Customer Reviews for

The Israel Lobby and U. S. Foreign Policy

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    REQUIRED READING!

    This is the book that every congressman should be required to read - It might prevent us from being pulled into an unnecessary war with Iran.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    The most reveling book for those who ignore a lot of truths

    This book is written by people I know, I am glad one of them is a jew, who wants peace and loves America first. A must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Refreshing call for honest discussion

    Superbly researched and well written, the book is the long overdue start of an open, rational debate on US foreign policy towards Israel, a topic that is sadly discussed far too little given the magnitude of its global importance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Appallling and Obvious & Israel's Bogus Iraqi WMD reports

    It's a slwo political read. But it keeps tweaking you with anger. How can this be happening. Are the writers making this up _ NO!!! The book was very well written and factually cited. It's ironic. If certain groups get criticized, you become a racist, antisemite,etc. A very good offense to avoid anyone questioning what they're doing. We turn a blind eye to so much we shouldn't (e.g. human rights violations, war crimes, Israel's own nuclear weapons program, etc.) and no country could see us as being fair and unbiased where Israel is involved. A little objectivity with Israel's actions would go a long way towards US influence as a truely fair world leader. Startling is the circumstance that the US is so politically and willfully ignorant it blindly rubber stamp EVERYTHING Israel does. It's like no other US ally nation. The Arab population living in the militray superpower of the area nuclear-armed Israel and are officially treated as 'filthy people' with inferior citizenship rights 'denial of property ownership rights' just for the Arabs living in Israel. The Israeli government and many of its people are institutionalized hypocrites on human rights on its own Arab citizenry. Israeli attrocities like the recent Lebanon invasion and the military's civilian overkill of Arabs get frwoned upon by the US. That's it as the US $ keeps rolling in. Israel's forbidden use of US supplied cluster bombs are STILL killing the Arab civilian population, many children, in Lebanon proves the US uses absolutely no influence despite our $ billion unconditionally sent year after year. Accordingly the US loses all credibility in the Middle East due to this. PREDICTION: We are in Iraq TO STAY, if Israel has its way. We ignored our own intelligence telling us Sadam had NO WMD's. And used false and self-serving Israeli Intell reports of Sadam's biological weapons of mass destruction. We invaded and we got had by Israel. No wonder Collin Powell quit. And if this all holds true. We will be keeping a strong military prsence in Iraq indefinitely no matter who is elected president. This has been Israel's desire for more than a decade. I'd like to re-read this PREDICTION 2 years from now with either McCain, Hillary or Obama in the White House and say- SEE WE ARE STILL THERE! Oye!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Disturbing

    This is a disturbing book. The writers insist upon -- repeatedly -- their commitment both to Israel's survival and to America's support for that survival. They also, however, question the extent of that support and the bases for it. Israel's strategic value, they claim, has evaporated in the post-Cold War world. Its claim of moral superiority -- always questionable, given the role of Jewish terrorists in creating the State of Israel -- is undermined by its oppression and atrocities in Gaza and the West Bank. Its claim to be a democratic state is refuted by its denial of equal rights to non-Jews. And its support of espionage against the United States, as well as its sale of American military technology to Communist China, suggest it is not a reliable ally. The writers expected charges of 'anti-Semitism' for criticizing America's uncritical support of Israeli militarism and indiscriminate killing of Palestinians. They've received it -- in spades. It's undeserved. This is a moderate, well-reasoned, and heavily documented study. It includes over 100 pages of small-type notes documenting its findings. The book, in fact, spends little ink on the most damning incident in US-Israeli relations: the bombing of the USS Liberty, an action approved at the highest level of the Israel government and designed to hide evidence of Israel's responsibility for starting the 1967 'six day war.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy

    I love the way W&M set the record straight, notably, that US support of Israel was the reason for the 9/11 attacks. It's also great to see that this book has gotten a much higher rating that Foxman's book. Talk about lies! People like Foxman want to preserve their power by hiding it. They think we are deaf, dumb and blind. Thanks to W&M for opening our eyes to the truth. Btw, isn't it about time the opponents of the zionist lobby got together and formed our own countervailing groups? Join the MSN group The New American patriots.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    Nobel material

    These authors should receive the Nobel Peace Prize.

