Customer Reviews for

It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita

Average Rating 3.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

hysterical

I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings...
I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings about the experience and that it could be so funny. I would recommend this book to all women who have been pregnant or are about to be pregnant.

posted by 2791515 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It sucked and then I cried because I could't return it.

I have been a long time reader of Dooce and I was excited to read this book as I thought it would provide more details and insight than her daily blog. Unfortunately I just paid $25 to re-read blog entries I read for free a few years ago. Very disappointing.

posted by 1255021 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Funny

    Humorous, honest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good

    I thouht this was a great book. The author is really funny,and you can easily see her point of view. One thing that was slightly confusing she didn't go very detailed into her depretion. Anyways i enjoyed it ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    funny and good

    This story is pretty much a tell all about pregnancy and the shock of motherhood. It's comical and somewhat heartwarming. The only thing that i can say negatively is that there is alot of repitition (which i know was used to be funny) but it did kind of get annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Hilarious read for a first time mom

    I loved that this book was so head on and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great read!
    I love memoirs and this is one I could relate to and reccomend to other women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    from the reviews do'nt buy

    Dead book where is the grave!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Ive never had kids....but I lovednthis book.

    I am 25 and not married and no kids because Im super career oriented. After this book it changed my perspective and made me laugh. Parents are brave and I can only hope I get to be blessed enough to experience it...even through the tears and PPD cause I know I will endure it due to my situational depression/anxiety issues. ALL IN ALL: GREAT INSPIRING BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I have yet to read this, but plan to.......

    I always read reviews before buying a book, and typically wait until I read a book before writing my review. Therefore, this is not an actual review, but my two cents on being a mother, and remembering my experiences with my 1st born, now 23 years old. He was colicky, my husband was out of state at the time on a job site so I only saw him on weekends, and though I didn't suffer PPD, I did experience the hormonal changes czusing "baby blues" said to be mild PPD. I was also having the changes from gestational diabetes, ehich was diet controlled, (I'm a nurse), so my hormones were all over. I will write a review when finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    loved it

    Funny but very real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Hilarious!

    Haven't laughed this hard in a really long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Egh it was ook not bad not good

    It was not bad or not good it was ok i read it anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Makayla

    I love it good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    AWESOME book!!

    This book was wonderful....as a parent I really enjoyed this book. I could totally relate to so much!!! There were MANY laugh out loud parts!!! My husband would often ask what I was laughing about!! You will love this book especially if you are a mommy!!!! New mommies could really use the laughs this book provides especially during those first few hectic months!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good but...

    Could have lived without the random political commentary and it's not that I'm a staunch conservative, just not interested in this book for political opinions. Would have liked more in-depth discussion of dealing with post partum, definitely felt like she just grazes the surface. Second half of the book far better than the frst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Kept waiting for it to be over

    Boring
    Exagerrated
    Dont waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good story - funny/sad/truthful

    As a labor & delivery nurse, I found parts of this book very amusing. It also shows how postpartum depression can affect a woman's life. There's so much truth in this book, I really felt sorry for Heather. Makes you see how there's a glimmer of possibility that PPD can cause a woman to hurt others...A must read for anyone whose life has been touched by hormones, whatever the source!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    It Sucked but I Read It Anyway.

    The book was chosen for our monthly book club and even though it's been a long time since my kids were babies, I thought this would be a cute book and that I would enjoy it. It started off fine - I found myself laughing out loud at a few parts. But after about halfway through, I started getting really annoyed with the author's OVER USE OF ALL CAPS. I think she used them at least once on every page. And there was also The Whole Use of Title Case To Be Cute Thing that also drove me nuts. I know this is just a style thing, but it became very distracting to me from the actual content of the book. Another thing that annoyed me was her extreme exaggerations. Some are funny, but these were so overused that they lost their effect and just became stupid. Onto the story itself - the premise was okay, and I certainly could relate to some of the postpartum emotions, but I really hated how she described her baby. Either she acted like the child was a demon spawn from hell sent to make every second of her life miserable or she was "eating" her! I can't imagine ever writing letters to my children like the ones she included - especially when they will surely see them at some point. Although it sounds like she had a very intense struggle, there didn't seem to be much emotional depth in her descriptions of her experiences. Or maybe I just missed it because of all the above-mentioned annoyances. It also seemed to me that she really wasn't all that much better after her breakdown and medications. (She still sounds totally nuts!) Perhaps she was better, but I just didn't see much of a "before and after" in her book. I thought she could have made this a much better book by being a little more "real" and not trying so hard to be cute. Perhaps this is just an example of how a good blogger doesn't necessarily make a good novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Cool book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Loved this book-made me laugh hysterically!

    Just finished reading this book and I thought it was both realistic and completely hilarious. I have 3 children and found this book to be a detailed and accurate account of what is is really like to have a baby. It's not the warm and fuzzy part, but the part that you only find out by first hand experience. If you are thinking about having children, it is a must read. I was surprised by many of the negative reviews. Maybe for some it was redundant as I have never read Heather's blog. My husband has always said that people who tell it like it is (as we both do) are never popular because people do not want to hear the truth. I also found it inspiring that someone was willing to share their personal struggle with postpartum depression to help all the other women in the world who could be struggling with it as we speak. I enjoyed Heather's straight forward style and you can read 1 or 2 pages to see if it fits you. To all those who have buyers remorse perhaps you should open the book and read a few pages before your next purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. Armstrong chronicled a difficult and very serious time in her life, then wrote about it in a way that helps others relate and makes it funny at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15