BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

It Happens Every Spring

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What a charming read

While this book was heavy on life lessons and character, it was a very easy read. The book dealt with themes like: friendship, trust, tolerance, forgiveness, identity, community, etc. I have not read any of the rest of this series, but I can tell that the different c...
While this book was heavy on life lessons and character, it was a very easy read. The book dealt with themes like: friendship, trust, tolerance, forgiveness, identity, community, etc. I have not read any of the rest of this series, but I can tell that the different character's story lines could easily be picked up in other installments. I would highly recommend this book as it touched upon many emotions and at times I laughed out loud, found myself frustrated, and even cried. This is food for the soul.

posted by 7808916 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I did not LOVE reading the book but it was a good book. Written by a Christian author. This is good to read when in between books you love.

posted by 7990616 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Uplifting and Tragic Together and Heart Warming Too

    I found this book to be relaxing and enjoyable overall. I really got to know the characters well and felt a connection with their ups and downs. It did not take long to catch my interest. I will enjoy reading the rest of the series. Cody is a great example of how we should live when being a loving example to others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book. I laughed and I cried. Can't wait to read the rest in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Love it, hard to put down...a very good read, will definatley re

    Love it, hard to put down...a very good read, will definatley read the rest of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really good reading!

    I enjoyed this book . It was a good story and always held my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Amazing

    I didn't have any big expectations when I purchased this book but after the first few pages, I was glued! I truly enjoyed this book and cannot wait to read the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    Entertainment That Teaches

    I love Christian fiction because you can learn while being entertained. Based on concepts from his non-fiction book The Four Seasons of Marriage, Dr. Gary Chapman joins forces with CBA best-selling author Catherine Palmer to launch The Four Seasons series. Anyone who's been married or contemplates marriage will enjoy this first book. A page-turner, I read it in It Happens Every Spring in two sittings. An explosion of trouble in the opening sentence sets the stage in this fast-paced novel. Be ready for an emotional rollercoaster ride. You'll chew your nails, laugh out loud one minute and cry the next. You may also see your own marriage through new eyes. Chapman and Palmer hold nothing back in presenting a gut-wrenching story filled with all the temptations and problems of marriage. Be ready for some unexpected twists in this honest portrayal. Novel Reviews gives It Happens Every Spring a high recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    This was an excellent read. I was lucky to receive this book thr

    This was an excellent read. I was lucky to receive this book through the Tyndale Rewards program. I picked it because of Gary Chapman since I love his 5 Love Languages book and have found that Catherine Palmer is an excellent author too. This book was hard to put down. It read well & the characters were so relatable. In addition to the great story line you can see Gary Chapman's hints worked into the story line. I could easily see this book being made into a movie. I am starting the next book in this series (Summer Breeze) today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Excellent

    Part of series of seasons of a marriage. Well written. Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    It Happens Every Spring was a great story about Brenda & Ste

    It Happens Every Spring was a great story about Brenda & Steve as they wandered through life. Brenda was struggling with a purpose for her life after her children grew up and left and Steve was always working. With the help of some women in the neighborhood founding the TLC and a mentally challenged man showing up on her doorstep Brenda discovered purpose again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    I was glued to the pages of this book from the start, yet the st

    I was glued to the pages of this book from the start, yet the story moves along at a relaxing pace. The families are a part of a small community in Missouri town where golf carts can get you just about anywhere you want to go.

    Brenda and Steve Hansen have been married for almost 25 years and have raised three children who are now on their own. Having an empty nest after so long, Brenda becomes depressed. With Steve being a successful real estate agent and away from home a lot, Brenda starts to feel lonely and resentful towards her husband.

    Can living in a close-knit community help this couple, or make things worse with town gossip?
    What about the stranger who shows up at the Hansen's door? Or, the handyman that does work on the Hansen's basement?