    This book is courageous and informative and far too little read by the public.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Useful study of the Israel lobby

    In 2006, John Mearsheimer, Professor of Political Science at the University of Chicago and Stephen Walt, Professor of International Affairs at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, wrote an essay in the London Review of Books on the Israel lobby. This generated a huge controversy, so they wrote this book to provide more evidence for their claim that the lobby harms US and Israeli interests. Chapter 1 details the US state¿s aid to Israel: $154 billion, mostly grants, 75% military. Israel is the largest recipient of US aid '$500 per person per year', even though Israel ranks 29th in the world by income. Chapter 2 asks whether Israel is a strategic asset to the USA, and concludes that it may have been during the Cold War, but is now a liability. Chapter 3 asks whether the US state backs Israel because of their shared values, or because Israel is `for peace¿, and answers no to both. Chapters 4, 5 and 6 examine the lobby¿s members, activities, funding and its influence on policy-making in Washington and on the public through the media and academia. Part II studies the lobby¿s role in shaping recent US policy in the Middle East, and its effects. Chapter 7 examines the lobby¿s hostility to the Palestinians and shows how it has neutered any hints of US support for the two-state solution. Chapter 8 looks at how the lobby, among others, urged the disastrous attack on Iraq. Chapter 9 examines the lobby¿s hostility to negotiations with Syria and Chapter 10 looks at its threats to Iran. Chapter 11 studies the US state¿s unconditional support for Israel¿s attack on Lebanon. War supporters lied that US policy `reflected the will of the American people¿, but most Americans did not back the war, though the Clintons did. Finally, in Chapter 12 the authors note that US interests are to keep the oil flowing, discourage the spread of WMD and reduce anti-US terrorism. Current US policies, promoted by the lobby, fuel anti-Americanism, increase the terrorist threat and encourage the spread of WMD. These policies have not been in either US or Israeli interests. As the authors write, ¿Enabling Israel¿s refusal to recognize the Palestinians¿ legitimate aspirations has not made Israel safer.¿ Unfortunately, none of the presidential candidates wants any change in US Middle East policy. All uncritically support Israel. The authors propose a better policy: withdraw US forces from the Middle East and press Israel to withdraw from occupied Palestine. They urge the USA to treat Israel as a normal state, reduce its aid dramatically, and oppose its settlement policy and apartheid `wall¿. Mearsheimer and Walt make a very good case that the Israel lobby is both effective and counter-productive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Courageous and long overdue

    This book is courageous, honest and way over due!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Outstanding!

    A refreshing and well researched perspective on an issue largely ignored or covered up by our media and goverment. A breath of fresh air after listening to our elected political hypocrites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Very good read

    I was uninformed and curious about the ongoing conflict between the Jews and Palestinian cause in Israel and wanted to gain a broader prospective and opinion of the struggle. This book furnishes an unbiased assesment of the hypocrisy of the US and the unehtical behavior of the Jewish state towards Arabs in the last 60 years. I'm impressed with the research and dedication put into the work and the courage to present the facts to the American people. I encourage everyone to read this to get a complete perspective of our foreing policy in the Middle East. Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Finally The Truth Is Told

    Considering the power the Jews hold in America it is amazing this book was published. The Jews make up only 3% of the American population, but hold a greatly disproportion of power over and in our government. This power cost the American taxpayer billions of dollars and involves America in an arrangement with Israel that does not serve America's interest and in fact is unhealthy! This book is way over due and needs to be read by every American. The Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy tells it like it truly is and backs up what it says. After reading this book I think we all know who the negative reviewers are and why they would rather the truth remain hidden. As for myself: Five Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    outstanding and courageous

    A courageous and well written book, great research, great read. An eye opener to the intelligent, and moderate Jewish community, bombarded by the Isreali propaganda machine. this book helps to to see through the predicable expected howl that anything that criticizes isreal is antisemitic. I found it thoughtful, and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy

