Customer Reviews for

Isle of Palms

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Want To Move to South Carolina

Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months late...
Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months later, I still think about the characters. Anna is my soulmate. I would have done the same things she did. When she did dumb things I shouted at the book trying to warn her. I laughed out loud at some of the situations she found herself. I am 50 years young and appreciate reading about real women of substance. But don't take that to mean that the book is not relevant to younger ones. My daughter (age 28) and friend (age 26) also had a tough time putting the book down. I would love to meet Ms. Frank because she must have the most awesome sense of humor and I'd like to tell her how much enjoyment I've had reading her books.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Huge Disappointment

I was pleased with both Plantation and Sullivan's Island, but Isle of Palms is a literary disappointment. While Ms. Frank's descriptions of the Lowcountry are flavorful and lively, the story line itself is boring and uneventful. As a life-time resident of Charleston, ...
I was pleased with both Plantation and Sullivan's Island, but Isle of Palms is a literary disappointment. While Ms. Frank's descriptions of the Lowcountry are flavorful and lively, the story line itself is boring and uneventful. As a life-time resident of Charleston, I found her portrayal of the various merchants around the lowcountry to be gratuitous and often incorrect (there is no California Dreaming on Shem Creek, for example); her use of the Gullah dialect (which ALL of her characters use--I've lived here all my life and have only met about four people total who actually speak like that) was not only overwhelming but also laborious to read and almost insulting. As if Southerners don't already reap enough criticism for their drawls, now Ms. Frank has added an outdated, unused dialect to make us sound even more ignorant. Sure, the main character has a dysfunctional family. Who doesn't? She (Lutz) is a hairdresser whose mother died when she was young; she got pregnant in a date-rape situation; now she's moved away from home and opened her own salon to prove her independence. Big whoop. Oh, yes, and she has a rebellious teenage daughter. Oh my. So what's the climax of the novel? What internal conflict dominates the story? Well, that's what I was left wondering. There is no clearly defined climax, and the reader is left thinking, 'So what?' at the end. This book is little more than a collection of pretty descriptions and a poor portrayal of Lowcountry families and family dynamics. Skip this one, folks, and read Sullivan's Island or Plantation if you want a good story.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    I Want To Move to South Carolina

    Ms. Frank's books are so good that it makes me want to move to the Low Country! I couldn't put this book down but I wanted to make it last because I wasn't sure how long I would have to wait for another book by Ms. Frank. I read it when it first came out and months later, I still think about the characters. Anna is my soulmate. I would have done the same things she did. When she did dumb things I shouted at the book trying to warn her. I laughed out loud at some of the situations she found herself. I am 50 years young and appreciate reading about real women of substance. But don't take that to mean that the book is not relevant to younger ones. My daughter (age 28) and friend (age 26) also had a tough time putting the book down. I would love to meet Ms. Frank because she must have the most awesome sense of humor and I'd like to tell her how much enjoyment I've had reading her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    Sit back with a mint julep and follow the thoughts of divorced single mom Anna Lutz Abbot. As a hairdresser, she knows everyone¿s skeletons as she hears more confessions than the College of Cardinals would hear in their combined lifetimes. Now Anna has scandals in her own life. As a high school senior, her grandma who raised her and the local minister arranged a date between their two charges. His son raped her. When Anna learned she was pregnant; her grandmother reacted with apoplexy that soon led to a death stroke.<P> Her college daughter is coming home at the same time the creep that sexually molested her will also return to town. Emily is unaware that the guy she thinks is her biological father is gay and never had relations with any woman while her real sire is a rapist. Then there is that gorgeous Connecticut Yankee to obsess.<P> This novel is reminiscent of the Mossy Creek tales. This excellent work of fiction is fun to read for those who want to read something escapist but interesting. The support characters are an eccentric delightful ensemble especially the lead protagonist¿s daughter and the two geriatric neighbors who seem less golden and more leaden in attitudes (an ultra conservative Maude in her geezer stage). This is a fine beach bingo book and fans will appreciate the insights into small town southern life that allows interruptions because the novel never requires as much power as the dryers used by Anna.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Love this book

    Love the characters and the story, a very enjoyable book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Christina

    Youu at 'Homeslice'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Christin

    Oh I dont

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Julia

    Really? Don't think it'll work. They're not easy to talk to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Christina

    Thats awesome! (:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Makes me want to move to that Lowcountry isle, even with the excessive heat during the summer. Another novel packed with love, loneliness, and family. And it (mostly) comes right at the end. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Jaysparkle

    Im leaving. Sorry.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Fireheart

    Am I deputy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Timmy

    I walk in with an arrow nocked in my bow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    A guide to all that is important in life

    This book leaves one to ponder tjlhe things that are really important in life. It is a book you won't want to put down and one you won't easily forget!
    RMB

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Fantastic! A must read!

    Love this series of books. Found out about them from a friend and won't stop until I have read them all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read......!

    Had me from the start. Written so that there are a lot of laughs throughout. Did not want to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Best Yet

    I enjoyed the book. It was Dottie's best yet. Being almost raised as a 'barefoot brat from Sullivan's Island', I enjoyed the author's notes almost as much as the book. Sincerely, Craig Rhyne

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Writers reviewing writers

    This is for the 'reviewer' who was so hugely disappointed with IOP - this forum is for readers, okay? Not for the bitter and the failed. Get serious or stay off B&N.com. Real readers deserve better than your vitriolic verbage.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    You can feel the sea breeze and taste the salty air

    I love her books. This one actually is her best yet. My favorite books to read are in the Low Country. Wonderful story and she tells it beautifully. I hope she keeps writing the stories from this region. When you remove the cover on the book its the most beautiful book I've ever seen. The perfect picture. Thank you Mrs Franks for taking me back home again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    I just Love it!

    I'm sorry I missed you at the book signing!I was hoping to see your smiling face again. I have enjoyed all of it so far, and can relate to some of the characters, if you get my drift! Jeannie says hello! Email me when you are writing the next one, so I can help. Love ya, Sparky Witte

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    A Wonderful Southern Story

    This is the first book I have read by Ms. Frank. I am almost finished with it and I am sorry to see it come to an end. The author fills her pages with southern charm, characters who come alive on the pages and stories that will have you laughing and crying. A real page-turner. So glad that I didn't let a 3-star review keep me from reading this novel. I am anxious to read her other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Captures the Essence of Life in a Southern Coastal Community

    Isle of Palms is a real place and Dorothea Benton Frank has once again written a tale that portrays the characters and the place in such a way that the reader wonders whether it's fact or fiction that they're holding and can't bear to put down! There are no slow times in this enchanting and well-told read. As always, I felt like I'd had a unique peep into a time and place I'd like to be when I reached the last page, wishing only that this writer were able to give us a similar treat several times each year. Definitely her best novel to date!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2