story, pulling me in as each event unfolded.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant story

    "You just have to read this story mom!" Eight very dreaded words from my sixteen year old daughter. She reads all the time and she's always trying to get me to read books that she has aboslutely 'loved'. Every so often she'll get me to read one, but I just cant get into them. I do have to admit, one time she did hit the nail right on the head. She got me into Harry Potter, and I loved that series. So that is why I still listen to her when she tries to get me into a new book. Isla's Redemption is one she ordered online the very second she was able to because she met the author online, as they were both avid Harry Potter fans. I was cautious, especially when I found out the publishing company this book went through. But my duaghter devoured the book during a plane ride we took for a vacation. All vacation all I heard about was how great this book was and how much I needed to read it. Finally, on the plane ride back, I agreed. I needed something to look at anyways. I was drawn in from the very first page. The characters jumped to life before me. I read the entire book on the plane ride and when I finished I turned to my daughter and she said, "I told you!" And for once, I must say, she was right. This was a fantastic read. There were, of course, spelling and grammar errors, but I honestly didn't even notice them. I was so wrapped up in this book that the errors didn't bother me. And usually they do when I read a book. But from beginning to end, I loved this book. I definately see it becoming very popular, and someday made into a movie. The story itself was brilliant. For about an hour after I finished reading, I just sat there thinking back through the story. It's been a few days since I read it and I still catch myself thinking about it every so often. Isla's Redemption was a very good read. For Terra Ann Pitre's first novel, it's very well written. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. You will enjoy this book. To the other mothers out there, when you're daughters/sons start pestering you to read another one of these books that they just 'loved', take their word for it. In the case of Isla's Redemption, they're right.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beach read!

    I recently went on a trip to Mexico with my boyfriend and his family. My best friend 'subtly' slipped her copy of Isla's Redemption in my suitcase. She does that alot when she wants me to read a book that she's loved. I didn't see the book until I was unpacking in Mexico. I decided to take it with us when we headed to the beach for the day. My boyfriend, his brothers, and his dad went scuba diving while his mom and I layed on the beach and tanned. I started to read Isla's Redemption and it really pulled me in. I was so into this story that I didn't even notice when my boyfriend came back out of the water to lay down next to me. I'd read 3/4 of the boook when my boyfriend told me we were heading back to the hotel to change for supper. I didn't want to go! I wanted to keep reading! Isla's Redemption is a very good book! I'm grateful my best friend is so pushy. I would not have wanted to miss out on reading this book. It's phenominal!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Magical

    The words flow together wonderfully. I know that a few people on here have mentioned errors in the book, such as spelling and grammar, but the story is so strong that it overcomes those errors. You'll get so into this intense story that its like the errors are not even there. You'll be gripping the edges of this book, anxiously going from page to page, wanting to know what happens next. Terra Ann Pitre is a very talented writer. If she learns from her first novel, as I suspect she will, and her next book is error free, she'll surely be one of the next best selling authors. Isla's Redemption is gold. If I may use such a metaphor, it's gold in a gold mine, where much more gold is yet to be found. I applaud Terra Ann Pitre for telling an intense, exciting, romantic, tragic, thrilling, touching, and delightful story.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enthralling

    Everything about Isla's Redemption is vivid. The story comes to life before your very eyes. Once you pick up this book, you'll find it very hard to set it down. The story was so good! Ms. Pitre has one of the most creative and jaw dropping imaginations I've ever seen. Everything in this story was connected and well thought out. I loved trying to figure out what things meant and what was to come. Sometimes I was right, but most of the time I was shocked and suprised. Isla's Redemption is a fascinating read. There's touching romance, bone chilling action, tear jerking tragedy, and a happy ending. I can't wait to read some more of Terra Ann Pitre's work. If her future books are anything like Isla's Redemption, she'll surely have a long and successful writing career. I strongly urge all of you to get your hands on a copy of Isla's Redemption the very second you can.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read!!!

    Isla's Redemption is inventive, fresh and beautifully breathed upon each page. Terra has a way with words painting a picture that is sure to grab your attention and pull at your heart strings. I had very little complaint and of those being mainly minor, rookie errors in grammar but did not detract from the storyline. Terra's following novels are sure to be a hit with all of those who have fallen in love with the character Arissa and Isla's Redemption!

    Melissa S Diaz
    author of ~Bree and coming sequel ~Kael

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1