    This may not be the first example of courageous resistance to the pro-Israel lobby see They Dared to Speak Out. But it is undoubtedly the best. I've noticed that critics of the book tend to be Jews or Israelis. Those with a vested interest in trying to discredit it can hardly be fair or objective. But at least one Israeli, Avnery, wrote an excellent, favorable review in The American Conservative. I consider it prophetic. By the way, readers sympathetic to the Arabs and interested in history--and the future-- should check out EGYPT AT WAR 1973.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy

    Walt and Mearsheimer wrote their courageous book in the hope it would awaken more Americans to a national disgrace-- our country is largely controlled by those who consider it of less importance than their favorite little foreign country--and begin a process of rectification. While the two scholars display courage that puts our politicians to shame, frankly I'm not optimistic they'll put AIPAC in its place before its too late. Face it, it'll take much more than a book to break the stranglehold of the pro-Israel bunch. It'll take a major calamity. And it's coming...Right now, the traitorous lobbies are opposed by only a relatively small group of highly informed people. After disaster strikes, they'll face a revolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A must read for all Americans

    This book is a must read not just for political science majors, but for all Americans. We need to hear more than just the pro-Israeli side of the story! I sincerely hope that the recommendations made in the book are implemented so that we have some positive changes in U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Anyone comparing this book to Hitler's is quite ridiculous and obviously didn't read it. It also makes the exact point of the authors, using anti-Semitism as a halt to any fair discussion about Israel. This is a very well researched book that is a must read for anyone interested in U.S. foreign policy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    OUTSTANDING !!!

    This book provides the reader with an EXCELLENT education on the subject. If you have any interest in U.S foreign policy and are looking for a book that is cogent, unbiased, and well reasearched, then this book is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Brave and Important Work

    I had wondered why a country with fewer than 6 million people features so prominently in U.S. foreign policy and the public mind. It has no oil or resources essential to American security. It occupies no geographically important location. No American troops are stationed there. The country itself provides no service or good or anything else that enhances American security. Yet open any American paper, watch any news program, or hear any radio news on any day and there is near certainty that stories about Israel will be prominently featured. It is not the only other democracy in the world. Nor does it enjoy a monopoly on ethnic conflict or religious tension. Indeed, if those were the factors that engage the American public attention, it would be the conflict in Kashmir between two declared nuclear states, India and Pakistan, that would lead the headlines every morning and night. Yet I was aware that those were questions that I could not voice without being exactly sure why. So this book and President Carter's came as a revelation. Walt and Mearsheimer are known to me from my student days. They are to international relations what Einstein and Stephen Hawking are to physics. And Jimmy Carter is of course the great humanitarian, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, and architect of the Camp David Accords. That is to say, the character and intentions of these men are unimpeachable, their erudition and experience peerless. The arguments and evidence Walt and Mearsheimer make in 'The Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy' are formidable. I was shocked at the extent of the lobby's power, and alarmed that any country, friendly or not, should be allowed to exercise such influence over our foreign policy. And the most disturbing and aggravating aspect to the whole issue is that the lobby and its supporters have been so successful in totally suppressing reasonable discussion of our own foreign policy in our own country! Even in some of the reviews for the book on this site, there are several who try to discredit this book by waving their hands and saying, essentially, 'nothing to see here, move along!' So I am enormously glad and somewhat in awe of these two scholars for putting their reputations and careers on the line to compel Americans to confront the most absolute taboo in this country today: an honest discussion of Israel and its place in American foreign policy. It's an absolute must-read for any reasonable, fair-minded citizen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Is open discourse about US-Iraeli policy EXEMPT? This book forces debate.

    The book is necessary and criticism of Israel and our proxy war in Iraq war and those who pushed the hardest need scrutiny and OPEN debate. Pro-Israeli and American Neocons manufactured this war in Iraq for WMD's never found. A long discussion by a gutless Congress is needed and AIPC with her spi9es should be registered as the foreign agents they are. Ask the USS Liberty about friendship and AIPAC spying. Who has been the biggest beneficiary of the Iraq War? Criticism of Israel is not anti-semitic or illegal...yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2