Customer Reviews for

It Happened to Nancy

Average Rating 4.5
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Poor girl.

In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read ...
In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read this book, it really opened my eyes about date rape and that you cant really trust someone you think you could. It opened my eyes about how serious it could turn out to be. The problem with Nancy was that she thought she was in love at an early age and with an older guy which she¿d have had to be careful with to begin with. She put all her trust in him not knowing his true intentions. I recommend this book for teenage girls, I guess we can call it a reality check. Once I started reading it I couldn¿t put it down. I honestly loved this book and really felt like I was one of Nancy¿s best friends or that she was just able to dump and let everything out to me.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not The Best Read / F-

This is just totally NOT what happens when you have AIDS. keep in mind - I know what I'm talking about and I know the disease affects each person differently, but alot of things are still the same. 1. There's NO WAY she would've ever found out she had AIDS without th...
This is just totally NOT what happens when you have AIDS. keep in mind - I know what I'm talking about and I know the disease affects each person differently, but alot of things are still the same. 1. There's NO WAY she would've ever found out she had AIDS without the doctor asking for permission to test her first. It is ILLEGAL to test people for the AIDS virus without their knowledge & consent. 2. She would've gotten that sick from AIDS that fast. The book has her with a cause of pnuemonia about a month after she was infected - NOT REALISTIC. 3. She wouldn't just die like that. When you have AIDS, you don't just go to sleep one night and never wake up. 4. She wouldn't have been granted permission from her doctor to travel to her fathers' home in ARIZONA given her health status at the time. Even if she was, she more than likely would've had to have her own plane, to reduce the risk of contracting other passengers germs and/or illnesses. There are alot more things too, if you care to know, e-mail me. I will write back ASAP. I think this book is a terrible rep. for teens struggling to live with HIV/AIDS.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Poor girl.

    In my opinion, ¿It Happened To Nancy¿ is a touching true story. I believe it¿s meant for teenage girls for the purpose of teaching them about the real world and more importantly, about people. It teaches these lessons which seem to have been forgotten today. As I read this book, it really opened my eyes about date rape and that you cant really trust someone you think you could. It opened my eyes about how serious it could turn out to be. The problem with Nancy was that she thought she was in love at an early age and with an older guy which she¿d have had to be careful with to begin with. She put all her trust in him not knowing his true intentions. I recommend this book for teenage girls, I guess we can call it a reality check. Once I started reading it I couldn¿t put it down. I honestly loved this book and really felt like I was one of Nancy¿s best friends or that she was just able to dump and let everything out to me.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Excellent

    Every teen should read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good Read!!

    A good read! Sad to know these things happen and that someone should have to go through this at all, much less at such a young age. It is a positive read though because it exposes teenagers and young adults to the risks and consequences there are out there for our actions. Although, in the book it wasn't Nancy's fault, nowadays I think awareness is one of the strongest tools we can use to help and protect our youth. Highly recommend the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    This book gave me new perspective on my love life & sex. I l

    This book gave me new perspective on my love life & sex. I liked this book alot. It made me learn things that i didnt know about sex, rape, & the danger of strangers. I think people should read this book because it might make you realize things that you didn't know. My thoughts on this book are that people need to read this book because they can be inspired by it & be more informed about the reality of aids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    It's a pretty interesting book especially because its based on a

    It's a pretty interesting book especially because its based on a true story. A teenager having HIV it can really change other teenagers perspective on having sex. Some people can relate to this book if they have the same or similar situation. I really like this book because it shows what shes really going thru and how really she feels. I recommend people to read this amazing book I think it will inspire you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A story that stays with you years later

    I read this about 12 years ago when it first came out. All i can say is that it is one of the most touching stories ive ever read. It stayed with me and i felt like i was with her during her journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Dangers In Relationship

    When I had to do a report on my health project, I had to read more information about it and the librarian recommended me to read this book. I always thought that this book was going to be boring and uninteresting. But I was wrong. This book opened my eyes about dating strangers, getting raped and now facing with HIV-AIDS. Nancy gives out all her trust to this older guy that she met at a concert but she put her life in risk. I recommend this book to any young teens and teens that are going out with older guys because no one really knows who they really are. Young teens might think they found true love but they just found a one way ticket to putting your own life at risk. I also recommend this book to my friend because she also has the same name as in the story and I don't want this to happen to her. To be honest, I felt that I was her living with HIV-AIDS and I fell in love with this book. Once I read it, I couldn't put it down. Not even a few seconds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read.

    It's a very interesting book. I got kind of bored near the end to be honest. But it's very good and a true story. The ending result is very sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    This book is great.

    "It Happened To Nancy" is a book about a young girl named Nancy who happened to fall in love with an older guy. She knew everything you can ever know about this guy,but in the end she knew nothing but lies. After being date-raped she got really sick not knowing why or whats going on with her body. She found out she had HIV.

    I like this book because it tells so much about a girl who thought she was in love but then lost her life to AIDS. It is relatable to teens and you can tell how real the book was and it's not made up. It's all real.

    It taught me how to be more carefule on who I choose to talk to and who I hang out with. It showed me to be more open with people that love me,it will help you not be so confused in life. It also showed me how to not blame everything on myself.

    I'll recomend this book to many people who are interested in books about teen's, life, love, and secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    This story is about a teen girl who fights AIDS to survive and how she never gave up.

