Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You (Lucky Harbor Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Happy to be back in Lucky Harbor! This latest installment in th

    Happy to be back in Lucky Harbor! This latest installment in the Lucky Harbor series is refreshing and fun. Jill Shalvis keeps the humor and sex appeal alive as Ali and Luke discover each other and themselves. A wonderful read, won't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Jil

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Jill Shalvis has easily become my favorite author of this genre. With her unique ability to breathe life into her characters, she has single handedly rejuvenated the genre and has become a force to be reckoned with! ~ Under the Covers

    In the highly anticipated seventh book of the Lucky Harbor series, IT HAD TO BE YOU, Jill Shalvis brings readers a sweet, determined and independent heroine in Ali Winters. Life hasn’t been too kind to Ali in recent months. Her boyfriend is a first-class jerk, she is low on cash, and she becomes the prime suspect of a robbery case. Add to that the fact that she is nearly homeless and if she can’t find a new place soon, she will be in big trouble.

    But trouble finds her instead in the form of a hot bodied, gun-toting, brooding and protective detective named Luke Hanover. Who just happens to be her landlord as well. Searching for an escape, Luke returns to Lucky Harbor to escape the prying eyes and questions of the media after a case has gone wrong. Though Ali and Luke don’t start off on the right foot, their chemistry is potent and will light a bonfire that readers can snuggle up to and enjoy.

    Shalvis takes a different approach to this book. Using Luke’s profession as a way to create an interesting plot, Shalvis creates a mystery that slowly unfolds itself in the book. I loved the idea, but felt that it was resolved a little too quickly in the end. I don’t think it will diminish reader’s enjoyment of the book though because there is plenty of antics to keep you entertained – quirky characters and hot sex are there in spades!

    I am DYING for more of Jack. He stomped right into this book and made a huge impression on me. With his protective ways and his little crush on Leah, I’m interested to see what Shalvis has up her sleeve. That being said, Ben also sounds like an interesting one. Shalvis is keeping him in the dark and if she continues her pattern, Ben’s book might just be the one readers have been waiting for!

    Jill Shalvis has easily become my favorite author of this genre. With her unique ability to breathe life into her characters, she has single handedly rejuvenated the genre and has become a force to be reckoned with!

    I forgot one last thing…. I CLAIM LUKE FOR MY HAREM!!! Hands off, hussies! *crazy eyes*

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    What's not to love. THe bok has humor, sensitivity, suspense an

    What's not to love. THe bok has humor, sensitivity, suspense and sexuality. Love all the Lucky Harbor books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Great

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Lucky Harbor has always been a favorite series of mine and I'm g

    Lucky Harbor has always been a favorite series of mine and I'm glad it can be read as a standalone as I, for the life of me, couldn't recall
    where Ali stood in this series. I gave up trying to figure out and continued reading the story as is.

    Ali seemed to be down in her luck... things just keep kinda going wrong for her, from when she was younger till now. Catching her boyfriend
    up in the neck with another girl to being dumped over text, having her iPod taken by her cheating ex and as if things just couldn't get any
    worse, she was accused of stealing the town's money. 

    While I wasn't captivated by the story initially, it gripped me when Luke came into the picture. There were a lot of funny and sweet moments
    between Luke and Ali that couldn't be missed. Luke who is currently on vacation, has some personal issues to deal with himself, guilt from
    work and from years ago. With some reluctance after some pressure from a group of grandpas who were fond of Ali, he gives a helping
    hand to Ali's case.

    I love the progression of Luke and Ali's relationship. Both of them are actually givers but they just do not realize it. Jill Shalvis is a master
    at writing sweet with funny and HOT scenes. I love the banter between Luke and Ali and it was an ooohh moment when they finally came
    together after a big circle.

    This book as well as the rest of the Lucky Harbor series are not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book a lot. This was the first Jill Shalvis book I read but not the last.

