Customer Reviews for

Issola (Vlad Taltos Series #9)

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Addition to the Saga

    Once again Steven Brust kept me laughing out loud throughout Issola. I even got some funny looks from people around me as I failed to conceal my amusement. Brust brought Vlad and Loiosh back to their usual sarcastic selves after years of hiding from the Jhereg. Courtesy of Lady Teldra (an Issola), we learn a little more about Morrolan and Vlad learns a little more about himself. For those who have followed Vlad back and forth though time, we finally get an answer to Spellbreaker. The fates of Spellbreaker, Vlad, Lady Teldra and a Morganti dagger are all intertwined. What fate has in store for them, I can not tell you that, you must read it to find out. But I can say it was quite a shocker and I never saw it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    one of his best

    I'm a huge Brust fan, so i was expecting a lot, and was NOT dissapinted. This is one of the best Taltos novels - action, adventure, wit...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Vlad is back, and badder than ever

    It's about time Vlad Taltos stopped wandering around the boring wilderness feeling sorry for himself and whining and moaning throughout the entire book. It appears Vlad is back and is badder than ever (and of course Loioish is his usual smarmy self and Rocza really couldn't care less unless there's food involved). We are all still wondering exactly what Vlad's place in all of these Dragaeran events is, Issola gives more good hints and there's a surprise ending that even staunch Brust fans didn't see coming. Well worth a read or three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Vlad Taltos does it again!

    If you thought the series was over, think again. Vlad is back, with the help of the courtly Lady Teldra. Mr. Brust spins an excellent tale of Vlad finding his way back to himself and his friends. He learns that he has nothing to fear from the Jhereg after dealing with the infamous Jenoine. Confidence, humor, and cat-like reflexes have returned to the beloved character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Amazing

    This book is just great. I've read this book so many times, its kind of pathetic. Vlad is just amazing in this book and Mr. Steven Brust is possibly the best author out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Issola is the best of the series

    Maybe it is the wait, maybe it was the the fact that Vlad was back with the old cohorts, maybe it was the fact that we learn of Lady Teldra and of the beginnings of Lord Morrolan, but whatever the cause, this book was excellent. It was clean, crisp, and although every emotion I had came out in the ending, I loved the book. I sooooo hope this isn't the last book of the series. There is someone with whom, I think, Vlad needs to have a relationship. That seems impossible, but perhaps not. Definitely the best in the series with Jhereg or Yendi being a close second or third. Excellent, excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Back to Work for Vlad Taltos

    After a long stay in the boondocks, hiding from the organized crime lords out to get him, Vlad Taltos returns to his old job as an assassin in this novel -- with a twist, of course. I think this is the best installment of a very good series and strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    issola last book? hope not!

    for the past years i have collected Brusts books hoping to understand the relationships between the characters in his many books. Especially Vladimier Taltos from beginning to end i have soaked up the brilliance of which the books have been wrote. Sometimes i thought that maybe steven himself was going crazy but one story line after another it all fits together, and i applaud his every effort to keep his loyal fans. bravo bravo!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    Brust is a hit again

    Vlad is again called upon by those nearest, but not always dearest, to him. Morrolan and Aliera have been taken by the Jenoine... Steven Brust takes us back to Vlad's world to shed light on more of it's mysteries, and it's makers are just the start. However, he still manages to leave the reader with as many new questions as answers he gave for the earlier questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Return Lord Taltos

    Castle Black¿s Lady Teldra surprisingly finds Vlad Taltos, who buried himself in the wilderness more worried about survival than comfort. Teldra explains that she received help from Kiera the Thief who pointed in the general direction followed by the supreme sorceress Sethra Lavode who traced the specific spot via a link to Vlad¿s dragon Loiosh. Vlad concludes that the Jhereg would not be able to follow Teldra¿s path so he should remain safe. <P>Teldra wants Vlad to rescue Morrolan and Aliera who have vanished without leaving a psychic trace. For a decent cup of klava, Vlad would risk anything so he agrees to accompany Teldra to learn more from Sethra, whose servant knows how to make a mean klava. Vlad concludes that the creators of Dragaera, the ultra powerful Jenoine have captured his two friends. This explains the lack of a psychic trace. He knows any attempt to free his friends means visibility to his foes and a new set of dangerous enemies whose illusions make Vlad¿s abilities look like child play. <P> Long term fans of the Lord Taltos series will have a field day with ISSOLA, one of the best entries in several years. The story line contains the usual humor, illusions, and duels yet Vlad seems fresh mainly due to his relationship with Teldra who humanizes him. Loiosh remains a funny sidekick comic lightening the tale. Though new readers will struggle with the tone and self deprecating amusing references to previous novels, Steven Brust has written a triumphant story that fantasy fans will appreciate. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2