Customer Reviews for

Isle of Palms

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Want To Move to South Carolina

Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months late...
Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months later, I still think about the characters. Anna is my soulmate. I would have done the same things she did. When she did dumb things I shouted at the book trying to warn her. I laughed out loud at some of the situations she found herself. I am 50 years young and appreciate reading about real women of substance. But don't take that to mean that the book is not relevant to younger ones. My daughter (age 28) and friend (age 26) also had a tough time putting the book down. I would love to meet Ms. Frank because she must have the most awesome sense of humor and I'd like to tell her how much enjoyment I've had reading her books.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Huge Disappointment

I was pleased with both Plantation and Sullivan's Island, but Isle of Palms is a literary disappointment. While Ms. Frank's descriptions of the Lowcountry are flavorful and lively, the story line itself is boring and uneventful. As a life-time resident of Charleston, ...
I was pleased with both Plantation and Sullivan's Island, but Isle of Palms is a literary disappointment. While Ms. Frank's descriptions of the Lowcountry are flavorful and lively, the story line itself is boring and uneventful. As a life-time resident of Charleston, I found her portrayal of the various merchants around the lowcountry to be gratuitous and often incorrect (there is no California Dreaming on Shem Creek, for example); her use of the Gullah dialect (which ALL of her characters use--I've lived here all my life and have only met about four people total who actually speak like that) was not only overwhelming but also laborious to read and almost insulting. As if Southerners don't already reap enough criticism for their drawls, now Ms. Frank has added an outdated, unused dialect to make us sound even more ignorant. Sure, the main character has a dysfunctional family. Who doesn't? She (Lutz) is a hairdresser whose mother died when she was young; she got pregnant in a date-rape situation; now she's moved away from home and opened her own salon to prove her independence. Big whoop. Oh, yes, and she has a rebellious teenage daughter. Oh my. So what's the climax of the novel? What internal conflict dominates the story? Well, that's what I was left wondering. There is no clearly defined climax, and the reader is left thinking, 'So what?' at the end. This book is little more than a collection of pretty descriptions and a poor portrayal of Lowcountry families and family dynamics. Skip this one, folks, and read Sullivan's Island or Plantation if you want a good story.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    I Want To Move to South Carolina

    Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months later, I still think about the characters. Anna is my soulmate. I would have done the same things she did. When she did dumb things I shouted at the book trying to warn her. I laughed out loud at some of the situations she found herself. I am 50 years young and appreciate reading about real women of substance. But don't take that to mean that the book is not relevant to younger ones. My daughter (age 28) and friend (age 26) also had a tough time putting the book down. I would love to meet Ms. Frank because she must have the most awesome sense of humor and I'd like to tell her how much enjoyment I've had reading her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Huge Disappointment

    I was pleased with both Plantation and Sullivan's Island, but Isle of Palms is a literary disappointment. While Ms. Frank's descriptions of the Lowcountry are flavorful and lively, the story line itself is boring and uneventful. As a life-time resident of Charleston, I found her portrayal of the various merchants around the lowcountry to be gratuitous and often incorrect (there is no California Dreaming on Shem Creek, for example); her use of the Gullah dialect (which ALL of her characters use--I've lived here all my life and have only met about four people total who actually speak like that) was not only overwhelming but also laborious to read and almost insulting. As if Southerners don't already reap enough criticism for their drawls, now Ms. Frank has added an outdated, unused dialect to make us sound even more ignorant. Sure, the main character has a dysfunctional family. Who doesn't? She (Lutz) is a hairdresser whose mother died when she was young; she got pregnant in a date-rape situation; now she's moved away from home and opened her own salon to prove her independence. Big whoop. Oh, yes, and she has a rebellious teenage daughter. Oh my. So what's the climax of the novel? What internal conflict dominates the story? Well, that's what I was left wondering. There is no clearly defined climax, and the reader is left thinking, 'So what?' at the end. This book is little more than a collection of pretty descriptions and a poor portrayal of Lowcountry families and family dynamics. Skip this one, folks, and read Sullivan's Island or Plantation if you want a good story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    Sit back with a mint julep and follow the thoughts of divorced single mom Anna Lutz Abbot. As a hairdresser, she knows everyone¿s skeletons as she hears more confessions than the College of Cardinals would hear in their combined lifetimes. Now Anna has scandals in her own life. As a high school senior, her grandma who raised her and the local minister arranged a date between their two charges. His son raped her. When Anna learned she was pregnant; her grandmother reacted with apoplexy that soon led to a death stroke.<P> Her college daughter is coming home at the same time the creep that sexually molested her will also return to town. Emily is unaware that the guy she thinks is her biological father is gay and never had relations with any woman while her real sire is a rapist. Then there is that gorgeous Connecticut Yankee to obsess.<P> This novel is reminiscent of the Mossy Creek tales. This excellent work of fiction is fun to read for those who want to read something escapist but interesting. The support characters are an eccentric delightful ensemble especially the lead protagonist¿s daughter and the two geriatric neighbors who seem less golden and more leaden in attitudes (an ultra conservative Maude in her geezer stage). This is a fine beach bingo book and fans will appreciate the insights into small town southern life that allows interruptions because the novel never requires as much power as the dryers used by Anna.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Big disappointment

    Thankfully this isn't the first DBF book I've read, otherwise I might bave been turend off to reading anything else she has written. Isle of the Palms is a major disappointment. The story line is so uncredible and her gay ex-husband is unfortunately drawn up as a stereotypical gay man who loves to go shopping and decorate. I'm 300+ pages into the book and I'm wondering why I have continued to keep reading when the book is dull and unexciting. The characters are not drawn up so as to seem convincing, remind you of yourself or someone you know. This story falls flat and does not deliver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Not a Favorite as were her two prior books....

    I anxiously awaited this new book Because I LOVED Sullivans Island and Plantation both so much But I read this and was really disappointed. The story line just didnt grab you or take you anywhere. It ended right when she found her real father and nothing more ever became of their relationship I just found it to be lacking something and the characters a bit shallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Love this book

    Love the characters and the story, a very enjoyable book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Christina

    Youu at 'Homeslice'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Christin

    Oh I dont

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Julia

    Really? Don't think it'll work. They're not easy to talk to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Christina

    Thats awesome! (:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Makes me want to move to that Lowcountry isle, even with the excessive heat during the summer. Another novel packed with love, loneliness, and family. And it (mostly) comes right at the end. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Jaysparkle

    Im leaving. Sorry.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Fireheart

    Am I deputy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Timmy

    I walk in with an arrow nocked in my bow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    A guide to all that is important in life

    This book leaves one to ponder tjlhe things that are really important in life. It is a book you won't want to put down and one you won't easily forget!
    RMB

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Fantastic! A must read!

    Love this series of books. Found out about them from a friend and won't stop until I have read them all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read......!

    Had me from the start. Written so that there are a lot of laughs throughout. Did not want to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    Good Beach Read

    I love the stories about the low country. This author writes similarly to Anne Rivers Siddons, although I find the plots to Siddons books more dramatic and Frank's descriptions of the low country are more evocative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Best Yet

    I enjoyed the book. It was Dottie's best yet. Being almost raised as a 'barefoot brat from Sullivan's Island', I enjoyed the author's notes almost as much as the book. Sincerely, Craig Rhyne

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Writers reviewing writers

    This is for the 'reviewer' who was so hugely disappointed with IOP - this forum is for readers, okay? Not for the bitter and the failed. Get serious or stay off B&N.com. Real readers deserve better than your vitriolic verbage.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3