    This is a well orchestrated story that brings to life some interesting characters. It focuses on the importance of marriage, friends and faith. I would recommend this book to anyone who is having difficulty in their relationship. If you like the laid back type of lifestyle or are a fan of Jan Karon, I believe you will enjoy this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I could not wait to crack open this book and I was not disappoin

    I could not wait to crack open this book and I was not disappointed when I did.
    This is a great story about Steve and Brenda Hansen who are struggling in their 25 year marriage now that the kids are gone. It gives a great perspective from both sides, so you can really feel how each of the characters are feeling and how they perceive the situation. It is set in a little town and you are introduced to some great side characters who each have their own personalities. Overall it is a great, easy, joyful read.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    sweet read

    I loved this book, it is simple and sweet but also has some words of wisdom
    for maybe some younger readers. And there is nothing better than making
    and having a group of friends that will tell you what you need to hear "wih love"..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended book!

    It Happens Every Spring was a great read. Like so many Christians, there is some gossiping going on in the salon. Like many Christian marriages, one of the main characters forgets to put Christ at the center of her marriage and refuses to talk to her husband. Nothing is working for them. Then........... You'll have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great

    Great read inspirational encourages you to hold on and pray and work thru problems encourafesbyoubto holdnon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Good read

    Words to live by dont give up till you at least try it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Ah, marriage relationships. Seems like everyone is always talking about them. Maybe it's because I'm not married yet and don't have kids, but I personally felt that Brenda was mainly to fault with her and Steve's relationship. I might be wrong here, but she seemed really moody and just plain mean to him. He kept trying to talk to her and she would blow him off and then get mad at him for talking to her. No wonder why men can't figure women out. To be fair, Steve did seem more preoccupied with work, and it seemed that every time he did try to talk to Brenda at night it was so they could have sex. Not the best intentions it seems. I also felt that the Cody situations seemed a little forced. While I liked his character much better near the end, he originally came off as kind of annoying to me. Brenda seemed a little too trustworthy in letting a random man sleep on her porch and only did it to rebel against Steve. I mean, Cody could have been acting and then murdered her when no one was around. But that's the only complaints I have because I really really enjoyed this book. The characters are refreshingly real and relatable. I liked the other women in the town, especially the multi hairstyle Patsy and her beauty shop. If I visited the town I would definitely stop there to get my hair done. I'm also looking forward to reading more about Ashley because I'm hoping that she will put sense into her husband. Lots of funny tidbits in the book that will get you laughing too. The whole town would be a wonderful place to live/visit. Reading the book was like drinking a cold iced tea, refreshing. I really enjoyed this book. I love the cover too, it's really colorful and so detailed. I can't wait for 'Summer' to get here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A special tale

    Deepwater Cove is a small community overlooking the Lake of the Ozarks by Tranquility, Missouri. It is small town where everyone knows everyone else. Five women form the TLC club are there for one another especially with personal issues.--------------- Since the kids left, one of the TLC members Brenda Hansen suffers from empty nest syndrome as she feels she offers nothing to her community, her spouse or especially herself. Her husband Steve is a workaholic who comes home to eat and sleep, which adds to Brenda¿s feelings of abandonment, isolation and loneliness whereas Steve avoids Brenda because he finds her increasingly nasty and combative when hw is near.---------------------- During a nasty storm, a stranger knocks on Brenda¿s door saying he is Cody and asking for chocolate cake as that is the Christian way. Brenda initially fears this young man, but soon brings him in from the rain giving him his cake. Others also help the mentally challenged lad without understanding in his way he is assisting them much more as couples like Brenda and Steve try to renew the euphoria of their relationship.--------------- Using the spring of Dr. Chapman's THE FOUR SEASONS OF A MARRIAGE theory as the base for the first of a quartet of relationship dramas, IT HAPPENS EVERY SPRING is a delightful tale that introduces the audience to the TLC members and other folks, but focuses mostly on Brenda and Steve. Most fascinating is that the authors chose spring for the couple who is probably in early fall however spring is the time of rebirth, which means that a pair must renew their relationship or it will atrophy and die prematurely. The opening Four Seasons saga is a warm story of the importance of relational rejuvenation.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2