Customer Reviews for

It Happened to Nancy

Average Rating 4.5
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Poor girl.

In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read ...
In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read this book, it really opened my eyes about date rape and that you cant really trust someone you think you could. It opened my eyes about how serious it could turn out to be. The problem with Nancy was that she thought she was in love at an early age and with an older guy which she¿d have had to be careful with to begin with. She put all her trust in him not knowing his true intentions. I recommend this book for teenage girls, I guess we can call it a reality check. Once I started reading it I couldn¿t put it down. I honestly loved this book and really felt like I was one of Nancy¿s best friends or that she was just able to dump and let everything out to me.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not The Best Read / F-

This is just totally NOT what happens when you have AIDS. keep in mind - I know what I'm talking about and I know the disease affects each person differently, but alot of things are still the same. 1. There's NO WAY she would've ever found out she had AIDS without th...
This is just totally NOT what happens when you have AIDS. keep in mind - I know what I'm talking about and I know the disease affects each person differently, but alot of things are still the same. 1. There's NO WAY she would've ever found out she had AIDS without the doctor asking for permission to test her first. It is ILLEGAL to test people for the AIDS virus without their knowledge & consent. 2. She would've gotten that sick from AIDS that fast. The book has her with a cause of pnuemonia about a month after she was infected - NOT REALISTIC. 3. She wouldn't just die like that. When you have AIDS, you don't just go to sleep one night and never wake up. 4. She wouldn't have been granted permission from her doctor to travel to her fathers' home in ARIZONA given her health status at the time. Even if she was, she more than likely would've had to have her own plane, to reduce the risk of contracting other passengers germs and/or illnesses. There are alot more things too, if you care to know, e-mail me. I will write back ASAP. I think this book is a terrible rep. for teens struggling to live with HIV/AIDS.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Poor girl.

    In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read this book, it really opened my eyes about date rape and that you cant really trust someone you think you could. It opened my eyes about how serious it could turn out to be. The problem with Nancy was that she thought she was in love at an early age and with an older guy which she¿d have had to be careful with to begin with. She put all her trust in him not knowing his true intentions. I recommend this book for teenage girls, I guess we can call it a reality check. Once I started reading it I couldn¿t put it down. I honestly loved this book and really felt like I was one of Nancy¿s best friends or that she was just able to dump and let everything out to me.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    awesome book

    this book is seriously one of the best books i've ever read. my aunt gave it to me when i turned 15 years old. at first i thought it was going to be just another dumb book that i wasn't going to like. but it turned out to be my favorite book. i've read it 3 times already. and every time i read it it makes me cry. i love this book!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    this book is really touching. it made me aware of all the things that i didn't think could happen to me but really can. i feel like i knew nancy, like i was a close friend and she was talking to me. i love nancy and the ending made me cry my heart out. i will truly never forget nancy. she will always be in my heart. <3

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Not The Best Read / F-

    This is just totally NOT what happens when you have AIDS. keep in mind - I know what I'm talking about and I know the disease affects each person differently, but alot of things are still the same. 1. There's NO WAY she would've ever found out she had AIDS without the doctor asking for permission to test her first. It is ILLEGAL to test people for the AIDS virus without their knowledge & consent. 2. She would've gotten that sick from AIDS that fast. The book has her with a cause of pnuemonia about a month after she was infected - NOT REALISTIC. 3. She wouldn't just die like that. When you have AIDS, you don't just go to sleep one night and never wake up. 4. She wouldn't have been granted permission from her doctor to travel to her fathers' home in ARIZONA given her health status at the time. Even if she was, she more than likely would've had to have her own plane, to reduce the risk of contracting other passengers germs and/or illnesses. There are alot more things too, if you care to know, e-mail me. I will write back ASAP. I think this book is a terrible rep. for teens struggling to live with HIV/AIDS.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Really makes you think....

    I read this book a few summers ago after I bought it and another Dr. B book at a bookstore when I was visiting my cousin. I couldn't put the book down. When I finally finished reading it at 2am one summer night, I was crying. This story really makes you think about the choices you make in life, and what the consequences of those choices could be. I recommend this book for any and all teenagers. It's definitely one you'll want to read and reread over again a million times. I've read it almost 10 times since I bought it, and it never fails to amaze me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    This book was really good. You could feel the pain,remorse,love,

    This book was really good. You could feel the pain,remorse,love,and all the emotions Nancy felt. it's a touching story that everybody should read. It gives you alot of information about how you would get AIDS and how not to trust everybody. She gave me alot of motivation and made me think of how if she's dying and she's still living her life then I can do it. .This book is really touching. It made me aware of all the things that I didn't think could happen to me, but really can. I feel like I knew Nancy, like I was a close friend and she was talking to me. This opened my eyes to the reality of how horrible men can be. It gave me hope and courage to live my life because anything can change.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Not Realistic

