Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You (Chicago Stars Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The was one of the better books I have read. A well written sto

The was one of the better books I have read. A well written story. Captured many emotions.

posted by laura24 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Contains incest and rape

While the rape was not current, it was a strong presence in the book. It made it difficult for me to read the book.

posted by 362908 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Worth reading!!!!

    I have read all her books more than once when it came out in paperbacks and now tha I have a nook the Chicago series is a must have ! Susan's writing is amazing and the characters are wonderful and well played through out the book. If you are looking for a favorite writer you'll be hooked on Susan Elizabeth Phillips . She is the best and all the other books in this series are wonderful . A must have for your library .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I liked it!

    I thought it was a good read - it is what it is - a chick-book. My sister loved it and highly recommended it to me.

    I do want to say that keep in mind, this book was written in 1994 (which also explains some of the outfits our heroine is wearing, let alone the Walkman reference, which totally cracked me up!). I say this cuz someone mentioned that they were turned off by the whole STDs thing, tho they were talking specifically about Hiv. While I understand the point being made, back then, that was a huge issue, and I applaud the writer for addressing it in her book - kinda keeping it real - as opposed to "sex with no consequences" kind of thing.

    So yeah, I'll go read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Not bad

    The characters were both annoying and I don't think they were compatible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Loveeeed it!

    I came across this book when I goodled a list of best romantic novels. Since then I have read almost all the books by this author including the entire Chicago Stars series (finished the whole series in less than 1 month-and I'm not a big reader!) I must say this is still my favorite book!! The story is great! The characters are great! The hot sizzling parts are great! Just love this book all around!! It takes a little while to start off, but when it does you just won't be able to put it down! If you are reading this, read no further and just buy this book!! Then go on to the rest of the Chicago Star series!! Just beware.. it's completely addicting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Good Exciting Romance!

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I started it on a Friday night and finished it Saturday afternoon! Definately a page turner and you won't want to put it down. Characters are exciting and will grab your attention. Some graphic sex scenes that will have you...well...let's just say you'd better have a cool drink near by. One scene of incest and rape is portrayed in the story so if you don't like to read about those types of things, this book isnt for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was funny and sexy. I laughed so had that I had tears running down my face. I have recommended and will re-read. I liked all the different charters. I want to get the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    A great read

    This is my first SEP book and it was really quite amazing. I started reading this with an open mind and through the first few chapters I was qustioning if I had the right book. But once it got into it a bit more the story line totally opened up and I just got sucked into it!! It was funny, sad, tension filled and emotional all at the same time. I really really enjoyed it and think I will continue to read SEP books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    I was hooked!!

    This was the first SEP book I read and I loved it. I had never read a romantic comedy and after reading this, i have read almost all of her books. This is one of her best. The only thing i didn't like too much was the football scene at the end of the book. It felt like i was reading a movie script. But great read. You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Loved this book!

    I couldn't put this book down. I spent every spare minute I had reading it! I really loved the main character and her little sister. Plus, I love football, so I really couldn't get enough of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    A good character study read

    This is a good window into emotional pain wrought by families' interactions however inaccurate the assessments may be (characterized by the main character) I would have liked to have seen some more insight developed by the lead however the theme of how a child can touch our lives was heartwarming and poignant.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Bantering between characters makes this a hit!

    This book is a back and forth banter-- following all of Phillips books. It is a quick, easy, go to the beach read. The playfulness between the characters keeps it fun. For those that need the romance, there is also, like always, a "steamy" scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    excellent

    heart warming, funny, and very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Excellent, funny!

    I am starting to love all her, Susan E. Phillips, books because they are funny also showing strong willed people pited against one another. She also writes with some true life sad parts of a persons life in her books. The books I have read of her are excellent. Eddie R.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Buy every book she's written, their all great

    I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed SEP's books. This one is one of the best, but it would hard to choose Best when all are so good. SEP can hit every emotional button you have and make you want to run right out and buy the next one! Can't say enough about the quality of her writing. I really can't choose one of her books, so read them all! I wouldn't part with one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Great!

    I absolutely loved this book. Read in two days with school! 'Nobody's Baby, But Mine' was my first SEP book. After that I wanted to read more from her. 'It Had to Be You' is the first in this football series. However, you don't have to read them all or in order. They can stand alone according to the three I've read. I think I've found a love for comtemporary romance and sports. Great combination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    AWESOME

    I loved this book! I have read 3 books and in the middle of one of the books Ms. Phillps has written and there all wonderfull! But this one is my favorite so far. If anyone gives lower than a five on this book they have major problems! I have noticed in the books she writes she has more than one conflict going on in the story. She is truly my favorite author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    What A Great Book!!!

    I'm surprised more people haven't commented on this book. It was so good. Looking forward to reading more of Susan Elizabeth Phillips books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    Funny, Romantic and Enjoyable

    Phoebe Sommerville's father has died and she has to come back to Chicago for his funeral and the reading of his will. Phoebe knows that her father probably left her younger sister Molly a trust fund that will take care of her needs. He probably also left his precious Chicago Stars football team to her cousin Reed Chandler, who Phoebe hates with a passion. Phoebe gets the shock of her life, when she finds out that her father left the Stars to her temporarily. She has to get the Stars to win a Championship title in order to keep it. If they don't win she will get one hundred thousand dollars and the team goes to her cousin Reed. Phoebe knew her father could be a trip and even in death he gets her goat. But, she figures she can make the best of it. Then she meets the Stars coach Dan Calebow. Dan doesn't think Phoebe is up to the job, in fact she is just a beautiful woman who knows nothing about football. How in the world will she be able to handle a team. Phoebe had a reputation as a vixen. As Dan gets to know Phoebe better, he finds her be a very lovely, sometimes frightened young woman. He finds himself attracted to her, not wanting to be. He eventually faces the facts that she is in his blood and their is no denying the attraction between them. Phoebe decides to keep her sister with her in order for them to get to know each other. Her sister Molly was always away at school. Molly didn't like Phoebe. She felt that Phoebe was the reason she felt her father didn't love her. Phoebe was determine to develop a relationship with her. This book has alot of relationship mending going on. Some secrets are revealed. I didn't care for the cousin Reed! This is an excellent story done by Ms. Phillips. I love her work. This book is book one in the Chicago Stars football series then theres HEAVEN TEXAS, NOBODY'S BABY BUT MINE, DREAM A LITTLE DREAM & THIS HEART OF MINE! Make sure you pick up these books, you won't miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10