Customer Reviews for

It

Average Rating 4.5
( 1256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(879)

4 Star

(214)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

He Ain't Called King for Nothin'

This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoy...
This is it, without even the tiniest shadow of a doubt. I've read a lot of books, ranging from classics, like Count Dracula, by Bram Stoker, Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and a lot of books by S.K. Himself. So far, I haven't come across one I haven't enjoyed on some level. I'm actually rereading it for a second time, and am just shy of page 30, which isn't even a dent in this 1,100-plus-page masterpiece. It's absolutely my favorite piece of litterature I've come across, and I hope, one day, I can come across a more durable first- or second-edition hardcover to replace the spine-tarnished, yellow-paged paperback I have. Long ramble short: It isn't for everybody--if you're looking for a more to-the-point horror story, try out Dean Koontz, who is also great--but if you're a fan of The King, and have't checked this out, I highly recomend it. I recomend, also, that you read this book in a dimly-lit room with no TV or music playing, with the door locked and the windows draped shut, so you can get the full effect.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great story, frustrating e-book.

I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bound...
I won't bore you with my recap of the plot - the synopsis here is just fine. If you've ever read Stephen King before, you have a pretty good idea whether you'll like this one. In my opinion, IT is not as good as THE STAND, but on par with SALEM'S LOT and leaps and bounds better than UNDER THE DOME. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

If I were rating the story alone, I would have given it 5 stars. The e-book, though, gets three stars, because the formatting is absolutely awful... at least as the Nook displays it. Long stretches of text (in some places, close to 2 full pages) are inexplicably italicized. Sometimes, the italics stop just as inexplicably - in the middle of a sentence that's no different in tone or viewpoint than the ones leading up to it. In several places, there is a dangling half-paragraph requiring a page turn to get to the rest of the paragraph (and I'm not talking about the mid-sentence chapter breaks; I know those are correct).

To top it off, there are several spelling errors - "rn" substituted for "m," the numeral "1" for the letter "l," and the like. I believe all of the formatting and typographical errors probably result from a bad scan of a print copy of the book. It needs fixing - it's embarrassing to have such a poor version of such a good book by such a popular author.

posted by DPManwell on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 879 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is definitely the best SK book ever. I like plenty of other SK novels, but this is the best. The characters are so wonderfully described as children and as adults that they became friends of mine. When I finished the book, I missed them. Once again, this is the best SK book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I began with Backmans, then went on to read Kings Carrie and as

    I began with Backmans, then went on to read Kings Carrie and as each came out I built up my personal Library ( all Hardcover) One of my most favorite Authors for this Genre. THIS one, F-r-e-a-k-y, I don't know why people need to moan and groan about this talented Authors books, but  I chalk it up to no imagination. My favorites Pre-NOOK are now finding their way into my NOOK... This is ONE of those Lights ON readings.. Does anyone look at street drains quite the same ????? Eeeeeesh. The early King Books have been read and re-read many times, and they still pack a freak-me-out !!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    The best Stephen King book. Bar none.

    The best Stephen King book. Bar none.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Stupidity

    Anyone who says this is a 1-2 star book is an idiot. Stephen King is the best science fiction writer ever. And you people could never write or read anyone better than Stephen King. And just to reiterate yall are stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    To the point

    Three words: BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    After reading the book It by Stephen King, I had chills going th

    After reading the book It by Stephen King, I had chills going through my body. I love the way he uses suspense to make you want to read more. The details put shivers through my spine, and goose bumps on my arms. This book is about a group of kids called lucky seven. They all have their own encounter with a clown monster creature. This clown named Pennywise goes to sleep for thirty years, then wakes up for thirty years. In the thirty years he is asleep, he gets meaner, angrier, hungrier, and scarier! He eats kids until something unusual happens, seven kids decide to fight back! The main character is Bill. He is no more than a kid, but no less than a hero. I can relate to him because if some clown thing killed my sister or sibling, I wouldn’t sleep until he got what he deserved. That’s exactly what Bills situation, and reaction was. After reading It, I can now conclude that there is nothing more powerful than the imagination of a kid. If you are into horror, suspense, and good books, read Stephen Kings It. I know you would like it because it is the kind of book that prevents you from looking at a sewage drain, going in the dark alone, or even going near clowns! Personally, I love horror, so I gave It a chance, and it scared me a little, so I read on. Then all of a sudden something happened and I fell in love with the book. You must be a brave person to get through the pages that will make you shiver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    So scary and perfect

    Readt this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Serious and scary

    This is arguably the beest book Stephen King has written thus far. An evil unstoppable villian, a group of underdog heroes, and the town that ignores them both blend together so well that one can see it like a movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    HEY YOU

    Buy this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Stop

    People u dont have to right a book report tell us wht u like about the book notnthe whole story dont ruin it for us

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    OMG

    So scary I saw the movie but this was like lOx scarier

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Kings best by far

    Its too bad king doesnt write em like this anymore this has everything in it that king was loved for and its never dull if your one of hiss old school fans and dont already have this then what are you waiting for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First favorite

    I've read a lot of SK books but It was the best. Being the first one I read, this is what influenced me to read any of SK's other books. While being over 1000 pages, It entrances you and propels you through the book. It took me about 6 days to finish. It also cleverly has other SK references throughout. If you want a story about a creepy clown and a bunch of kids stopping him, then It is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Terrifying

    The beginning is slow but if you get through that then you wont be sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I love this book so much Stephen King is amazing

    This was the first book i read by Stephen King. I absolutlely loved it. My only advice is that if your not in high school dont read. This is not a book for kids. Do not read before bed eather, because you will be scared of every little thing for a while. stephen King is a horror story writer, so those with weak stomachs stay away. I hope every one else enjoyed this book as much as i did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Best of stephen king

    My personal favorite book by this author. Loved every minute of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Not for everyone

    This book in my opinion is Stephen King's best work. He delivers an amazing srory in this one; really just unbelievable. However, I don't reccomend this book for people who don't like horror stories. This book WILL scare you, there is no doubt about it. You also need alot of patience to read this book, as any other King book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Absolutely loved it! I read it twice years ago, and I think I might read it again soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    5 stars for It

    Way better than the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Couldn Could not put down

    Awesome read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 879 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 44