Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You (Lucky Harbor Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Shalvis does not disappoint with this next installment in h

    Jill Shalvis does not disappoint with this next installment in her Lucky Harbor Novel! I didn't think it was possible, but her writing just keeps getting better and better!!




    Ali is scraping by in Lucky Harbor, working in a florist shop, making her pottery, and volunteering with the seniors to name a few things! She is also in a relationship (or so she thinks!) with Teddy. Then before she knows it within 24 hours she's been dumped by Teddy, needs to find a new place to live, and is accused of stealing a lot of money!




    Luke, a detective who lives in San Francisco but has roots in Lucky Harbor, comes home to what he expects to be an empty house, looking for privacy, peace and quiet after a case goes drastically wrong. He hasn't been back to Lucky Harbor in 10 years when he felt like he let both his sister then his grandmother down. He craves a sense of home now but instead, in his kitchen he finds a mostly naked Ali, reporters trying to find him, and the local police arriving to question Ali about the missing money.




    Ali is proud, honest and strong. She has grown into a terrific woman who doesn't let life get her down no matter how rough things got when she was growing up. She really doesn't carry her baggage around, letting things get her down. But all that's happening now she's finding it harder and harder to be strong and alone. Before they both know it, Luke finds himself wanting to help her. Not only her, but the little things other people are coming to him for.




    Neither of them are looking for a relationship, especially one that can't go anywhere since Luke is leaving again soon. Ali and Luke spend a lot of time together though and soon it is harder to resist the magnetic pull they feel towards each other. Both of them insist to themselves and to each other that it can only be temporary, but can they keep their hearts out of their relationship?




    As they get to know each other better, the mystery of the missing money and trying to clear Ali's name keeps them busy. Can they help the local police find the missing money before Ali ends up in jail due to only circumstantial evidence? If the air clears and Luke goes back to his job in San Francisco can they move on apart?




    The more time Luke spends in Lucky Harbor and with Ali, the more he starts to feel whole again...to love again. Leaving will be the hardest part for both of them.




    I loved, loved It Had to Be You!!! Jill's writing is flawless, filled with humor and love that had the book glued to my hands!




    I really enjoyed both Luke and Ali. Both of them were refreshingly honest. It was so great to read a romance that didn't have any of those little games some characters sometimes play when they hide parts of themselves. Luke and Ali fit really well together. Both of them have had a rough go at different times of their lives...Luke needs a little more help moving on and seeing things in perspective, and Ali is just the woman for him!




    It was great to see some of the secondary characters again (for example Lucille and her posse!!). It's a small town so they were an integral part of It Had To Be You, but they weren't overwhelming either.




    The storyline was great, Jill develops it smoothly and we are always right there with the characters. I can totally visualize Lucky Harbour in my mind and Luke out on the water!!




    I highly recommend this book to any romance reader, it's perfect!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ali is having a very bad day when her boyfriend Ted Marshall dum

    Ali is having a very bad day when her boyfriend Ted Marshall dumps her via text messaging, leaving her in a house that the lease ran out on and where she comes face to face with Luke Hanover the homeowner who has returned to Lucky Harbor hoping to escape and spend some time alone. What he finds is a very angry Ali Winters who is in the middle of a temper tantrum on the voice mail of her dirt bag ex-boyfriend.

    When Ali's life falls apart the one person who seems to be in the middle of it all is Luke Hanover who is throwing himself into her money theft issue. He is determined to figure out who stole the money Ali's being accused of stealing. Through the course of this investigation we learn alot about Luke and his demons and Ali and her childhood and how she deals with things.

    I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Once again Jill Shalvis is able to find the perfect combination of suspense, romance, and humor. She effortlessly introduces Luke and Ali making you feel as if they have always been a part of Lucky Harbor. I can't wait for the next story in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Love it

    I always enjoy reading jill shalvis books...its the best way to sit back and relax and let yourself fall into a lucky harbor series..thank u jill shalvis for another great book...love it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite It Had to Be Y

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    It Had to Be You (Lucky Harbor) by Jill Shalvis takes place on the coast of the Pacific Northwest in a town called (you guessed it) Lucky Harbor. The community is small, close knit, and your business is everybody else's business. Ali Winters moved here to reinvent herself. Originally from Tacoma, an area that offered nothing to her future, she finds her little niche working as a florist in the local shop. Her boyfriend is politically prominent and things seem to be going her way. Then she gets dumped by text, informed that the lease was up the day before, and what's even worse...it's already found its way onto Facebook. Luke Hanover has returned to his grandmother's home in search of solace after a very public case goes horribly wrong. She thinks he is breaking in. He thinks she's squatting in his house. What else can happen! How about being accused of the theft of $50,000 that was raised for a new community center..and the finger being pointed by the old boyfriend? The plot thickens from here, entwining through passion, compassion, heartache, and revenge. 

