BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

It Starts With Food CookBook: The Low Sugar Gluten-Free & Whole Food CookBook - 40 Delicious & Healthy Recipes Your Family Will Love

Average Rating 1
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book is a fraud. Has no affiliation with the book or author

    This book is a fraud. Has no affiliation with the book or authors it claims to be. Do not support these rip off artists by purchasing this book. Join the "real" Whole 9 community instead.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    This cookbook has absolutely nothing to do with It Starts With F

    This cookbook has absolutely nothing to do with It Starts With Food (the NY Times bestsellers by Dallas & Melissa Hartwig), infringes on their copyright, and contains many recipes that are not at all Whole30 compliant. Do not even consider this book if you are a fan of Whole9 or the Whole30. The fact that someone would try to piggyback on their success is sad and offensive.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not Compliment. Nice try though. The Whole 9 30 program designed

    Not Compliment. Nice try though. The Whole 9 30 program designed by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig has nothing to do with this book. Don't be fooled in to thinking it does. Anyone who knows anything about the real It Starts With Food and the Whole 9 30 knows you can't eat pancakes. Do your research people. If you're going to try to rip off a legitimate program at least do a better job with your recipes.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I have been looking into Whole 30 since my friend had such succe

    I have been looking into Whole 30 since my friend had such success with it. Everything that I have read from this book has nothing to do with the Whole 30 books. The first 4 recipes in the reviews are nothing compared to what I have read about Whole 30. Do your research and check out the realIt Starts With Food, the NY Times bestsellers by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. Looks like they are trying to go off their shirt tails. Totally Sad.  If you have ordered ask for your money back.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    nothing to do with "It Starts with Food"  do not buy i

    nothing to do with "It Starts with Food"  do not buy if you are expecting it to help with Whole30!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    STAY AWAY! Shady publication - this book does not represent a h

    STAY AWAY! Shady publication - this book does not represent a healthy diet and seems to be trying to make money off the success of the Whole 30/Whole 9 Programs designed by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I believe the title of this book may be misleading.  It Starts W

    I believe the title of this book may be misleading.  It Starts With Food is a book by other authors.  Authors who strive to teach folk how to eat in a healthful way.  This book does not adhere to the 'ISWF' guidelines.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    NOT Whole30!! Save your money!! Do your research!! This book has

    NOT Whole30!! Save your money!! Do your research!! This book has nothing to do with Dallas and Melissa Hartwig's terrific book "It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways". I totally encourage you to read it-so much great information, research, and even recipes that DO comply with the Whole 30 guidelines. If you need recipes to support your Whole30/Whole9 adventure, "Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat" by Melissa Joulwan is wonderful! Save your money for the real deal...this isn't it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It Should Start With Honesty It's one thing to jump on a fad, i

    It Should Start With Honesty

    It's one thing to jump on a fad, it's another thing to completely claim the title of a best selling book and attach it to yours. Not only is this book in NO WAY affiliated with the original best seller- It Starts With Food, it doesn't even remotely follow the guidelines in it. Save your money!

    Also, if you haven't read the original, It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways, I totally encourage you to do so. If you're looking for a recipe book that truly follows the Whole 30|Whole 9, check out Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a fraud!  These recipes are not even close to what

    This book is a fraud!  These recipes are not even close to what is required of the Whole30 program and the author clearly did not get permission from Dallas & Melissa Hartwig to use the name of their book!  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book does NOT comply with the "Whole 30" plan. I

    This book does NOT comply with the "Whole 30" plan. It is NOT by the same authors. I smell a lawsuit. Do NOT purchase this cookbook...it is a scam!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    If you have read It Starts with Food and you buy this book, you

    If you have read It Starts with Food and you buy this book, you will notice immediately that there are forbidden ingredients and these recipes are NOT Whole30 approved.

    1. There is ZERO allowance for dairy products on the Whole30 plan. So, the second recipe, the Garlic-Spinach Vegetable Skillet Frittata, would not be whole30 compliant b/c it has milk, parmesan and cream cheese. Dairy is a no-go.

    2. There is ZERO allowance for "paleo-ized" or "primalized" foods on the Whole30 plan. The very first recipe is a "paleo-ized" pancake. No go.

    Each of the 4 recipes that are available in the "preview" are out of compliance with the Whole30 plan, so I can only imagine what the rest of the recipes look like. Milk? Parmesan? Cream cheese? Pepperjack? Canola oil??? No, no, no, no, and no. All in violation of the plan. The one using canola oil wouldn't even pass the PRIMAL BLUEPRINT test! Yikes.

    Not to mention the copyright infringement considering the author did NOT get permission to use the name Whole30 in the advertising/sale of their book.

    Glad I didn't waste my money and would advise you not waste yours either. In fact, I'd ask for a refund.
    Jenn Tyler

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Don't waste your money, this book is not in any way affiliated w

    Don't waste your money, this book is not in any way affiliated with Whole30 as designed by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. The authors of this cookbook should be ashamed of themselves, not only for copyright violation but for misleading people seeking information on how to eat to heal their bodies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This is VERY misleading! The recipes in this book are NOT compli

    This is VERY misleading! The recipes in this book are NOT compliant with the Whole30 program outlined in the book "It Starts With Food" by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig.
    If you are looking for recipes to get you through that program, this book is NOT what you want!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book doesnt even begin to cover what It Starts With Food is

    This book doesnt even begin to cover what It Starts With Food is about. It doesn't even have recipes that are Whole30 compliant. Do Not Buy This Book! This is infringing on the copyright of Melissa and Dallas Hartwig. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    This book is NOT affiliated with the Whole9 and the REAL It Star

    This book is NOT affiliated with the Whole9 and the REAL It Starts With Food book. Do not buy this fraudulent garbage!!!! The author/s of this cookbook should be totally ashamed of themselves!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    What a load of garbage, this book has nothing to do with It Star

    What a load of garbage, this book has nothing to do with It Starts With Food and the Whole30 program. I can't believe someone let this get published. I hope no one falls for this garbage. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book has no affiliation with the REAL It Starts With Food.

    This book has no affiliation with the REAL It Starts With Food. I've completed three Whole30s, and I can tell you that most of the recipes in this book are NOT W30 compliant! DO NOT buy this book! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    These recipes include ingredients that are NOT, repeat, NOT comp

    These recipes include ingredients that are NOT, repeat, NOT compliant with the Whole30 program. I'd encourage the authors of this cookbook to read their copy of It Starts With Food again and rewrite their cookbook. They might also want to confer with the Hartwigs before using their business name to promote something that is in no way connected to their program. 

    --On the Whole30 program as designed by the Hartwigs, all dairy should be completely eliminated for thirty days. That means NO milk, NO parmesan cheese, NO pepperjack, NO cream cheese. 
    --In "It Starts With Food", the book outlining the program, there is an extensive section on healthy fats, and seed oils such as canola are specifically discouraged. 
    --All baked items and anything remotely bread-like are eliminated for thirty days, even if made from 'legal' ingredients. The first recipe in this book is pancakes! PANCAKES!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I've had success, and have witnessed others have success with th

    I've had success, and have witnessed others have success with the Whole 30 approach outlined in the book, "It Starts With Food." by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. However, this cookbook isn't related to the Whole 30 program, nor are some of the recipes contained therein Whole 30 compliant. Buyer beware. This is not related to "It Starts With Food", or the Whole 30 program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2