Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You (Christiansen Family Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Loved It

    The only bad thing was that some pages were missing and i couldnt turn the pages sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    This series just keeps getting better and it was quite spectacul

    This series just keeps getting better and it was quite spectacular to begin with. Be still my heart. Hockey players. Yes, this author goes there and you’ll not be able to put this book down. It Had to be You, is the 2nd book in the Christiansen Family Series and the stars of this story are Eden Christiansen and Jace Jacobsen. Eden lives in Minneapolis and helps manage and care for her 20 year old “baby” brother, Owen, who is a rising star among the NHL. She is also an aspiring writer/reporter who feels stuck in the obit department at the Star Tribune. Eden is her family’s greatest cheerleader. She loves and supports her parents and siblings but seems to fall short in her own eyes. Jace is the NHL veteran of the team with a raucous bad boy reputation due to being the team’s Enforcer. 

    Oh, I would be so amiss to leave out Jace’s best friend, Sam, a retired NHL player, widower, and daddy to adorable 9 year old Maddie. Maddie is a heart transplant recipient and Sam is giving his all to keep her healthy. He has literally given everything he has in order to pay the bills incurred over years of medical treatment. Throw in a strong mix of the remaining Christiansen clan, and you have the makings of an amazing story! I feel as though I’ve hit the literary gold mine with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Well written, captivating style. I will be looking up more of S

    Well written, captivating style. I will be looking up more of Susan Warren's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    The Christiansen Family series is one of my absolute favorites r

    The Christiansen Family series is one of my absolute favorites right now. I am always super excited when a new one comes out and usually cannot put it down until I have read the whole thing. Of course it helps that I am from Minnesota where these books, for the most part, take place. Currently there are three books in this series and this one is by far my favorite. Each book focuses on one of the Christiansen siblings while also keeping track of things going on in the lives of each family member. This book focuses on Eden who is the oldest sister in the family. She is one of my all time favorite characters from a book. There was just something about Eden that I could really relate to and I found myself not just wanting to read the book to know what happens in the story but also to get to know Eden more. The story begins with Eden acting as a second mother to her youngest brother who is a professional hockey player. The two of them live hours away from the rest of the family and this causes Eden to feel it is her responsibility to keep her younger brother in line and basically take care of everything for him. As an older sister to a younger brother I was able to completely relate to Eden in this perspective. The story of course does not stop there, it follows Eden as she attempts to care for her brother but of course cannot 100% of the time and also have her own life. Eden struggles with career issues, with finding a relationship, and with the meaning of family loyalty. And then there is Jace who is looking for more in life than just his Hockey career. This story follows the relationship that begins to build between Jace and Eden as well as Jace's career as it goes through ups and downs and he seeks his ultimate purpose in life. When it comes to Jace's character and the story of his life it is not completely unexpected how it turns out especially as it relates to the career of a professional athlete. However, it is still well written and has unique aspects to it that keep it from being like every other story about professional athletes who are nearing the end of their careers and afraid of finding something to do after.
    Overall this series of books are exceptionally well written and if you like reading about realistic characters with a little bit of romance mixed in than this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    What does an athlete do when he can no longer find his identity


    What does an athlete do when he can no longer find his identity and purpose in a game? This book examines this question as one hockey player considers retirement and another faces career-ending injury. Do hockey fans really expect blood on the ice after a game? Does the game of hockey create the violence in the players—or is it something within themselves that seeks hockey as an outlet for recklessness and glory-seeking? Even though I admit I have never seen more than a few minutes of a televised hockey game, I couldn’t help but be caught up with the emotional turmoil of Jace and Owen.
    As a counterpoint to the hockey angle of the story is the suffering of Sam as his nine-year-old daughter begins to reject her transplanted heart. Also, we follow Eden as she deals with her sense of failure and inadequacy in the midst of what she sees as amazing accomplishments of her family’s members and her need to find her own path in life, other than just being Owen’s big sister and caretaker. This is definitely a book to wring every emotion from the reader as these characters we come to know and care about flounder around trying to find secure footing and meaning for themselves as individual children of God.
    The Christiansen family is the type of family we all long to be a part of—loving and supportive-and the reader enjoys the time spent in their presence. It is the story of the John Doe, however, and what happens at his funeral that tie up all the individual strands of the various storylines into one very satisfying and heart-warming ending. Good story about the little bit of hero in all of us.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Very few authors have the ability to completely engage their rea

