Customer Reviews for

It Is Dangerous to Be Right When the Government Is Wrong: The Case for Personal Freedom

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Kindle and iBook versions are selling for $9.99 ...

... Why is the Nook version selling for 14.99?

posted by pdm1957 on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

IS Our Government Ignoring Our US Constitution?

Judge Napolitano divides politicians into Libertarians who believe in limited government that follows the US Constitution and Progressives who do not honor the Constitution. He says Progressives do what governments always do-greedily increase their power at the cost of ...
Judge Napolitano divides politicians into Libertarians who believe in limited government that follows the US Constitution and Progressives who do not honor the Constitution. He says Progressives do what governments always do-greedily increase their power at the cost of individual freedoms. Napolitano discusses 'natural laws' that apply to every human. He teaches much about our Constitution, our Bill of Rights and laws. He also lists many ways our constitution has been ignored and American freedoms lost. Much of Napolitano's writing sounds accurate. But sometimes he seems ignorant about problems that necessitate laws and limits on freedom of choice. Individuals and companies may not change without the force of laws. That's human nature. An example: Napolitano believes pornography should never be controlled--that interferes with our right to choose our behaviors. In my work as a licensed professional Psychiatric RN I saw porno harm families, especially children. Youngsters can't choose wisely to ignore porno at home or on a computer. This judge is against outlawing the right to talk on cell phones while driving. I once stood at an intersection and saw three drivers on cell phones run red lights. They never realized other drivers slammed on their brakes and averted accidents. These cars might have careened into me. Judge Napolitano apparently doesn't understand human attention-deficits. Humans do not always choose rightly even if natural law says they can. This author does acknowledge that when one person's natural rights causes harm to others, laws may be needed. Many Federal laws needlessly limit freedom. Do Progressives believe people are too stupid to ever think and act without their laws? Or is the real problem Progressive governments' greed for more power?

posted by samcivy on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    The Kindle and iBook versions are selling for $9.99 ...

    ... Why is the Nook version selling for 14.99?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    IS Our Government Ignoring Our US Constitution?

    Judge Napolitano divides politicians into Libertarians who believe in limited government that follows the US Constitution and Progressives who do not honor the Constitution. He says Progressives do what governments always do-greedily increase their power at the cost of individual freedoms. Napolitano discusses 'natural laws' that apply to every human. He teaches much about our Constitution, our Bill of Rights and laws. He also lists many ways our constitution has been ignored and American freedoms lost. Much of Napolitano's writing sounds accurate. But sometimes he seems ignorant about problems that necessitate laws and limits on freedom of choice. Individuals and companies may not change without the force of laws. That's human nature. An example: Napolitano believes pornography should never be controlled--that interferes with our right to choose our behaviors. In my work as a licensed professional Psychiatric RN I saw porno harm families, especially children. Youngsters can't choose wisely to ignore porno at home or on a computer. This judge is against outlawing the right to talk on cell phones while driving. I once stood at an intersection and saw three drivers on cell phones run red lights. They never realized other drivers slammed on their brakes and averted accidents. These cars might have careened into me. Judge Napolitano apparently doesn't understand human attention-deficits. Humans do not always choose rightly even if natural law says they can. This author does acknowledge that when one person's natural rights causes harm to others, laws may be needed. Many Federal laws needlessly limit freedom. Do Progressives believe people are too stupid to ever think and act without their laws? Or is the real problem Progressive governments' greed for more power?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Individual Rights or Government Tyranny?

