Customer Reviews for

It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita

Average Rating 3.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

hysterical

I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings...
I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings about the experience and that it could be so funny. I would recommend this book to all women who have been pregnant or are about to be pregnant.

posted by 2791515 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It sucked and then I cried because I could't return it.

I have been a long time reader of Dooce and I was excited to read this book as I thought it would provide more details and insight than her daily blog. Unfortunately I just paid $25 to re-read blog entries I read for free a few years ago. Very disappointing.

posted by 1255021 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I don't get it

    This book was a little all over the place; happy, then sad, then happy, then sad. A little confusing. So while the writing wasn't bad at all, the structure was off. Plus if you've been through pregnancy and childbirth yourself, her story is nothing new or unique. She's just not as interesting as she thinks she is.

    And I really disliked her tendency to use frequent ALL CAPS FOR COMPLETE SENTENCES.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    It's a yawner

    I kept thinking this book was going to get interesting, but it never did. I was not familiar with Heather Armstrong or her blog because I find personal diary type blogs to be hideously boring and don't read them. This book is kind of like one of those blogs, only in book form.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    The title is great, but if ur planning to have a baby soon its not a good choice!

    This book has its funny parts, but overall I think it puts too much of a negative tone on pregnancy and having children. If she thought it sucked that much, then why did she have a second! I couldnt finish this one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Skip the book, read the blog.

    Like many of the other reviewers, I was really excited about this book and I had hoped it would give more of an insight than her blog... however, it ended up being just her old blog entries.

    Seriously, just read her archives and save the money. The content was good, it's exactly what you would expect from her, but it was nothing new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Not terrible but i wouldnt recommend it.....

    This story tells about a womans pregnancy and the shock of parenthood. Book had some funny parts but overall it was ok. To much negative tone on pregnancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Kept waiting for it to be over

    Boring
    Exagerrated
    Dont waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    It Sucked but I Read It Anyway.

    The book was chosen for our monthly book club and even though it's been a long time since my kids were babies, I thought this would be a cute book and that I would enjoy it. It started off fine - I found myself laughing out loud at a few parts. But after about halfway through, I started getting really annoyed with the author's OVER USE OF ALL CAPS. I think she used them at least once on every page. And there was also The Whole Use of Title Case To Be Cute Thing that also drove me nuts. I know this is just a style thing, but it became very distracting to me from the actual content of the book. Another thing that annoyed me was her extreme exaggerations. Some are funny, but these were so overused that they lost their effect and just became stupid. Onto the story itself - the premise was okay, and I certainly could relate to some of the postpartum emotions, but I really hated how she described her baby. Either she acted like the child was a demon spawn from hell sent to make every second of her life miserable or she was "eating" her! I can't imagine ever writing letters to my children like the ones she included - especially when they will surely see them at some point. Although it sounds like she had a very intense struggle, there didn't seem to be much emotional depth in her descriptions of her experiences. Or maybe I just missed it because of all the above-mentioned annoyances. It also seemed to me that she really wasn't all that much better after her breakdown and medications. (She still sounds totally nuts!) Perhaps she was better, but I just didn't see much of a "before and after" in her book. I thought she could have made this a much better book by being a little more "real" and not trying so hard to be cute. Perhaps this is just an example of how a good blogger doesn't necessarily make a good novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2