    When I bought it, I didn't realize it was part of a series but was able to enjoy the story without feeling like I was missing anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    A bit slow to start

    But i ended up enjoying the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    Have always loved Jill's books, and this one is right up there with the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5* Another great book by Jill Shalvis. This is a fabulous seri

    4.5*
    Another great book by Jill Shalvis. This is a fabulous series. I don't know how she keeps doing it but I'm so glad she does. Jill Shalvis just keeps putting out great books. Luke and Ali are great together. Their chemistry jumps off the page and drags you into the book. A lot of the same characters from Lucky Harbor make their return as well as new ones. I really liked Edward, Jack and Leah and I can't wait to read Jack and Leah's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    This is another book in the Lucky Harbor series, and it is just

    This is another book in the Lucky Harbor series, and it is just as awesome as the others.  I have read all of the Lucky Harbor
     series so far and this one is definitely on the top of my list.  Jill’s writing is witty, loveable, steamy and addictive.  Luke Hanover is
    taking a break from his job and goes to Lucky Harbor for some much needed down time.  He walks into his grandmother’s old house
     and meets Ali Winters.  The story continues from there (you will have to read it to find out what happens, no spoilers from me).  
    Needless to say there is lots of laughs, who did it, and steamy romance.  Jill is an awesome writer who brings the reader in with her
     fun loving characters, alpha males and the women who drive them absolutely crazy.  This is a must read book.  I give it 4 stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Great

    As expected the Lucky Harbor story was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I loved this book. Ali was completely down on her luck. She lo

    I loved this book. Ali was completely down on her luck. She lost her boyfriend, her job was kind of in limbo and she really didn't have a place to stay. Luke is a tough detective going through a rough time with his job. He was renting his house to Ali's old boyfriend. The way they meet was hysterical. I couldn't stop laughing. The whole book was really funny. The sex scenes were done just right. The characters had a great connection the only thing I thought was missing was I thought Ali and Luck could have gone out and had more fun times together. The time they spent together was trying to figure out how to get Ali out of the mess she was in. It would have been nice to see them on a date or two. I would definitely recommend this book. Can't wait for the other books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    My thoughts┬┐ I loved this one! It Had to Be You is a funny cont

    My thoughts…

    I loved this one! It Had to Be You is a funny contemporary romance that's sure to touch your heart. It's book #7 in the Lucky Harbor series by author Jill Shalvis.

    Both Ali & Luke aren't looking for love. Ali's boyfriend has dumped her, she's lost her job, and she doesn't have a place to live anymore since the lease on her boyfriends house is up. 

    Enter Luke Hanover. He's the owner of said house and walks in on Ali while she's on the phone with the ex-boyfriend. Did I mention she's dressed in only her bra and panties?

    Right from the beginning these two shared a strong attraction. Neither is looking to get involved but sometimes things don't happen the way you plan for them too.

    The sexual scenes within this book are relatively mainstream and not overly explicit.

    The suspense element kept me guessing until the very end. I never did figure it out until it was revealed. I love books like that.

    Next up is Leah & Jack's story and I can't wait to read it.

    If you haven't read the Lucky Harbor series you are seriously missing out. It's one of my favorite series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When a cop on vacation after an investigation goes horribly wron

    When a cop on vacation after an investigation goes horribly wrong meets up with a half dressed woman in his kitchen that has been dumped by her cheating boyfriend, you know you are in for an interesting story. Luke is a San Francisco cop taking three weeks’ vacation after the murder of one of his sources and the suicide of her probable murderer. He comes to Crystal Lake to stay in the cottage that his grandmother left him and finds Ali in his kitchen. Ali has just found her boyfriend doing the nasty with the local beautician and then been dumped by the cheater. On top of that he neglected to tell Ali that he didn’t renew the lease to the cottage where they lived and she has just met the owner while half naked. Her day gets better when she is accused of stealing a big pot of money from the ex’s office.
    Luke is a man with a lot of regrets in his life. He feels responsible for so many things that have gone wrong for his sister, his late grandmother, and the victim in his latest case. Ali is a woman with a history of her own. A mother who was a serial dater, a sister who has had run-ins with the law and a job that looks less secure by the day. Being accused of theft is just the latest bump in the road to a normal life with some stability. Both Luke and Ali have a great deal of attitude adjustment to do before this relationship can work. He doesn’t need to carry the load for another needy person and she doesn’t want to get mixed up with another temporary fling. But, wow, the chemistry is really there!
    This series keeps getting better. The secondary characters add a lot to the book including a group of quirky seniors. Then there are Luke’s two best friends, Jake and Ben, who seem to be the next ones to have a full story line. There are just enough of the older story characters to fill out the story without confusing a new reader. It is nice to see a long running series keep it fresh and leaving the reader anxious for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2