    Americans, have you looked at the state of your country, your government and its involvement in your lives and asked, "What happened?" How did a country that was born from a revolution of people saying "no" to a tyrannical government encroaching on individual lives evolve into an Orwellian nation where both major political parties are bickering on just how they are going to control your life? What happened to individual freedom and Natural Law? Judge Andrew P. Napolitano addresses this very issue in It Is Dangerous to be Right When the Government is Wrong. Napolitano's introduction, while a bit dry, outlines two laws: Natural Law and Positive Law. Natural Law are rights that "every human being possess by virtue of being human." In other words, these are our God-given right to be free to choose. (For my non-believing readers, this is our plain ol' human nature.) Positive Law, on the other hand, are man-made laws given or taken away by other men or man-made institutions, such as governments. Once you make it past the introduction, Napolitano takes you on a crash course in history, law and economics. As you make your way through theses chapters, I suspect that many people will become angry as their eyes are opened to the fact that we are not free, we do not have "life," "liberty," or the option to "pursue happiness" as everyday the United States Government encroaches more and more on this sovereign right that was penned in The Declaration of Independence. And I suspect that Napolitano will make many people angry with the ideas that people have the right to be racist, to sell their organs and to do many things that would be considered offensive by the masses. I hope, once the anger subsides, that people will seriously start to think and ask themselves if the government should have control over your thoughts, your body, your property, your life. The chapters on economics are the most enlightening, explaining in layman's terms the Federal Reserve, how it works and how it is killing our country. Napolitano's arguments are solid as he provides examples, gives both sides of the argument and is successful of putting the ideas of Positivism to shame. I also admired the fact that Napolitano reinforced the idea that we have not learned from the past and history does repeat itself. An appeal to tell us we must know our history, our true history, and that our children must learn it, understand it and keep it from happening again. Napolitano penned a wonderful introduction to Libertarianism/Freedom/Restoring America. If you're an old-school revolutionary, this book may seem a bit obvious. However, for people who are starting to question the government, this book is for you. Read it, learn from it, think about it and buy a copy for your friend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    defending liberty

    "it is dangerous to be right whean the goverment is wrong" this is another amazing book and very hard to put down by one of the top experts on the constitution judge andrew napolitano. the writer shows cases of goverment intrusion into peoples lifes everything from property rights to gun rights and how these are out right violations of the constitution great defence of liberty and great citizens guide to the constitution and gift idea for a friend or family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Awesome, the first nonfiction book I've actually liked

    Our country is not in a good place, all you have to do is watch the news to see that, but its important to know more about whats really going on, I believe that "It Is Dangerous to be Right When the Government is Wrong" (whoo, that's a mouthful) is a great way to do just that. This book asks a lot of very important questions, such as how the government has power we haven't given to it. It lays out our rights and reminds us that it is our responsibility to protect these rights. It seems that the common way of thinking is that the government gives us those rights, yet this book proposes that those rights are a part of us and the government exists to protect them. The book offers many examples and illustrations, not just the author's opinions. Some of these ideas I already believed, for instance, the government should not be allowed to tell a business who they can and can't hire. Others, really made me think, but in the end I had to agree with them. Yet, and this is my opinion now, we should always exercise our rights in a Christian manner. For instance, a person has every right to be stingy and greedy, and nobody should be able to say they should be able to take what that person has, but that doesn't mean we should be like that. Another example is forced association, a person technically has the right to not serve someone in their restaurant for any reason, but they are only hurting themselves by losing the business of those people and others who are offended by their business practices. So, in closing, I would say that if you are interested in politics (or maybe even if you're not) this is one of the best books you could find. If it tells you anything, this is probably the first nonfiction book I've read since my middle school book reports.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Book

    Great book well worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Not What is Could Have Been

    Synopsis: This book was written by Judge Napolitano to answer the myths, questions, and stories about the American Government and our freedom today. Are we as free as we like to think? He gives point after point, story after story, in which you see our freedoms and rights being dissolved before our eyes. He address topics such as the freedoms to travel, own property, self-defense, and spending money. You will be shocked, amazed, and terrified at the examples shown in this book.

    My Thoughts: I thought this book was good, and powerful. He clearly had a grip on the history of our country and the founding of America. The one thing that stood out to me was his faith. If he is a Christian, he did not take the trouble to take a stand for his faith and his beliefs. That troubled me. He had a wonderful chance to stand for the Gospel, and he let it slip by.

    He also was more concerned with everyone having their rights, and doing what they wanted, than he was with living according to God's law. Very adult issues, and some more general issues, were thought to be okay if that was our right. While it might be our right, we still have to hold it up against God's law.


    Score ~ ¿¿
    Violence ~ 1
    Indecency ~ 4
    Language ~ None
    Age Appropriateness ~ 15 and Up

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Fantastic

    One of the best books i have read in years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1