Customer Reviews for

It

Average Rating 4.5
( 1252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(878)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoy...
This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great story, frustrating e-book.

I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bound...
I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bounds better than UNDER THE DOME. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

If I were rating the story alone, I would have given it 5 stars. The e-book, though, gets three stars, because the formatting is absolutely awful... at least as the Nook displays it. Long stretches of text (in some places, close to 2 full pages) are inexplicably italicized. Sometimes, the italics stop just as inexplicably - in the middle of a sentence that's no different in tone or viewpoint than the ones leading up to it. In several places, there is a dangling half-paragraph requiring a page turn to get to the rest of the paragraph (and I'm not talking about the mid-sentence chapter breaks; I know those are correct).

To top it off, there are several spelling errors - "rn" substituted for "m," the numeral "1" for the letter "l," and the like. I believe all of the formatting and typographical errors probably result from a bad scan of a print copy of the book. It needs fixing - it's embarrassing to have such a poor version of such a good book by such a popular author.

posted by DPManwell on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1260 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 63
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    SCARY AS...

    This book caused all of my fears of clowns. But other than that it was a Stephen King great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Written like a bad 80's horror film

    First off- I can't believe I read the whole thing.1029 pages, jeez. Way too much back story, lots of unnecessary details. It was really long-winded, and truthfully, just weird. Not good, creepy weird, just bad, trying too hard to be different and weird weird. The images this book conjured were those of really bad 80s special effects. I don't know how a book can do this, but it did. I do not recommend this one. If you want something really long but worth it read The Stand. If you want to be scared read The Shining. Or The Stand if this day and age makes you paranoid like me.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    It kept me awake

    I read this book nearly 20 years ago, and I remember it vividly to this day. In this story, Stephen King found a way to tap into childhood fears and nightmares. I can remember not being able to get to sleep while I thought of Pennywise the Clown. The plot is good, although the book is an investment in reading time. King develops the characters well. Like all King books, read it before seeing the movie.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    The best from the best

    This is not only King's greatest novel but one of the greatest in American Fiction period. The depth of character development is brilliant even for King as I grew to love with these children and found myself very much a part of their lives and going through their triumphs and tribulations with them. I was immediately attracted to the small town setting and time period in which this story begins to unfold and the amount of detail that went into this absolutely astonishes me. I'm sure it has its share of flaws (can't name any as of now) and I will admit that I have a lifelong bias towards Stephen King (my favorite author) but the fact is simply I believe every reader of fiction owes it to themselves to at the very least attempt to read this masterpiece. For those who see it through to the end, I am confident that they will be all the better for it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    What the hell happened

    Awesome book until the end r u kidding me a frickin spider last part was uwfull

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    It ruined my life

    I am Billy and I am 16. When I read this scarey book I peed my pants. My mommy laughed at me and made me go to school with my peepee pants. You can imagine what happened there. I felt like the peasant in that story by Issac Babel. You know, when the cossacks raid the shetl and kill everyone. That' s how I felt. Very King-like, that Babel.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Great book-King fans only!

    If you just like Stephen King an enjoy not being able to close your eyes at night, this book is for you! I read it a few years ago and still remember every chapter. King is such a talented writer and his #%&@!* up plot lines are ridiculous. It is incredibly long but has occasional comic relief to keep you there. The 1990 movie adaption was relatively accurate in the plot and characters, but nowhere near as scary! If you want to get into Stephen King, I would probably suggest and easy transition with "The Stand," or "Carrie" to get you started, and then move to "It," the MOTHER of horror stories! You may have to put it down for some time, recuperate, and keep going, and don't be surprised if you have to tell yourself, "It's only a book..."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Great Story, Horrible Nookbook

    I love IT, I think it's one of Stephen Kings' true masterpieces. Recently I purchased a nook and wanted to read IT on my new device. What a mistake! Within the first 30 pages there are misspelled words, words with letters missing, and paragraphs that are indented halfway across the page. I really don't think Mr. King would be happy with the quality of this version of his story and I think Barnes and Noble should go back over their e-copy of the book to get rid of all of these annoying and obvious mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    IT

    This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Stephen King is Brilliant

    When I was told about this book I was only given a small idea as to what it entailed. Being a huge Stephen King fan I felt I had to give it a chance. Unfortunately, when I picked the book up I realized it may involve more time than I could give to finish such a long story. After sitting down and beginning the story, I found myself transformed into this small town and back to my junior days of hanging out with friends. It captured me immediately. I could relate to almost everything that was written. There are many characters and lives to keep up with but after you are introduced to the whole group you cant help but remember each detail. Given the title character is something that has freaked me out since childhood it wasnt long before I found chills running down my spine as I read. I became so involved in this story I couldn't read it with the lights down. I have recommended this book to all my friends and especially my childhood friends that would understand this story on the same level as I did. Mr. King has a brilliant mind and has found a way to put my greatest fear down on paper.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    You won't be Disappointed!

    You cannot be disappointed in King's BEST novel. I have read it 3 times and will likely read it again! Forget the movie, which could not come close to capturing the story. The characters are likable and REAL...I could vividly see and feel the entire story. And the details are what make this book so great so never mind the 1000+ pages! It's worth it. The only negative is that you will be sad when it's over.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is definitely the best SK book ever. I like plenty of other SK novels, but this is the best. The characters are so wonderfully described as children and as adults that they became friends of mine. When I finished the book, I missed them. Once again, this is the best SK book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I began with Backmans, then went on to read Kings Carrie and as

    I began with Backmans, then went on to read Kings Carrie and as each came out I built up my personal Library ( all Hardcover) One of my most favorite Authors for this Genre. THIS one, F-r-e-a-k-y, I don't know why people need to moan and groan about this talented Authors books, but  I chalk it up to no imagination. My favorites Pre-NOOK are now finding their way into my NOOK... This is ONE of those Lights ON readings.. Does anyone look at street drains quite the same ????? Eeeeeesh. The early King Books have been read and re-read many times, and they still pack a freak-me-out !!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Is this a rough draft....?

    I feel this is a bit much to pay for a book with so many spelling and grammar errors. It was very annoying to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Really!!!!

    Who would ever read this book. Iknow that some people like it, but really. A clown. C'mon stephen try better next time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Confused

    If the picture shows It is a clown how come in the end It us a giant spider?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    The best Stephen King book. Bar none.

    The best Stephen King book. Bar none.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Jaquez

    Fdhdhdhhhfdbnjdj and

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Stupid and scary

    This book sucks

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Uh.......

    Weird

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1260 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 63