    For starters, a 14 or 15 year old girl doesn't even think like this. I'm sorry, but it's true. Collin, the rapist, gives Nancy wine and puts a drug in her drink. Therefore, Nancy shouldn't even remember being raped or have even felt the urge to fight him back if she was drugged. Some of the facts about AIDS weren't accurate either. This story is made up by an expert just to warn girls about rape. And the expert that wrote this clearly does not understand the minds of teenage girls. A waste of money and brain cells.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Not even close to real life

    Obviously not written by a teen. Reads like a book written by an adult who wants to teach todays youth a lesson but is out of touch with them. I cannot imagine any person over the age of 12 reading this as a serious story. Should have stopped after Go Ask Alice which was probably written when the author was alot clser to the age group she was writing about so she had a better understanding of teens at that time.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Horrible

    Full of propaganda and clearly not written in the main character's voice. What kid talks like that after the 1980's? She should've stopped after Go Ask Alice.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    touching

    this book was very touching. you really feel for nancy and her situation. i couldn't put this book down it was amazing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Great read

    I read this book in 8th grade, i'm now 23 years old and i still can remember the book and its impact that it had on me at that age. It was such a great book that it was passed around among my classmates and sadly i dont know where it is now, but where ever it is i hope that it can open other's eyes as it did mine. I had forgotten the title and wanted to recommend it to girls today thanks to B&N i found many more books that will be useful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    So gullible

    An obvious forgery. After a brutal rape, what young girl would exclaim 'Oh chips! Why does life have to be such a pile of chips anyways?' Young female readers will come away with the notion that the wages of sex are death, abortion is murder, and rape is kind of your fault anyways.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    U SHOULD READ THIS!!!!!

    OK HERES MY OPINION OF THE STORY- IT WAS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ AND THE SADEST I CRYED MY HEART OUT =( IT MADE ME FEEL AS IF I KNEW HER AND SHARED HER FEELING IT MADE ME FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE THERE RIGHT WITH HER COMFORTING HER THROUGH HER LAST DAYS THAT SHE HAD-WHEN SHE DIED I FELT SO SAD I CRYED AND CRYED AND COULDNT STOP BECAUSE IT WAS SO DISAPOINTING THAT SHE DIED OF A HORRIBLE DISEASE BECAUSE SOME GUY W/ NO FEELINGS A ALL GAVE HER IT AND MADE HER FEEL LIKE HE LOVED HER THEN JUST DID THAT 2 HER IT WAS HORRIBLE-I WISH THEY WOULD FIND HIM AND PUT HIM IN JAIL-IT WAS SO SAD HOW COULD HE DO THAT 2 A 14 YR OLD-I CANT STAND THINKING SOMETHING LIKE THAT-SO N-E-WAYS U SHOULD GO BUY THE BOOK BECAUSE U WONT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN AND U WILL READ IT TILL U R CRYING BECAUSE OF THE PAIN OR CRYING BECAUSE SHE THOUGHT SHE WOULD MARRY LEW AND I WISH SHE HAD ITS JUST NOT FAIR OR CRYING BECAUSE OF HER DEATH- ITS A TRUE SAD STORY AND BY THE TIME U R DONE WITH IT U WILL LOVE HER AND CRY W/ THE REST OF HER FAMILY BECAUSE OF HER DEATH-SO GO BUY IT ITS THE BEST I COULD EVER READ- AND GO ASK ALICE WAS GOOD 2 THAT ALSO MADE ME CRY =( -

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    :(:(:(

    Omg.....like this put knots in my stomach. Its so sad and it makes me want to never trust people again. *STRANGER DANGER 911*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    You should read It happened to Nancy because Nancy never gave up

    You should read It happened to Nancy because Nancy never gave up even though she had AIDS and people still loved her the way she was no matter what problems she had. I learned to be safe with the people I don't know very well. I liked learning about AIDS so I know how not to get the disease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    It Happened to Nancy: A True Story from the Diary of a Teenager

    This book is good but it is SOOOOO obvious that Nancy was never a real girl. Almost right after she finds she has the AIDS virus, she can only talk about how much she likes Lew.But even worse then the glaring obvious is that throughout the book, it's clear that Nancy blames herself for her rape. She talks about how guilty and dirty she feels and when she tells a nun she was raped, the nun tells her that God will 'probably forgive her.' Forgive her for what? Anybody who has been raped, DO NOT READ THIS! You will feel like rape is your fault and if you get AIDS, you deserve it. (Also, Lew is a jerk. Just thought I'd point that out.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    When i got raped

    When i got raped i was drunk and i dont remember much. All i remember is i was scared and i didnt know watt was going on and everyone that found out somehow blamed me i was 12 and it was like one week before my birthday and know im almost 15 and still wake up crying with nightmares about it. And i dont feel like i can talk to anyone cuz no one would understand. :'(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Very emotional book

    Very emotional tale of a you girls life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Excellent

    Every teen should read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Rape is never your falt tell someone

    I went 7years thinking it was my falt, the only thing i did wrong was not tell someone right away he could be sitting in jail now but hes not he is still out there maybe looking for his next girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15