    Very few authors have the ability to completely engage their readers like Susan May Warren does in the book "It Has to Be You." In the second book of the Christiansen Family series, readers follow the story of Eden Christiansen, who had become the head cheerleader and sometimes conscience of her younger brother Owen. In the midst of being caught up in Owen's rise in professional hockey, Eden embarks on a journey of faith, love, and perseverance throughout this phenomenal book!
    Susan May Warren once again creates wonderful and relatable characters which only caused me to become even more caught up in the story. "It Had to Be You" is definitely on the top of my favorite Christian fiction book list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Eden Christiansen hates her job (writing obits when she wants to

    Eden Christiansen hates her job (writing obits when she wants to be a reporter), hates playing mother to her younger brother (who now that he is an NFL player calls her to rescue him and do his dirty, stinky laundry), and hates her love life (she seems to only get asked out by rabid hockey fans who just want to get close to her brother or go to games with her tickets). Everything changes when she yells at the hockey team captain and to keep from getting thrown out of the hospital they go into an “empty” room. But it is not empty. Can they figure out the mystery of the man in the room? Can Eden figure out who God has made her to be? Is Jace who he appears to be? Wonderful story showcasing that God has made everyone unique and that although some may appear to be invisible, God sees and loves his children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    Great book! I enjoyed book #2 in the Christiansen family series

    Great book!

    I enjoyed book #2 in the Christiansen family series.  Eden has always been her brother Owen's  cheerleader/protector/caregiver following him up through the ranks in hockey.  He reaches the top but Eden feels stuck writing obits instead of leading her dream job as a reporter.  Owen keeps landing himself in trouble and Eden expects team veteran Jase to look out for Owen.  When a horrific accident lands Owen in the hospital Eden needs a few moments to herself and stumbles down the hall into a coma patients room. Jase follows her and the end result is the two work together to locate the patient's family.  Eden learns that she shouldn't judge a person before she gets to know the real person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    After enjoying the first book in this series, I looked forward t

    After enjoying the first book in this series, I looked forward to reading It Had to Be You. I was not disappointed. In fact, I liked it even better than the first book! Eden feels stuck in her job writing obituaries and longs to be a “real” reporter. And then there’s her other full-time job – keeping her hockey star brother Owen cared for and out of trouble. She is worried that he will follow the same path she has seen some of his teammates take, so of course she would have not interest in the man she blames for not keeping him in line, bad-boy hockey enforcer Jace. Right?  
    I have absolutely no interest in hockey, but I enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed, and the relationship between them did not feel forced or abrupt. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes clean Christian romance, even if they aren’t hockey fans. Definitely a book that I will read again! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    I enjoyed this book. It was about learning to let go and trust G

    I enjoyed this book. It was about learning to let go and trust God, and also not to judge people before you get to know them. I also enjoyed the short story about Ingrid and John.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    It Had To Be You is an exciting book about hockey players, a sic

    It Had To Be You is an exciting book about hockey players, a sick child needing a heart transplant, and an obit writer. One interesting point she makes in the book is the way fans seem to want the players to injure each others by the rough way they hit them on the ice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wonderful story about Eden Christiansen, obituary writ

    This is a wonderful story about Eden Christiansen, obituary writer who really wants to be a reporter and sister to up-and-coming hockey player, Owen. She tries to take care of him, yet worries that she'll fail. She also feels like life is passing her by. She clashes with Jace Jacobsen, the team captain who she worries her brother is trying to emulate, on and off the rink. Not only does he get into fights on the court, but has a reputation with the ladies. As she gets to know him, however, she realizes she may have judged him too quickly. Jace feels like the only thing going for him is hockey. After too many concussions, he faces serious repercussions if he gets hurt again, but he doesn't know what else he could do. When Owen is hurt, will they work together to help him? Will Eden open his eyes to new possibilities?

    I absolutely love this book! It's well-written and I did not want to put it down! I love the Christiansen family and that we get to know each of the siblings in this series. Each book works as a stand-alone, but you won't want to miss either of them. I really like the sub-plot about Jace's friend, Sam and his daughter, Maddy, as she has serious health problems and he struggles to understand how God can allow her suffering. There's also a great bonus of a novella included in the back that tells the story of the Christiansen parents! The characters are wonderful and they just leap off the page. I like that they're not perfect; they struggle with their faith and figuring out what they want out of life. I love the romance! Can he really trust a "reporter" and can she trust a famous hockey player known for his way with the ladies? You'll have to read this to find out and I highly recommend you do!

    I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    This is my second visit with the Christiansen family and I enjoy

    This is my second visit with the Christiansen family and I enjoyed it every bit as much as the first. Warren has a gift for imagining the ways a large family might fit together and crafting characters that share the same love and moral upbringing, but have unique thoughts, experiences, and characteristics. In this book, Eden is the self-assigned cheerleader of the others in her family. Her brother, Owen, is in the spotlight and Eden acts more like his unpaid personal assistant.

