Customer Reviews for

It

Average Rating 4.5
( 1270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(890)

4 Star

(215)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoy...
This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Great story, frustrating e-book.

I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bound...
I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bounds better than UNDER THE DOME. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

If I were rating the story alone, I would have given it 5 stars. The e-book, though, gets three stars, because the formatting is absolutely awful... at least as the Nook displays it. Long stretches of text (in some places, close to 2 full pages) are inexplicably italicized. Sometimes, the italics stop just as inexplicably - in the middle of a sentence that's no different in tone or viewpoint than the ones leading up to it. In several places, there is a dangling half-paragraph requiring a page turn to get to the rest of the paragraph (and I'm not talking about the mid-sentence chapter breaks; I know those are correct).

To top it off, there are several spelling errors - "rn" substituted for "m," the numeral "1" for the letter "l," and the like. I believe all of the formatting and typographical errors probably result from a bad scan of a print copy of the book. It needs fixing - it's embarrassing to have such a poor version of such a good book by such a popular author.

posted by DPManwell on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Written like a bad 80's horror film

    First off- I can't believe I read the whole thing.1029 pages, jeez. Way too much back story, lots of unnecessary details. It was really long-winded, and truthfully, just weird. Not good, creepy weird, just bad, trying too hard to be different and weird weird. The images this book conjured were those of really bad 80s special effects. I don't know how a book can do this, but it did. I do not recommend this one. If you want something really long but worth it read The Stand. If you want to be scared read The Shining. Or The Stand if this day and age makes you paranoid like me.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    What the hell happened

    Awesome book until the end r u kidding me a frickin spider last part was uwfull

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Jaquez

    Fdhdhdhhhfdbnjdj and

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    ?

    Is it worth buying??





    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I'll never hear the end of it.

    I'm sure to never hear the end of this, but this just wasn't my cup of tea. Don't get me wrong, the story was good, but too long for me. For people who love all the tiny details, this book is for you. My own personal tastes are action packed, and we really didn't get to that until the last 100 pages.

    I couldn't personalize with the characters, and the back story was too much. I found that about 60% of the back story could have been eliminated, and the end result would have been the same. One of my personal beliefs is to always give the author a chance to redeem themselves, so I never quit a book. On this particular book I found that challenging. I don't know how many times I found myself arguing to finish it, I even fell asleep reading, and I NEVER do that.

    This is the third King book that I have read, sorry Mr. King, you write good books, but they are just not my type. I think you do a wonderful job with the majority, but I'm just looking for something different. I think I'm going to have to break off this relationship.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Um, Ok

    So I have always enjoyed the older King works. My top 10 books puts The Shinning in high regard. This book unfortunately was nowhere close. I was always intimidated by the sheer size of it....MASSIVE book with TINY print. I forced myself in. As with many King books you have to struggle for 100 pages to get where you want to be. This book was...consistent with my attention, just enough I wouldn't stop, but not enough to impress. I picked up towards the end, but I was never impressed with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    G

    Hgygfy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    To Evylen From Emily

    Hey gurl wassup?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Sucks to be broke

    So, It turns out to be a spider? Weird....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Hate it!!

    Hate it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Soooo slow...but decent

    Okay so this is coming from someone who can read almost anything, but after slogging through the first hundred pages i quit reading it for a few months. Decided to come back to it when i ran out of stuff to read and skipped to the last half of it. Honestly, it got less scary the further i read. I think like the halfway point is the scariest and the ending is pretty anticlimactic. I laughed at their worst nightmares. I expect better of king. I expect real horror, not this slow weird bundle of cliche. And dont even get me started on the twelve year old girl. Are you kidding me??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Yikes!

    This book was great, really scary and interesting, all the way up until the end. It made me want to puke to read about a 12 year old girl doing it with 5 guys it a sewer. It ruined the whole book for me! It was completely unnecessary for the plot as well. If I had bought a paper copy of the book I would have burned it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Really long book

    It took me 6 months to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    To the lllllooooollll wrighter

    No one gives a fuk if u have been in honors -_-

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    What the heck are you talking about

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Egh... :/

    Im on page 220 and its hardto keep reading this book theres an exciting part every like 80 pages and thats just not worth it...its good to have detail but not that much!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    CREEPY

    This book is well,I've only seen the movie but it freaked me out my dad made pennywise his facebook picture and it literally brought me to tears when he said the phrase"We all float down here kid"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2