Customer Reviews for

It Happened One Autumn (Wallflower Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful Victorian tale

    In 1843, American heiress Lillian Bowman, a card carrying member of the Wallflowers, sets her sights on marrying the ¿Ice Prince¿ Marcus. He rejects her advances as he sees her and her three Wallflower compatriots as uncouth barbarians, who think nothing about parading in front of him in their undergarments though he admits only to himself the colonist looked quite alluring.............. With his aloof put downs, Lillian concludes that her beloved is a snob who needs to be yanked down a peg or two and she, the Yank, will do so. Marcus, in turn thinks her insolence is a case of poor breeding. With all that going on it is no wonder that Lillian and Marcus are falling in love with one another, but first must put aside the boxing gloves for a moment an act neither wants to do first for fear of a low blow retaliation................ As she did with the first Wallflowers¿ historical romance (see SECRETS OF A SUMMER NIGHT), Lisa Kleypas provides her audience with a delightful Victorian tale starring two individuals in this case who detest one another at first sight. The theme is opposites might attract, but also expel as neither wants to desire the other in a classic case of reaction formation because deep inside their hearts they know they have met their soulmate, who is not the image of what they thought they wanted. The lead couple keeps the fun story line brisk as enemy combatants in love.......... Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing, realistic love story

    I absolutely loved seeing this other side of Marcus, Lord Westcliff, especially since he seemed really stuffy in Secrets of a Summer Night until the end of the story. What I liked most is just how astonished Marcus felt about his whole relationship with Lillian. She's the worst match for him possible - American, loud, and troublesome, yet he falls completely in love with her. He becomes utterly confused as to why he loves her and despite that, keeps finding himself in situations that end up working out quite well for him. I love how the story shows that once you fall in love, you can't fight it. Highly recommended for any romance novel fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Funny and Romantic

    I loved this book. I was hooked after the very first page. This book was great. It had just the right amount of romance. I wasn't expecting how funny Lillian was. There were parts that I couldn't help but laugh out loud. I was totally entertained. I couldn't put this book down. I must have read it in 2 days. A must read! You will not regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Steamy & Funny Romance!

    If you are looking for a steamy, funny, and in-depth romance novel, then this is the one for you! It does lag a little at the beginning, but soon picks up, and does not slow down. The dialogue was funny, especially Lillian's colorful language. This is a perfect book for rainy days because you will not be able to put it down, or get much done. Truly enjoyed it. Since I am reading the series, I cannot say this is my favorite of the four, but so far I prefer it to the first one - Secrets of a Summer Night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Book I've been waiting FOREVER for!

    Yeah, I've been waiting for this book for a year and a half. Great book. Marcus was a perfect alpha hero. He has this macho air about himself, yet he knows when he's been bitten by the 'Love Bug'. He's really mature and that's what I like about Lisa Kleypas' novels. Lillian is an American - hardheaded, outspoken, and unpolished. But she completely relieves this burden of Marcus and makes him act younger. It's wonderful to read a love story like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    MUST-READ SERIES

    If you are going to read this series about four women who want to find love and marriage in England, it is best to start with the first book. Unfortunately, I started with No.3 and I had to reread it to catch up with no. 1 and 2. Lisa Kleypas does well with descriptions of the early 1800's when the British aristocracy was losing their properties due to debts, the railroads were being built, young men in business and merchant enterprises were being sought after as husbands and women were being given more rights.
    The dialogue is very witty between the young men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Loved it

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Ranks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Donna

    Just love the Wallflower books!!!! Love everything that Lisa Kleypas writes.....she has become one of my favorite authors!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Funny, exciting, daring, and romantic.....4 words that describe

    Funny, exciting, daring, and romantic.....4 words that describe this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I have never laughed so hard while reading in my life!!!! At lea

    I have never laughed so hard while reading in my life!!!! At least at a book that was not a comedy per se. This is by far the most delightful book I have read in a long long time. I do highly recommend that you read the whole series (startng with 'Again the Magic') and then work your way through the 'seasons.' Lillian is a dear in this episode and the sparring between her and Marcus and the dry wit expressed by many of the characters is exceptional!!! I sure hope Ms. Kleypas has many more stories to bring forth for her readers because I for one can be counted as a faithful follower!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Love this whole series

    Enjoyable series of 5 books. I don't like really long series; it's too easy to get behind or miss one. This one is just right Easy, flowing prose and characters to empathize with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Favorite!

    Hands down favorite female character! I love Marcus and Lillian's dynamic they are so perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    The Wallflowers are my Favorite!

    The entire Wallflower Series is incredible including the Christmas book. You do really have to read them in order to understand the relationships and events. Especially the 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Loved it!

    I love all of Kleypas's works, but this was the first series I read of hers and I fell in love with it. this is my favorite book of this series. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great series

    I discovered Lisa when I read Sugar Daddy. I still want her to write a story about the last Travis brother. And I'm anxiously waiting for Leo's story in the Hathaway series. While waiting, I ordered all of the books in the Wallflower series -- and have enjoyed learning more about characters that I have already 'met'. I really like Lisa's writing style. Her character development is second to none!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    An entertaining read

    It Happened One Autumn is not the first Lisa Kleypas book I've read, but it's the first one that made me want to rush out and find more by this author. The main characters, Marcus and Lillian, are more compelling than your average romance novel hero and heroine. Lillian especially has a depth of character that makes her highly relatable. The plot is a bit shallow, but the interactoin between the entire cast, the fast-paced dialogue, and the background and side stories make up for it. By the end of the book, I was looking for the rest of the Wallflower stories. Although this isn't the first book in the series, it's the first one I read. I liked it that I didn't feel like I'd missed half the plot as sometimes happens when I pick up a series in the middle. I'd definitely recommend this book (and the rest of the series) for a pleasant afternoon of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    great book

    I love this book, I liked it better than the first book in the series. The first book was good but I liked this one more. I am now reading the third book in the series, devil in winter. So far I like devil in winter the best, although I love the whole series. Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14