    Jill Shalvis has created a pretty believable story. It Had to Be You (Lucky Harbor) is one steamy, captivating read, to say the least. This book is not for the faint of heart. And you might want to be careful where you are listening if it is in audio book form. As in, don't have it blasting when you are driving past a daycare center or stopped at a traffic light! P.S. I am totally in love with Luke Hanover. Where the heck was he when I was young and single?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    My favorite

    The whole series has been amazing but I think this is my favorite one, at least until I read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Another great Lucky Harbor story. Luke and Ali are the perfect h

    Another great Lucky Harbor story. Luke and Ali are the perfect hero and heroine in this book. Ali is funny and cute and Luke is just plain hot. I love a good love story but when you add in some funny, laugh out loud, moments then you have an amazing book. Jill Shalvis does not disappoint in this latest installment to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Awesome!!

    Romantic, funny! I really enjoy jill shalvis' stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    I keep waiting for a Jill Shalvis book to get redundant or stop

    I keep waiting for a Jill Shalvis book to get redundant or stop being entertaining. It has NEVER happened. Her characters are all entirely unique and genuine. I love returning to lucky harbor with each new book. This book was probably one of my favorites along with (Tara and Ford's story of course). READ IT RIGHT NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Great Read!

    This series keeps getting better. Luke and Ali are amazing together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Loved it

    I have read several books in the Lucky Harbor series and ths is by far my favorite. Ali and Luke are both so likable, they actually act like real people. I get tired reading the same fictional romance over and over again even though they are by different authors. This book contains alot of that same plot but it is written in a fresh modern way Will read it a second time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Open a Jill Shalvis book and you'll find yourself in luck--- in

    Open a Jill Shalvis book and you'll find yourself in luck--- in Lucky Harbor that is! This series of books has it all: romance (sex), intrigue,
    and great characters. Always on my Mind, the newest book, is no exception. Leah is a troubled pastry chef who returns to Lucky Harbor.
    She ran away from her father and best friend Jack at 17. She is back to take care of her Grandmother and run her bakery . Her
    appearance on Sweet Wars, a baking reality show, has the town rooting for her.
    Jack followed his fire fighter father's footsteps. Of course, he is drop dead gorgeous ---sigh-- dates lots of women, but doesn't do
    relationships. Lucky Harbor has other ideas about him, now that Leah back.
    Jill's descriptions are so real that you know the town, "your" friends and you can just SMELL Leah's pastry creations! I want to move to
    Lucky Harbor and either be Leah (or the next heroine) or her BFF! And I want a cream puff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Awesome read

    Yet another good read from Jill Shalvis. Love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    OMG I read all of Jill Shalvis Lucky harbor Novel they were the

    OMG I read all of Jill Shalvis Lucky harbor Novel they were the BEST novel i've ever read the characters the passion and omg 
    the steamy sex in each novel was HOT was not a disappointment. Jill Shalis i'm HOOK on your Lucky Harbor Novels!!!! PLEASE
    bring up more characters into Lucky Harbor haven't got enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Jill Shalvis has done ot again, given us a fantastic Lucky Harbo

    Jill Shalvis has done ot again, given us a fantastic Lucky Harbor novel. The story is smart, fun and sexy.
    It is about a theft of money and a sexy hero and heroine with explosive chemistry.
    I could not put this book down as the story draws you in to find out who the thief is.  I was left guessing
    right to the end! Congrats Jill Shalvis on giving us once again a feel good romance that makes you
    smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great story, wonderful characters! I can't wait to read the next Lucky Harbor series! Love Jill's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Shalvis delivers another keeper in the Lucky Harbor series

    Jill Shalvis delivers another keeper in the Lucky Harbor series with It Had To Be You.

    Ali Winters can’t believe how bad her day is going. Her live in boyfriend dumps her, the town thinks she stole money and to top it all off she is going to be homeless. Her now ex’s landlord is back in town and Ali has to make a deal in order to not be put out on the street.

    Luke Hanover returns to Lucky Harbor to get some much needed peace and quiet. After his latest case went tragically wrong, he needs some quiet in order to figure out how it all went so bad. Instead he finds one irresistible brunette disturbing his world. The town folks have taking Ali under their wings. When she is accused of stealing they turn to Luke for assistance.

    As Luke tries to safe Ali, her interference isn’t much help. Spending time in close quarters has Luke and Ali embarking on a sizzling affair.

    As Luke helps Ali he realizes the direction he needs to be headed. Will this new clarity help him and Ali determine they have found something special in Lucky Harbor.

    It Had To Be You is another fun and sexy story by Jill Shalvis. The chemistry between Ali and Luke is at times funny and sizzling. Jill’s stories are ones to treasure and eagerly waiting for the next one to come along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Another great addition to The Lucky Harbor Series. She does a w

    Another great addition to The Lucky Harbor Series. She does a wonderful job making her characters real. They have faults, they love , they lose, but through it all they go on. Each new character is a joy, and the extra's make the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4