    This book was not as predictable as these kinds of books usually are. There are several different story lines woven together, and I wasn't quite sure what was going to happen with each of them. I liked the way Warren tackled a lot of different medical situations with tact, clarity, and education.

    If you are looking for a wonderful book to read while enjoying the beach or pool this summer, this is a great choice! Another nice thing in this series is that if you haven't read the previous book, it will not affect your enjoyment of this book. Each book stands alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Great Writing Style; I enjoy this author's descriptions of scene

    Great Writing Style; I enjoy this author's descriptions of scenes and people. She understands the many feelings brought to the surface in a hospital; and she makes the characters come alive. I was rooting for certain characters to resolve their misunderstandings. The subplot was very touching. There were sad events, but it wasn't a sad story. It was more of a romance, with life lessons. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    It Had To Be You is a great read. Susan May Warren is the best w

    It Had To Be You is a great read. Susan May Warren is the best when it comes to a good, tear jerking, and romance. I can't wait to read book 3 of the series when it releases.
    Great addition to the Christiansen Family series.
    Highly recommended.
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Wow! What a great follow up to the first book of the Christianse

    Wow! What a great follow up to the first book of the Christiansen Family series-- Take a Chance on Me!  




    It Had To Be You is the story of Eden Christiansen, the one Christiansen who feels she has no talent or purpose in life.  She's everyone's cheerleader and for the last many, many years, she has been her brother Owen's cheerleader, laundress, maid and whatever else he needed.  Unfortunately, this has caused her to sit on the sidelines in her own life.  Eden finds herself frustrated .... with her job, with her lack of committed boyfriends and friends and with life in general.  




    I believe that most everyone can relate to one character in this book or the other.  Maybe you are the shadow... on the sidelines of life and cheering everyone else on or maybe you have a reputation that you don't want and maybe don't even deserve.  God is bigger than both of these situations and so much more... He has a plan for your life.  




    This book is a great read. Not only does it have a beautiful love story (that most girls want), but it also has an uplifting and encouraging message.  I would definitely recommend this book to a friend (or stranger!).  While you don't have have read the first book in the series, I would suggest that you do.  Once you read one, you'll want to read them all.  Included in this book is a free novella, the love story that started-- I Really Do Miss Your Smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I did not realize this was the 2nd in the series but it is an ex

    I did not realize this was the 2nd in the series but it is an excellent book. Eden has been the cheerleader for her brother Owen during his hockey career, always on the sidelines. She is attracted to Jace, a teammate of Owen's yet feels insecure thinking the attraction on his part is due to her closeness to Owen. The story also embraces a friend of Jace's who is dealing with the rapidly declining health of his daughter. How they all work out their issues, learning to trust again in God and his path for them, is extremely well told and this book is hard to put down. I don't like to tell too much about any book as I feel it spoils it for future readers. I definitely recommend this book, you won't regret reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    The second book in the Christiansen Family series by Susan May W

    The second book in the Christiansen Family series by Susan May Warren, and I think I liked it even better than the first. Eden is one of my favorites from the Christiansen clan. She is everyone's cheerleader, truly believing in their strengths, yet fails to see her own true value. She is struggling to find her place in the world and perceives that everyone else has something special but her. Her younger brother Owen has just earned a contract to play professional hockey and he is edging off the straight and narrow, not seeing how the choices he makes in the moment can have long term consequences.


    Owen's teammate, team captain Jace Jacobsen, has a "reputation" - although we very quickly see his real heart. He appears to have everything he could ever want but carries around a huge amount of guilt and loss. He feels things deeply and even after a short period of time realizes Eden just might be the person he could spend his life with.


    I love the way the author wove several storylines together seamlessly, not taking the expected way to tie things together but showing how broken things can be made beautiful when you allow God to fulfill His purposes in your life. I wholeheartedly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Excellent book! I really enjoyed this second book in the Christ

    Excellent book!

    I really enjoyed this second book in the Christiansen Family series. Eden made a good main character and it was easy to relate to her, while Jace Jacobsen was the ultimate good guy you could cheer for to win the girl. I might have been disappointed that they didn’t spend long in my favourite small-town setting of Deep Haven, but the entire book was great for setting, plot and characters – that made up for it. Besides, I can always go back to the original Deep Haven books for more, and that’s an advantage of having multiple series with characters from the same town. :)

    I’m very glad I had the opportunity to read this book and I’ll be waiting impatiently for the next one in the series. Warren’s writing makes for great pleasure reading, and I love how she includes issues of faith in her stories as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    OUTSTANDING !!!

    I think this is the best Christian growth book for myself that I've read in forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2