Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You (Chicago Stars Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The was one of the better books I have read. A well written sto

The was one of the better books I have read. A well written story. Captured many emotions.

posted by laura24 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Contains incest and rape

While the rape was not current, it was a strong presence in the book. It made it difficult for me to read the book.

posted by 362908 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The was one of the better books I have read. A well written sto

    The was one of the better books I have read. A well written story. Captured many emotions.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    My Favorite

    I love almost all of SEP's books. This is my favorite, followed closely by Natural Born Charmer. I come back to these books time and time again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    All time favorite

    This series is an excellent blend of humor and romance with captivating character and a great story. From the first book to the last. One of my favorite authors over all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Star struck

    I really love this series! So if looking for a chic-lit book, read this series. In this book, I was disguisted with several actions Dan did...role playing with his ex wife as a 16 year old yesh! I cried with Phoebe as she dealt with her eotions about being raped. To me, having that much feelings towards fictional characters is the result of a captivating, well rounded author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Contains incest and rape

    While the rape was not current, it was a strong presence in the book. It made it difficult for me to read the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    still thinking about it!

    I havent stopped thinking about the people in this book since I finished it 2 weeks ago! I just bought 4 more by her! I loved it and have passed it on!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Best

    The best book. Captured so many emotions in this book, as well as all her others. Susan is a top rate author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Super read

    Best story ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    At Times Funny, But the Characters Never Grew On Me

    This author and novel is on several romance rec lists, so I had tried this one before the last time I looked to see what the genre had to offer and reread it because I'm working through a romance recommendation list. The heroine is supposedly someone smart who only pretends to be a bimbo--but I'm afraid she comes across as the real thing. Oh, and the hero, head coach at the football team she inherits, is another one of those obnoxious "alpha" males. Right after they have sex, since the heroine has a "reputation" he asks her if she has been tested for STDS. Smoooth... The book had some funny moments, was interesting in it's look at pro football, and kept me to the end, but the characters never really grew on me or convinced they had anything going for them beyond mutual lust. Part of the Chicago Stars series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Addicting

    Truly, you start to read and you can't stop. Completely addicting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Francesca and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog T

    Reviewed by Francesca and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog
    This book has been on my TBR for yeeeeeears.  It is only thanks to #RollBackWeek as well as our Pick It For Me Challenge that I actually managed to finally read it.  And now I’m kicking myself in the ass for waiting this long.  This is a great example why the classics always work.  Many authors may try to reinvent the wheel but it’s great to see that these stories, written so many years ago, can still manage to steal my heart.




    This is a classic sports romance where the experienced coach falls for the rich new team owner.  Phoebe is in a lot of ways misunderstood.  Everyone sees her as the crazy daughter for a millionaire owner of the Stars team, who has always lived a life worried about the next party, not worried about morals, and more concerned with her looks and fashion than doing something important with her life.  But that is just what she lets people believe.  There is a lot under the surface with Phoebe, and at the core there is a broken woman who needs love, family and acceptance.




    Dan Calebow is a lot like Phoebe.  He’s had a track record with women where they always come to him to get a rough tumble with a wild guy.  But no one sees him as the type they can settle down with and have kids.  And he’s at a stage in his life where all he wants is to find a quiet and respectable women to have kids with.




    When Phoebe’s father dies and leaves her the team on a temporary arrangement and with conditions she needs to meet, she’s forced to step up and show everyone a different side of herself by making the Stars a successful team that season.  And in the process, she quickly falls for the hot coach.




    You know those sweet, feel good stories?  IT HAD TO BE YOU is one of those.  There’s not a lot of crazy antics, it’s just  straight forward good story about two great characters.  And a great group of side characters!  There’s a sense of friendship as always with sports teams, and then there’s also the family unity following along with Phoebe’s sister.




    I will be reading the rest of this series for sure, and it won’t take me this long to do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    Rose

    Awesome! You are a great author. But please, "quotation marks."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Mistkit

    Think you read my series so far! Want to be in youar series! Please? My description is that l have red and black pelt melding together in the middle, 4 moons old. And was killed by a: got you! You thought l was going to tell you how mistkit died!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Pattenfur's Faith Chapter 3

    Pattenpaw wwoke up with a new face in front of her. Who are you? She asked. I'm Yellow_____ (sorry blanked out)! Dawnmoon is waiting for you. She murmured. Hello Pattenpaw! Cheered Dawnmoon. Stonefeather is helping me train you today! Hello Pattenpaw, Blueflower told me so much about you. He said in greeting. So, today we have something important, how to send a dream to a med cat or leader or a propcecied cat. Dawnmoon and Stonefeather went on and taught her how and why. After training she went to meet some new cats. She saw a cat her age in the clearing. Hi! She shouted to the apprentice. I'm Flowerpaw, nice to meet you. The aprentice meowed. Did you die or were you born here? Pattenpaw asked. Born, my mother is Brindleface from ThunderClan. Mewed Flowerpaw. Want to hunt? Flowerpaw asked Pattenpaw. Sure, bringing any cat else? Pattenpaw asked. My friend Eaglepaw will come. Meoed Flowerpaw. Wait here. Flowerpaw came back with Eaglepaw a minute later. Where are we hunting. Starrocks, best pace to hunt here! Mewed Flowerpaw happily. The three apprentice's went to Starrocks to hunt. Pattenpaw fished while the ohers hunted. What clan were you from? Asked Eaglepaw. LakeClan. She murmured with a mouthful of minnows. Flowerpaw came out of the tree with a few mice and a plump vole. What some? Asked Flowerpaw. No thanks, I'm sticking to fish. Meowed Pattenpaw. Pattenpaw, Flowerpaw and Eaglepaw padded back to StarClan camp dropping their fresh-kill/fish in the pile. After a long day of training and fishing, Pattenpaw fell asleep aside her friendds Flowerpaw and Eaglepaw. Thanks for reading! If you suggested a charcter don't worry I'll them a better purpose soon!! ~Star &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Great incredible read

    Loved this anchor for the Chicago Stars series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Robin to star &star

    Stonefeather is a former AmberClan warrior who died in a battle between AmberClan and OddClan. He is a dark gray tom with light gray paws and amber eyes. He solved an AmberClan murder of Foxtail. He was made famous for solving it. He also was the warrior who found his two daughters when they went missing for nine moons with no trace.<p> hope you accept this application. <p> robin &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Love, love

    I hadn't read this book in a few years, so I revisited it. I loved it just as much this time as before, and still could not put it down!!! When I had read it before, I quickly ordered every other book she has written. Susan Elizabeth Phillips still stands as one of my very favorite authors (and I read a lot of books). She is honestly the very first author that has made me laugh out loud! This story is especially near and dear to me because I too played the bimbo in high school because I found I had gotten no where by being known as the nerd. Phoebe was certainly a star! You will simply adore being enraptured in Phoebe and Dan's love story, each time you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Why must you use the "N" word

    I started to enjoy the book and the "N" word appeared. It did not add anything to the story, it was just insensitive and insulting to "good" writers.
    A former fan...
    P.S. A refund isnt necessary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips as an author. Her books always d

    I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips as an author. Her books always draw me in completely because the characters are so rich. Phoebe &amp; Dan are no exception. I liked the minor characters &amp; how they interacted with the dynamic duo. The book had me laughing at parts, making me want to cry in others. In other words, a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11