Customer Reviews for

It

Average Rating 4.5
( 1244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(872)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoy...
This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great story, frustrating e-book.

I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bound...
I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bounds better than UNDER THE DOME. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

If I were rating the story alone, I would have given it 5 stars. The e-book, though, gets three stars, because the formatting is absolutely awful... at least as the Nook displays it. Long stretches of text (in some places, close to 2 full pages) are inexplicably italicized. Sometimes, the italics stop just as inexplicably - in the middle of a sentence that's no different in tone or viewpoint than the ones leading up to it. In several places, there is a dangling half-paragraph requiring a page turn to get to the rest of the paragraph (and I'm not talking about the mid-sentence chapter breaks; I know those are correct).

To top it off, there are several spelling errors - "rn" substituted for "m," the numeral "1" for the letter "l," and the like. I believe all of the formatting and typographical errors probably result from a bad scan of a print copy of the book. It needs fixing - it's embarrassing to have such a poor version of such a good book by such a popular author.

posted by DPManwell on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Great book-King fans only!

    If you just like Stephen King an enjoy not being able to close your eyes at night, this book is for you! I read it a few years ago and still remember every chapter. King is such a talented writer and his #%&@!* up plot lines are ridiculous. It is incredibly long but has occasional comic relief to keep you there. The 1990 movie adaption was relatively accurate in the plot and characters, but nowhere near as scary! If you want to get into Stephen King, I would probably suggest and easy transition with "The Stand," or "Carrie" to get you started, and then move to "It," the MOTHER of horror stories! You may have to put it down for some time, recuperate, and keep going, and don't be surprised if you have to tell yourself, "It's only a book..."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Great book!

    I was thinking this book would be boring, but it's quite in teresting. Stephen King write great books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    It (Stephan King)

    It is a very scary book for young adults

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    scared me

    they say the movie is better but really the book is the best. i recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    A good read, but a little long

    This book was scary as %$#@. Believe me, the clown is not as friendly in this book as in the movie. The very first chapter pulls you into the book, but pushes you out at around page 400. I stopped reading it when I got to that point, but I picked it up again, and I got pulled in again. THen I got pushed out at page 800. This book is long, but I have read a book that is longer and as long as it stays interesting the book flies right by. "It" got a little uninteresting, but it is a good book to read if you are a King fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    good book yet requires better cover

    better cover yeah when i first looked at it the background looked liked a horse but i am a huge stephen king fan as many are and i had taken this book to scare me and althoug it wanst as scary as bekieved it to be i did see that it was terifying.he does go a bit to high on the horror i felt like it was something you would see in a low budget film with the murders yet it will bring you to love it i say borrow it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy, creepy King epic!

    Stephen King has this was of making a unrealistically huge novel seem small. I read this pretty quickly as King brought me into the terrifying town of Derry, Maine. The main characters were all so clearly defined that I could tell who was speaking without even being told. The style King used here was at times grating with its denseness but that can easily be overlooked by the overall sense of dread and creepiness these seven kids then adults live through. The ending was at times a little too trippy and weirder than normal King but overall this mammoth novel is worth every penny. Don't be afraid of the size of it. Great stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Review of IT by Stephen King

    The book IT by Stephen King is one of his best sellers. The story, in general, is very odd. Of course - it's Stephen King, so what do you expect? If you have read Stephen King's books before, you know that he can write some very scary stories. The story of IT is about seven friends who are terrorized by a killer monster dressed up as a clown, who hides underneath the small city of Derry, Maine. The monster goes by the name of "IT".



    George Denbrough (younger brother of Bill Denbrough) was the first victim of the killer clown in the autumn of 1957. "IT" continued to kill other children, which is probably one of the worst kinds of murder anyone can think of. Bill Denbrough and his friends soon become terrorized by the same monster clown that took the life of George Denbrough. Bill and his seven friends go out to stop this killer clown once and for all. After they had killed the killer, they all made a promise that if this monster ever returns from the dead they would return to Derry and stop it again. Did they stop the monster? Of course not - the book is 1,076 pages long, so as you can imagine, the terror must continue. Twenty-eight years later the monster clown takes another victim. All of the friends are summoned again to face the monster clown once more. Except that this time, one of the friends will not come out alive.



    This book tries to tell us that you should keep any promises you make. In the book the friends might have forgotten about their promises and the fear that lurks in Derry, Maine after 28 years. But they still return and face what they fear the most. The characters are admirable for the dedication and because they are true to their promise. The message is that no matter what happens, you should never let go of a promise, even if that means it's your greatest fear. It might be difficult to give your word, but it could also reward you in the future.



