Customer Reviews for

It Had to Be You... : The Great American Songbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A trip down memory lane

    I was never much of a Rod Stewart fan, even though I was a teen during his heyday in the 70's. However, when I saw his choice of songs for this series of CD's, I had to buy one. I was amazed. He stayed faithful to the originals, but gave them a personal touch through his raspy voice. I was more surprised by how well his voice blended with others on the duets. I have all four CDs and highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys the "old standards."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!

    When I heard the songs on this CD, I finally became a fan. Rod captures the essence of each song; he croons and my ole heart flutters. Darn good looking in the tux on the video (a must see).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IT HAD TO BE YOU--IS SO WONDERFUL!!

    You will throughly enjoy every minute of every song on this album!!--It will put you in such a great state-of-mind from beginning to end--and I was not a "big" Rod Stewart fan--but I am now!! Thanks Rod for the great job!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Rod Stewart

    Rod Stewart's "It Had to Be You..." CD completes my set of his The Great American Songbook series. I'm surely a fan of of his. The songbook series brings back memories of the music my folks listened to. "It Had to Be You..." is easy listening and dancing for those who like to be close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It Had To Be yoy Rod Steward

    Great cd..old standards

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The man can't sing

    I love Rod Stewart. When he sang rock and roll songs, it didn't matter that he didn't have a good voice. This stuff is a different matter. He should stick with his old stuff. At least it was enjoyable. For starter, if you want to listen to these old songs, check out Louie Armstrong and Frank Sinatra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Rod Stewart's Best

    I have been a fan of Rod Stewart for many years, and this cd along with The great American Songbook Vol. 2 are two of his best.I have been a fan since Faces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The very best

    As a fan of Rod Stewart's from his "Maggie May" days as well as a fan of the type of song which is called a standard, I had to have this CD. My hopes were fulfilled. Stewart stays faithful to the feeling of these songs and doesn't follow the temptation to "update" them with today's rhythms and styles. A thoroughly enjoyable musical treat which I would recommend to anyone. I am already standing in line waiting for the next issue, "As Time Goes By" which I am sure will be just as wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rod passes the test of time

    Rod, Thank you. This is an album that everyone should own. It has been a hit in our home with everyone from my 19 year old son to my 70 year old mother. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great feeling and passion

    Rod Stewart is a natural in singing these classics. Very Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!

    If it's good enough for Rod the Mod to sing, record and put out on CD, it's good enough for me. The place I work plays Muzak. I first heard some tracks at work, saying to myself "Self? (that's what I call myself) Who is that singing? could that be Rod Stewart?" It was, it is and what a great addition to any American's music collection. Maybe there ought to be a Grammy catagory: Best American Music Recording By A Non-American. Rod would win. Hands down. Put on a kilt. Rod is The Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aabsolutely Brilliant!!!

    This cd positively has become one of my all-time favorites. I wondered about Rod Stewart singing these songs but I think he sounds great. His raspy, intimate voice seems made for the songs he chose for this work. His orchestra is one of the best I ever heard. My favorite tract is "These Foolish Things". Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ROD CAN'T ONLY ROCK; HE'S A GREAT CROONER!!

    If you grew up with Sinatra, Dean Martin, and all of the other great 40's and 50's crooners playing on your parents' stereo like myself---RUSH OUT AND BUY THIS CD!! If not, MAYBE IT'S TIME TO INTRODUCE YOURSELF TO WHAT WAS HERE BEFORE ROCK!! Rod is SENSATIONAL in this format and I hope that this CD's success will lead him down this road many, many more times!! GREAT STROLL INTO A LONG-AGO TIME OF UNCOMPLICATED LOVESONGS--SUNG WITH A VOICE MADE TO REINTERPERET THE PRICELESS STANDARD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Love It!!!

    Never liked Stewart before hearing this album, but I found his phrasing and the instrumentation to be so lovely and simple that I totally fell in love with it. Over and over....he just gets better. Now I want to go back over the old ones and listen more carefully. Congratulations and thank you, Rod. Keep working !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rod missed his calling!

    Rod, you should have been a crooner! Who would have thought! I literally called my friends and told them to run..not walk..to the nearest music store and buy this wonder ful CD. Terrific compilation of old standards with refreshing liquid orchestration, none of the heavy brass of the 40's, and Mr. Stewart's vocals lend a soft, intimate, interpretation. I wish I had a way to ask for an encore CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST CHRISTMAS GIFT

    By total chance I both bought this CD for my in-laws and was given it by my sister as a gift. None of us have stopped listening to it since the morning. Rod Stewart's voice is totally appropriate for this repertoire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still great after all of these years

    Who cares how many times these wonderful old ballads have been done before and by whom? If you are a die hard romantic, you want them all and this is a must have to add to the collection. Despite a little gravel these days, he did a fantastic job with this. His timing with the tempo is perfect. I am a Senior and even my kids love it, so it is definitely cross generational. Give us more Rod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply wonderful!

    OK, so Rod's not so young anymore and not as hip as he used to be either. Who cares? I couldn't possibly! This album SENDS ME, and that's all that matters to me. It did take a couple of listens to actually hook me, but totally hooked I am! It¿s so wonderful being transported to younger years with a fellow "old" rocker. His voice sounds great! Bravo and thank you Rod, ¿It Had To Be You¿ is a gem. Very classy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too, Too, Too Slow

    I was disappointed for my first time with this Great American Songbook. Tough for me to get used to, I hope Rod will pick up the pace for the next one, once more. I will be waiting. Forever Yours, Dinky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shades of Sinatra

    "It Had To Be You" is a reflection of the songs that Frank Sinatra recorded in his own imimitable way. Though Rod is not Sinatra, he doesn't need to be with his superb, mellow, sentimental renditions of the songs on this album sung in his own inimitable voice. The musical background and arrangement is not degrading to the original style of the artists of the past decade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2