Customer Reviews for

It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita

Average Rating 4
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

hysterical

I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings...
I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings about the experience and that it could be so funny. I would recommend this book to all women who have been pregnant or are about to be pregnant.

posted by 2791515 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just OK.

I recently discovered Heather's blog, and enjoyed reading that, so I decided to give the book a try. Her sarcasm grew tiresome after only a few chapters, and I lost interest about halfway through. Her writing style is better suited for a blog - not so much for an entire...
I recently discovered Heather's blog, and enjoyed reading that, so I decided to give the book a try. Her sarcasm grew tiresome after only a few chapters, and I lost interest about halfway through. Her writing style is better suited for a blog - not so much for an entire book.

Not terrible, but I probably wouldn't recommend it...

posted by naptime-nookie on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Egh it was ook not bad not good

    It was not bad or not good it was ok i read it anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Makayla

    I love it good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    AWESOME book!!

    This book was wonderful....as a parent I really enjoyed this book. I could totally relate to so much!!! There were MANY laugh out loud parts!!! My husband would often ask what I was laughing about!! You will love this book especially if you are a mommy!!!! New mommies could really use the laughs this book provides especially during those first few hectic months!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good but...

    Could have lived without the random political commentary and it's not that I'm a staunch conservative, just not interested in this book for political opinions. Would have liked more in-depth discussion of dealing with post partum, definitely felt like she just grazes the surface. Second half of the book far better than the frst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Kept waiting for it to be over

    Boring
    Exagerrated
    Dont waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good story - funny/sad/truthful

    As a labor & delivery nurse, I found parts of this book very amusing. It also shows how postpartum depression can affect a woman's life. There's so much truth in this book, I really felt sorry for Heather. Makes you see how there's a glimmer of possibility that PPD can cause a woman to hurt others...A must read for anyone whose life has been touched by hormones, whatever the source!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    It Sucked but I Read It Anyway.

    The book was chosen for our monthly book club and even though it's been a long time since my kids were babies, I thought this would be a cute book and that I would enjoy it. It started off fine - I found myself laughing out loud at a few parts. But after about halfway through, I started getting really annoyed with the author's OVER USE OF ALL CAPS. I think she used them at least once on every page. And there was also The Whole Use of Title Case To Be Cute Thing that also drove me nuts. I know this is just a style thing, but it became very distracting to me from the actual content of the book. Another thing that annoyed me was her extreme exaggerations. Some are funny, but these were so overused that they lost their effect and just became stupid. Onto the story itself - the premise was okay, and I certainly could relate to some of the postpartum emotions, but I really hated how she described her baby. Either she acted like the child was a demon spawn from hell sent to make every second of her life miserable or she was "eating" her! I can't imagine ever writing letters to my children like the ones she included - especially when they will surely see them at some point. Although it sounds like she had a very intense struggle, there didn't seem to be much emotional depth in her descriptions of her experiences. Or maybe I just missed it because of all the above-mentioned annoyances. It also seemed to me that she really wasn't all that much better after her breakdown and medications. (She still sounds totally nuts!) Perhaps she was better, but I just didn't see much of a "before and after" in her book. I thought she could have made this a much better book by being a little more "real" and not trying so hard to be cute. Perhaps this is just an example of how a good blogger doesn't necessarily make a good novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Cool book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Loved this book-made me laugh hysterically!

    Just finished reading this book and I thought it was both realistic and completely hilarious. I have 3 children and found this book to be a detailed and accurate account of what is is really like to have a baby. It's not the warm and fuzzy part, but the part that you only find out by first hand experience. If you are thinking about having children, it is a must read. I was surprised by many of the negative reviews. Maybe for some it was redundant as I have never read Heather's blog. My husband has always said that people who tell it like it is (as we both do) are never popular because people do not want to hear the truth. I also found it inspiring that someone was willing to share their personal struggle with postpartum depression to help all the other women in the world who could be struggling with it as we speak. I enjoyed Heather's straight forward style and you can read 1 or 2 pages to see if it fits you. To all those who have buyers remorse perhaps you should open the book and read a few pages before your next purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. Armstrong chronicled a difficult and very serious time in her life, then wrote about it in a way that helps others relate and makes it funny at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Kinda funny

    It definetly has its funny points but fell short. There were lots of points when i felt the writer was trying to hard to be funny. In the end i found myself hurrying to finish it so i could move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    True and funny

    If you are a mother or expecting this book brings to light the things we don't talk about! Very funny! Relatable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Refreshing!!

    As a person who is not a mother, this is a very realistic experience of motherhood. As a woman with no children, I get tired of hearing how it's such a great experience and nothing is better than getting pregnant and having a baby. This book shatters that illusion all those women out there lie to us without children about. It's real and honest instead of sugarcoating everything about being pregnant and the year that comes after that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Ghastly attempt to add humor to a serious and sad story

    Okay, the author had a baby and severe PPD, to the point where she contemplated killing herself. I am truly sorry that she suffered so. This book is a self indulgent scream of consciousness romp through this sad story, a rambling, silly collection of stories that have nothing to add to the story but are thrown in to show off how "cool" and "hip" she is, I guess. I for one could have lived without the enema story. This writer has such an obsession with bowel movements that Dr. Freud himself could have devoted a lifetime to studying her. All could have been forgiven if the author herself was likeable, but her indifference to fellow sufferers is well documented. If your phone doesn't read "Dr. Phil" or "Ellen" or "Oprah", don't expect anything from this self confessed "bad person". She is slowly fading into well deserved obscurity because you know what? We little people can tell when someone is a real, genuinely nice person (see: Pioneer Woman) and this person is a narcissist, self absorbed person willing to write almost anything about her children and her own family in an attempt to chase down that million dollar house she lives in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    fantastic

    great read for anyone that has had a hard time adjusting to being a new mom!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Finally! An honest opinon of motherhood!

    I really enjoyed this book. My husband and I have been trying to start a family. Of course, once you announce that, everyone wants to tell you what to expect, how you will feel about it, and what to do when it happens. I can't tell you how refreshing it was to hear someone's story who didn't think that pregnancy, labor and raising a child was the easiest, nor the most enjoyable experience of their life. Not to say that the author isn't completley happy with their family addition. It was definitley a good read... if only for the dose of reality that assures me although motherhood will be a blessing, it will be the hardest job I've ever had.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Great book

    It's nice to see someone be honest about what it's like to have a baby. It's not always giggles and smiles. Anyone who wants to have a baby should read this book first to see what they are getting themselves into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    funniest book i have ever read!

    i feel like this book was written just for me! hilareous!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    something i can relate too

    growing up mormon then falling away, this book was something i could relate to. great book for a mom, at any stage as well as potential moms!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    amazing!!

    Laughed and cried along with her! Being pregnant now with #2 and having postpartum depression and anxiety with my first, it was easy to relate to the author and her struggles and accomplishments. I loved how it was written as if she was talking to you and even at hard times she still makes you laugh. definitly recomend this book to any new mother being dragged through the trenches or anyone looking to get pregnant who can enjoy someone elses story without getting bothered. many a nights i have stayed up just to read "one last page" before passing out. definitly not a book you will want to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14