    IT is a really good book. A high read and a very long one at that. IT will keep you on the edge of your toes and hypnotizes you into the story, almost like the monster clown hypnotizes his victims. This book is one of Stephen King's best sellers and it truly is clear why so many copies have sold. In addition, to the suspense and thrill, Stephen King describes objects extremely well in the book. It feels like the cool Derry, Maine wind is skimming your skin and the hands of the monster clown are right on your shoulders. Stephen King also describes the character's past in great detail. You can almost believe that the story is a true life event.



    There is one tiresome thing about this book. The book just drools on and on about small objects that do not seem to be that important to the story. Stephen King writes details about small things for a paragraph, a page, or even more. But reading through the detail is not always that bad because of the constant suspense.



    Overall, the entire book is suspenseful, fun to read, and plain-out awesome. It's a scary book that gets even scarier. IT is a horror fans' worst nightmare, or should I say the best. The rating I would give IT would be two thumbs up, four and a half out of five stars, and just plain out scary!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of I.T.

    Steven King is an exellent writer.I enjoyed this book alot, after I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I thinks this book is better than the movie and I don't say that much.IT is also a very long book,it has over 1,100 pages. It took me about a week and a half or two weeks to read, the end is the best part of the book I think. I would recomend this book to someone that has time on thier hands and likes thriller/horror stories. Well thats what I think about IT, Steven king is a very good thriller story writer, so check some of his books out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome yet little disturbing book 0_0

    Ok, so I read and finished this book in 2 months, and I have to say that this book, overall, was OK. Why? The characters were good, the plot was excellent, but there's one scene of the book later on that disturbed me, and it is when Beverly shows how much she loves her friends (which, by the way, are all male) by having intercourse with all of them. People say that it was good for her to do this because it's symbolic I guess or something, but I think it's nasty! Those kids are 11 years-old! 0_0 That part was just OMG to me, but other than that, the book was good! Very long.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good book, but some things weren't necessary

    It was a great book, but I don't really understand the Interludes contribution to the story. Only the last one really made since to me. I think that there were a lot of boring parts, but a lot of exciting parts also. I loved the last 100 pages of the book. I couldn't put it down when I got there.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant!

    It is the fourth Stephen King novel I have read and is by far my favorite. Although the book is very long, I happened to finish the book in about the same time I usually finish other novels. This book is amazing! The characters and dialogue are amazing (as they are in every Stephen King book). The story switches from past to present frequently and it makes the book all the more enjoyable. This book is certainly a page turner. You will want to keep reading to find out about the next killing, how it happened, and in what form It takes. You will not regret reading this book and I gaurantee it will be your favorite Stephen King novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    King has an altered imagination

    When I started reading "IT" I thought it was extreemly slow. Then as I would get into it it would get better, but then back to slow. I dont think that this book was scary. Clowns in general are creepy but King put way to much information in this book. Back and fourth, back in fourth. I think the book would have been so much better if he didnt carry on with so many unrelated issues. Sorry guys not my favorite. I did enojoy the characters, especially back when they were in the fifties, and I enjoyed some of the adults but thats as far as I am willing to go on this one. Way to long.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Great

    i enjoyed this book. when i first started to read the last two hundred pages or so, so many things became revealed and made sense to me. it was amazing. however, some parts tended to drage on and were boring. dont let the size of the book intimidate you. it took me a month two finish, and i rarely noticed the pages physically making a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    very good

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm going to be completely honest about this book! In some insta

    I'm going to be completely honest about this book! In some instances he starts to ramble about things that aren't really necessary but that's okay he's Stephen King HA! I felt like the book could have been shorter if it wasn't for the rambling though. Anyway, I definitely had some nightmares the first time I read this book and different scenes where he described things to the T had me thinking nonstop..definitely a good read and worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Harmanliyor

    Gerilimle korkuyu bu kadar harmanliyan baska yazar yok.okudukca dalga dalga tuylerim urperiyor ama biraz surrealist bir roman gibi kokuyor.Yazar zaman zaman bizi beynimizin labirentlerinde dolastiriyor sonrada gercek hayat birakiyor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Great beginv I wish the ending was better

    I loved most of what i read. Read this book in 3 days. Then i reached the end........what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Great book

    Really good book. Kept me interested the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    Amazing book and im 12. Its soooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11