    I like this book because Nancy is fighting real hard and never gives up. The only thing I don't like about this book is when Collin rapes her and gives her AIDS. The book affected me because you never know whos going through this kind of stuff. Plus you may get it and never know it until several years later, and can't do any thing about it. I really would recommend this book and the author because I think schools should have middle and high school students read this so that they are educated on what could happen and what you can do to try not to give it to anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    I recommend you read this book.

    This story is about a young girl who gets AIDS from a guy she thought would be the one. It was a date rape,she met him at a concert,she thought she knew him but she was wrong. He came over to her house one night and she thought it was going great,when in a blink of an eye everything went wrong like she was hit with lighting.
    SHE WAS DATE RAPED. Days passed, she started feeling bad and then she decided to go to the doctor. Now she is living her teenage life with AIDS.

    I enjoyed this book alot because it's a real touching story.

    The book really didn't affect me alot. It just got to me,like why would anyone want to go through the struggles shes going through? Why did it have to be her?

    I would recommend this book to somebody because of the way it is written in journal format. It made the true story more authentic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It Can Hapeen to You!

    It Happened to Nancy is a diary of a young girl who got raped and got HIV that quickly turned into AIDS and killed her. I really liked this book because it taught me so much more than I thought it would. I now know much more about AIDS and how to protect myself. It made me realize that you should always be prepared for the worst don't think "that can't happen to me" because it most certainly can! There is nothing about this book that I didn't like, it's a phenomenal book. The writing style is much different than most books because it is straight from a girl's dairy, it doesn't have chapters and not all the grammar is correct but that's what really connects you to Nancy. I would recommend this book to all teenage girls. It will let you know what to do to protect yourself and let you be aware of what can really happen to you if you aren't protected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    IT HAPPENED TO NANCY

    I thought the book was overall good. The book was very eye opening, sad, and touching. There are parts in the book were you want to cry. The book provided a lot of information on HIV as well as its affect physically and mentally. In my opinion I think that the book is meant for teenagers, but mostly for teen girls. I think it was meant for teen girls because it shows how what happened to Nancy could happen to anyone. Also because the book is a girl's diary so they would be able relate to it. The book talked about high school life, family, friends, a normal teenage life. Unfortunately it was not as normal for Nancy. The book was not boring at all in fact it was very interesting. The book was unique in the sense that it was not in your usual chapter by chapter book. It was in a diary form which gets the readers attached to it and cannot put it down. Which I think teenagers would like because most of the time you would think those kinds of books are boring which this book was definitely not. As I was reading I felt as if I was a part of Nancy's life. The ending was very sad but I liked how the book was not boring or dragging at the end. I am very picky about the books ending but surprisingly I was not bored by the end. I also liked how the book was easy to follow, very straight forward, and not hard to read. In the end I think the book was good. It makes you appreciate everything you have. It makes you want to double check every choice you make and the consequence that go with it. You also start to question how truly do I know this person and can I trust them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    We could be Nancy from It Happened to Nancy.

    It Happened to Nancy was informative. Nancy's diary gave a descriptive view of how HIV disease can harm our bodies. The fear that Nancy describes for us is a real fear I believe most teens have when confronted with a disease. In the Bronx, out of the five boroughs in New York City, we have the highest rates of HIV disease and this book, I think, will assist us in telling the community that prevention is a key to reducing the spread of HIV. The details of HIV given in Nancy's diary helped to make HIV "real." Sometimes Nancy's words made you feel several emotions at once; her words also made you think about avoiding HIV. It Happened to Nancy, but it could happen to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Remakable girl

    'It happend to nancy',is a loved and heart-felt book.My opinion was that the world is a scary and blase' place.Once i started reading i couldn't stop,the bitter sweet words on the pages was very intriging and spin tingling.I really recommend this book to many young girls everywhere,this book will teach u that u can't trust nobody.There is cold and heartless people out there and they won't stop until they get what they want.The most worst thing a person could do is to take someones innocence and there pride and just rip them to shreds like it was a worthless piece of blank paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Reality Check

    I really enjoyed this book. This book is a reality check for many teens. Nancy at a young age think she falls for a older guy named Colin. She find herself spending alot of time with him. One night when nancy is home alone Colin goes over to make her dinner. At the end of the night a life changing event happens. Colin rapes Nancy! To Nancy discover she now has AIDS. I highly recommend this novel. This novel is written by a teen who can relate to many teen today. This novel teach alot of lesson that seemed to be forgotten today. Even though Nancy goes through many obsticle she never give up hope. Even though she has AIDS she still lives her life through the ups and downs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    It happened to Nancy

    It happened to Nancy is a recommended book of what i have read. i recommend this to any people who want a sad,life changing story. if you get worryed easily, i do not suggest this for you. but try it, you might like it! i know i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    a great book for teenage girls

    this book is a very great book i couldnt put it down. it tought me lessons and tought me about problems i can have in the future and how to avoid them. this was a very touching book with a little of sad and happy and every emtion you can think of. after reading the book i felt like i really knew the girl named nancy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    IS It

    my teacher says that this is called a fiction book because it was never proven real! she says that it is inly based on it! she also says that you made most of it up!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    READ IT!

    The book goes over about 3 years. After about 13 days, thats when IT happens. It's hard for her to get over IT. Especially when she gets AIDS. Wearing diapers, getting sick, body fluids, dying. None of that was in her plans. She decided to make her PERSONAL diary a book to help people realised it can happen to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3