Customer Reviews for

It

Average Rating 4.5
( 1247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(874)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoy...
This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great story, frustrating e-book.

I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bound...
I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bounds better than UNDER THE DOME. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

If I were rating the story alone, I would have given it 5 stars. The e-book, though, gets three stars, because the formatting is absolutely awful... at least as the Nook displays it. Long stretches of text (in some places, close to 2 full pages) are inexplicably italicized. Sometimes, the italics stop just as inexplicably - in the middle of a sentence that's no different in tone or viewpoint than the ones leading up to it. In several places, there is a dangling half-paragraph requiring a page turn to get to the rest of the paragraph (and I'm not talking about the mid-sentence chapter breaks; I know those are correct).

To top it off, there are several spelling errors - "rn" substituted for "m," the numeral "1" for the letter "l," and the like. I believe all of the formatting and typographical errors probably result from a bad scan of a print copy of the book. It needs fixing - it's embarrassing to have such a poor version of such a good book by such a popular author.

posted by DPManwell on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 874 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

    This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

    58 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant!!!!

    This was only the fourth book that i had read by Stephen King. When i first picked it up, I was shocked that there was over 1000 pages. But i was drawn in within the first ten pages and had the book finished in 8 days. The plot was amazing, characters were well developed, and the deaths were brutal! Clowns have always and still to this day, scare the crap out of me. (The book didnt help too much with that)

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Stephen Kings IT

    My name is Brock Golbeck and I am 16 years old. I read this in my English class and I'm writing this review for English class. The book I read was Stephen Kings book IT. It is about seven children who grow up together and were tormented by an evil that lived in the sewers in Derry, Maine where the book takes place.
    They worked together to try to stop the evil and they thought they had put an end to it. They made a vow to stop the evil if it came back, twenty-eight years later they heard of the evil terrorizing kids again and they reunite and come back to put a final end to IT.
    You will have to read this suspenseful book to find out why they didn't stop the evil when they were young and what things IT has done to them. But the book makes you question if you should leave things as is or should you be a good person and help others? After reading this horror I'm not sure what I would do. The major theme of the book is fear, everyone fears for their life because this evil.
    The seven main characters in the book are Mike Hanlon, Stan Uris, Richie Tozier, Ben Hanscom, Beverly Rogan, Eddie Kaspbrak and Bill Denbrough.
    The book and the movie go along good with each other with a few changes from the book which has more detail than the movie. If you don't like to read watching the movie might work best for you.
    On a scale of 1-5, 1 being the worst and 5 being the best I think this book is a 5 star book, Stephen King is one of the best horror writers today and if you liked this book you might want to read some more of his books. I think anybody that likes books about horror will enjoy this book.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    IT

    Straight to the point: This is the first King book I read and it is my favorite book I have EVER read. I never wanted it to end. The characters have so much life, you will feel like you lived in Derry and were part of the club. Horrifying, funny, sad, depressing, exciting, adventure....This book has it all.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is IT!

    Horror literature has long been shunned as being the no-name brand of fiction; never taken seriously by critics but overall adored by the readers. The grisly tales of ghostly haunting, vampiric infestations and the all around Bogeyman serial killers have been written about for hundreds of years, and there are writers in the field past and present that have succeeded in scary the daylights out of you - yet you crave more like a thirsty hell hound. In all of those writers only one has time and again gone over the top, above and beyond and one step too far. He never lets the reader go and gets them deeper and deeper into the things that really scare us. Those things aren't always supernatural, but the everyday trials we face as human beings. That one writer is Stephen King. Out of his huge library of written works there is also only one tale that gets down to the root of what we fear and makes us face IT head on. IT!! What is IT? Anything at all - if you fear IT, you will confront IT. Supernatural or not the creature called It is the idea of terror. IT lingers under you skin, but you cannot scratch. King created the one truly all encompassing horror novel, because everything out there - in books, in movies, in real life is ever present to eat at you. I, The Nobody must confess that I have never been able to read this book straight through - IT is that scary. Not just the eerie and the horrifying, but the sadness that these characters are engulfed in. As kids we all dealt with bullies and some of us, broken homes or even worse - and our lives are reflected in each and every page. Even if you don't connect with one aspect of It, other parts you will. This will always endure as the one truly terrifying novel of all time. And the name says it all - IT! I am currently rereading it - and I will try to read IT all the way, instead of bits and pieces here and there. Can and entire city be haunted? Yes, IT can.
    Can entire universe be haunted - Yes. For It is also a connecting book to the Dark Tower Saga; the turtle, the deadlights. Derry is like your own hometown, but the evil is more insidious and floats down below.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very long novel, but worth it.

