Customer Reviews for

Isle of Shadows

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Captivating-A Must Read

    Sold into slavery, bound to be used, Tessa, the most sought after hetaera in Rhodes, only seeks her freedom. Her search brings her more than she ever imagined and introduces her to some new friends. But beneath them all, the island holds a fierce surprise and is determined to change all their lives.
    Isle of Shadows will take you on an unexpected journey to ancient Greece. The characters are so believable, and the time and place so well written that the reader feels as though they are apart of the lives and story before them.
    I am a fan of T.L. Higley and recommend her novels to all my friends and family. She writes wonderful Christian fiction. She captivates the imagination and touches the heart as she weaves the hope of redemption into the lives of her characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Intriguing

    Well written story about a time in history that I don't know much about but find fascinating. It was hard to put this down so definitely a good thing I read it on a recent staycation :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tracy L. Higley in her new book "Isle of Shadows" a Bo

    Tracy L. Higley in her new book "Isle of Shadows" a Book in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Tessa of Delos.

    From the back cover: Enslaved in a World of Money and Power, Tessa Dares to be Free.

    Raised as courtesan to wealthy and powerful men, Tessa of Delos serves at the whim of her current patron, the politician Glaucus. After ten years with him, Tessa has abandoned all desire for freedom or love, choosing instead to lock her heart away.

    But when Glaucus meets a violent death in his own home, Tessa grasps at a fragile hope. Only she knows of his death. If she can keep it a secret long enough, she can escape.

    Tessa throws herself on the mercy of the Greek god Helios, but finds instead unlikely allies in Nikos, a Greek slave, and Simeon, Glaucus's Jewish head servant. As Simeon introduces her to a God unlike any she has ever known and Nikos begins to stir feelings she had thought long dead, Tessa fights to keep her heart protected.

    As an assassination plot comes to light, Tessa must battle for her own freedom--and for those to whom she has begun to open her heart--as forces collide that shatter the island's peace.

    The island of Rhodes, 227 BC. These hardy Greeks really did build a statue to their god, Helios we call The Colossus of Rhodes. It stood 110 feet high and overlooked the harbor. All the activity on the island seems to be done in the shadow of the bronze marvel. Tessa of Delos is a very interesting character. She has been the property of a rich politician for ten years. She is a courtesan being used as a slave for sex. She has realized that she will never be free and is contemplating suicide. However all kinds of events transpire that give her hope that she now has a chance for her longed for freedom. However there is the issue of murder that has to be dealt with, a romance with someone who may be another slave and the Jewish servant who points the way to the real God. "Isle of Shadows" is great fun. It is history, a thriller, adventure and a romance all rolled up in an extremely entertaining ball. Ms. Higley knows how to write characters that come alive off the page. This is a fast-paced read that will keep you guessing as to what is really going on. "Isle of Shadows" is a very exciting story and I am looking forward to more from this very talented author.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Isle of Shadows takes place on the Greek isle of Rhodes in the y

    Isle of Shadows takes place on the Greek isle of Rhodes in the years between the New and Old Testament. 

    The leadership of Rhodes is  at a crossroads of sorts as some of its leadership is working towards change. Caught in the middle is the beautiful Tessa. Tessa works in the service of one of the city's ten leaders, Glaucus, and must work to make sure that his mission is accomplished. When Glaucus dies Tessa must decide how to carry on her work. Will she tell the world that Glaucus is dead and let her employment go the highest bidder? Will she try to cover up what happened and keep the other leaders guessing? 

    This story was fantastic. It was fast paced and energetic. Higley's writing really made the city come alive. The sights, the sounds, the smells and the tension were all a vital part of the story. The writing of the book was tight and interesting. I love reading books that are both entertaining and intellectually challenging and this was one. Higley uses lots of words that are pertinent to the Greek culture and created the atmosphere of the story. I now know what a chiton, heteara, himation, and strategos are just to name a few. I read this on my Kindle, so I used the built in dictionary for some of the words, but there is a helpful reference in the front. There are also, of course, context clues (my English teachers all start beaming) to help make the intended meaning clear. 

    I totally recommend this book. It was entertaining, interesting and unpredictable. It does have adult themes, so keep that in mind before you start it. 
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    Isle of Shadows by Tracy L. Higley takes place on the beautiful

    Isle of Shadows by Tracy L. Higley takes place on the beautiful Greek island of Rhodes. Tessa is a heteara, a female companion who is bout and paid for by high officials. She has been with glaucus for ten years and at the opening of the book she is ready to take her life because living the way she has been living, and being treated the way glaucus has treated her has made her utterly miserable. Based on what you read about a heteara, you may or may not feel the same way as Tessa. However, as The Lord generally does, he intervened at just the right time to stop Tessa from taking her life.

    Events happen that put Tessa in charge, and as Higley notes in the Greek glossary, a heteara is an influential woman and the only woman allowed to speak in the men's symposia. Therefore, because of her status, Tessa is able to speak out in different formal settings in glaucus' place.

    The events of the story unfold and Higley does a beautiful job weaving the lives of the characters together throughout the book. Tessa is trying to break free from the life she has always known, never to fall in love with a man or anyone, but The Lord has different and better plans for her just As he does for each of his children.

    This book took me a little while to get into, but once I was focused on the contents and the plot of e story it read very quickly and was very interesting. Thank you booksneeze for the opportunity to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Great (guilty) pleasure read!

    Tracy writes interesting stories interwoven with historical and Christian details. I don't feel her writings are burdened with historicity, rather I feel they fit seamlessly into the essence of the time. Great fun reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1