BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita

Average Rating 3.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Said what NEEDED to be said!

I have been a fan of her website for a few months. I heard about the book and made a passing remark to myself that I should read it.

I have been on medication for 11 years straight. I spent 8 months getting off the meds and then 3 months going through various forms ...
I have been a fan of her website for a few months. I heard about the book and made a passing remark to myself that I should read it.

I have been on medication for 11 years straight. I spent 8 months getting off the meds and then 3 months going through various forms of hell due to the withdrawels. Only someone with this kind of history can not only understand but appreciate when I say that my biggest fear is PPD. Not labor or when I will loose the weight but how badly can I fall to pieces. How fast can it all unravel.

She wrote what needed to be said. So many people do not think that depression is real or that people are just to weak to face life. This book can help woman that are going through those first few months and wondering "when does the bliss part happen". Not everyone is educated on PPD and not everyone knows how severe it is.

Is this a reference book for PPD - certainly not. Can you compare this to the great works of amazing writers - nope. But she never comes across as the know it all for PPD and she also does not claim to be one of the greatest writers of our generation. It is a book about her struggle. Take it for what it is worth.

I personally thought it was funny and I also did not feel like she comes across as wounded by her religion, as a matter of fact I think she can totally have a laugh about it.

So many times you ask a new mom "so how are you doing" and the response you get is "I am doing great, I am so happy, it is just bliss" Well I have some news - not everyone is happy or living in bliss. Some woman have a very hard time. Heather just happened to be one of the woman that wrote about her expereince and how she has come through to the other side.

SoJaded

posted by Sojaded on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It sucked and then I cried because I could't return it.

I have been a long time reader of Dooce and I was excited to read this book as I thought it would provide more details and insight than her daily blog. Unfortunately I just paid $25 to re-read blog entries I read for free a few years ago. Very disappointing.

posted by 1255021 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I don't get it

    This book was a little all over the place; happy, then sad, then happy, then sad. A little confusing. So while the writing wasn't bad at all, the structure was off. Plus if you've been through pregnancy and childbirth yourself, her story is nothing new or unique. She's just not as interesting as she thinks she is.

    And I really disliked her tendency to use frequent ALL CAPS FOR COMPLETE SENTENCES.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    It sucked and then I cried because I could't return it.

    I have been a long time reader of Dooce and I was excited to read this book as I thought it would provide more details and insight than her daily blog. Unfortunately I just paid $25 to re-read blog entries I read for free a few years ago. Very disappointing.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    It's a yawner

    I kept thinking this book was going to get interesting, but it never did. I was not familiar with Heather Armstrong or her blog because I find personal diary type blogs to be hideously boring and don't read them. This book is kind of like one of those blogs, only in book form.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Very disappointed

    I am a long time reader of Heather's blog and I just can't help but thinking she's losing some steam. Maybe if she had written this two years ago when her blog was hot, I would think otherwise. It's just the same stuff we've already read...I think she's an excellent writer, but there is no reason to waste your money on this book if you've read her blog more than twice...we've got it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Boring-Please save your money

    Wow- I seriously can't believe I wasted money on this book! I used to love Heather, but I think her time may be up. I couldn't make it half way through the book. I finally just put it down and gave up. What used to be creative wit and humor is now just recycled garbage. Please save your money- there are much better ways to spend your time and hard-earned cash.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    A good book

    I'm not a mother, though some day I hope to be. I've never suffered from depression and hope I never do. I have been a fan of heather's web site for years though and this book was an extremely good read. As someone who has never experienced any of the topics in this book first hand I still enjoyed reading this book. It's written with a sense of humor and intelligent wit which I really enjoyed. I even read the part about her time as an exchange student to my boyfriend and he enjoyed it too! Would recommend to anyone, not just new moms.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as I expected

    I read her blog, dooce.com, quite frequently and find it very entertaining. So when the book came out, I was excited, but I think the longer form of writing doesn't suit her style completely. The sarcasm gets a little tired after a few chapters and the attention she gives her postpardum seems sort of glossed over, meaning, the emotion that is usually infused in her writing and her ability to communicate an experience in very tactile ways seems to be missing so the reader comes away with only a surface review of what she went through. It's a fun, fast read, but not as deep as I expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Skip the book, read the blog.

    Like many of the other reviewers, I was really excited about this book and I had hoped it would give more of an insight than her blog... however, it ended up being just her old blog entries.

    Seriously, just read her archives and save the money. The content was good, it's exactly what you would expect from her, but it was nothing new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Said what NEEDED to be said!

    I have been a fan of her website for a few months. I heard about the book and made a passing remark to myself that I should read it.

    I have been on medication for 11 years straight. I spent 8 months getting off the meds and then 3 months going through various forms of hell due to the withdrawels. Only someone with this kind of history can not only understand but appreciate when I say that my biggest fear is PPD. Not labor or when I will loose the weight but how badly can I fall to pieces. How fast can it all unravel.

    She wrote what needed to be said. So many people do not think that depression is real or that people are just to weak to face life. This book can help woman that are going through those first few months and wondering "when does the bliss part happen". Not everyone is educated on PPD and not everyone knows how severe it is.

    Is this a reference book for PPD - certainly not. Can you compare this to the great works of amazing writers - nope. But she never comes across as the know it all for PPD and she also does not claim to be one of the greatest writers of our generation. It is a book about her struggle. Take it for what it is worth.

    I personally thought it was funny and I also did not feel like she comes across as wounded by her religion, as a matter of fact I think she can totally have a laugh about it.

    So many times you ask a new mom "so how are you doing" and the response you get is "I am doing great, I am so happy, it is just bliss" Well I have some news - not everyone is happy or living in bliss. Some woman have a very hard time. Heather just happened to be one of the woman that wrote about her expereince and how she has come through to the other side.

    SoJaded

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not A Blog And Not A Book

    This woman is clearly very enamored of herself, which in my opinion does not make for good reading. If she spent less time making herself the hero of every situation (when she's not whining about how wounded she's been by religion, that is) and working so hard at being funny (which she actually ISN'T, poor dear) -- while making public the most painfully personal and often vulgar details of her life -- it might be different. How I wish I could have returned to me both the money I spent on this "book" and the time I spent reading it. If you are tempted to buy/read it, lie down until the impulse goes away.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I am a faithful reader of Heather's blog. I knew this book going into it would be basically a history of her blog during the time span the book details. This should not shock long time readers. However it is much more in depth then the original blog posts, and something I would definitely read again. I would recommend any woman who is suffering, or has suffered from depression (not just postpartum) that they read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1