    Okay, let me just say that the movie did not do 'It' justice. After all, which movie-based-on-a-book does? Besides for 'The Notebook'.

    Since the copy of 'It' I read was 1028 pages, I'll just list my comments instead of writing paragraph after paragraph.

    - super long, will keep you busy
    - it's actually frightening, a missing factor in 99% of the "scary" novels I've read
    - this made me scared of clowns
    - I felt like I was actually in Derry, fighting Pennywise with the Lucky Seven

    I would definitely recommend 'It' to anybody with a few hours and an open mind.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best of Stephen King!

    I have read all of Stephen King and this is by far my favorite. I have read this particular book six times and always find myself engulfed in the story. The children feel real and genuine, the kind you can find in every small town. This is a thriller and no one does thrill like Stephen King.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Great Book

    starts slow, builds up the characters, and keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire way.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    The E-book is the way to go.

    I could never get through the paperback edition due to the small font size. I would get distracted and lose my focus. If you have the same problem then I would totally recommend this version. One of the reasons I love my NOOK!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It

    This is one of the scariest books I have ever read. It thrilled me from start to finish. I suggest taking notes on characters as this book is very lengthy but it is one of the best books King has ever written. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a good scare

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it by stephen king

    the group of chracters have somthing of there own to fear. so thats wat so called IT brings them. the nightmares they have it brings it to life spiders, monsters even drunk mad parents. wats so sick is that it takes the form of pennywise the clown and i hate clowns. every twist and turn keeps you on your seat please keep the lights on as the best 1104 padges are worth reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't scare easilly. Misery, by the same author, was the first

    I don't scare easilly. Misery, by the same author, was the first book to scare. Several years later, this was the second. This book is truely horrifying. The imagery and the helplessness of characters your made to care about are intense. A horror classic, and mabye the scariest book ever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I never liked clowns....but now im petrified when i see one.

    I will never look at ballons, clowns, bathrooms and open closet doors the same way again!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    SCARY AS...

    This book caused all of my fears of clowns. But other than that it was a Stephen King great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    It kept me awake

    I read this book nearly 20 years ago, and I remember it vividly to this day. In this story, Stephen King found a way to tap into childhood fears and nightmares. I can remember not being able to get to sleep while I thought of Pennywise the Clown. The plot is good, although the book is an investment in reading time. King develops the characters well. Like all King books, read it before seeing the movie.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    The best from the best

    This is not only King's greatest novel but one of the greatest in American Fiction period. The depth of character development is brilliant even for King as I grew to love with these children and found myself very much a part of their lives and going through their triumphs and tribulations with them. I was immediately attracted to the small town setting and time period in which this story begins to unfold and the amount of detail that went into this absolutely astonishes me. I'm sure it has its share of flaws (can't name any as of now) and I will admit that I have a lifelong bias towards Stephen King (my favorite author) but the fact is simply I believe every reader of fiction owes it to themselves to at the very least attempt to read this masterpiece. For those who see it through to the end, I am confident that they will be all the better for it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    It ruined my life

    I am Billy and I am 16. When I read this scarey book I peed my pants. My mommy laughed at me and made me go to school with my peepee pants. You can imagine what happened there. I felt like the peasant in that story by Issac Babel. You know, when the cossacks raid the shetl and kill everyone. That' s how I felt. Very King-like, that Babel.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    IT

    This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Stephen King is Brilliant

    When I was told about this book I was only given a small idea as to what it entailed. Being a huge Stephen King fan I felt I had to give it a chance. Unfortunately, when I picked the book up I realized it may involve more time than I could give to finish such a long story. After sitting down and beginning the story, I found myself transformed into this small town and back to my junior days of hanging out with friends. It captured me immediately. I could relate to almost everything that was written. There are many characters and lives to keep up with but after you are introduced to the whole group you cant help but remember each detail. Given the title character is something that has freaked me out since childhood it wasnt long before I found chills running down my spine as I read. I became so involved in this story I couldn't read it with the lights down. I have recommended this book to all my friends and especially my childhood friends that would understand this story on the same level as I did. Mr. King has a brilliant mind and has found a way to put my greatest fear down on paper.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    You won't be Disappointed!

    You cannot be disappointed in King's BEST novel. I have read it 3 times and will likely read it again! Forget the movie, which could not come close to capturing the story. The characters are likable and REAL...I could vividly see and feel the entire story. And the details are what make this book so great so never mind the 1000+ pages! It's worth it. The only negative is that you will be sad when it's over.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 874 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44