Customer Reviews for

It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita

Average Rating 3.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

hysterical

I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings...
I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings about the experience and that it could be so funny. I would recommend this book to all women who have been pregnant or are about to be pregnant.

posted by 2791515 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It sucked and then I cried because I could't return it.

I have been a long time reader of Dooce and I was excited to read this book as I thought it would provide more details and insight than her daily blog. Unfortunately I just paid $25 to re-read blog entries I read for free a few years ago. Very disappointing.

posted by 1255021 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    hysterical

    I found this irreverent look at pregnancy and childbirth hysterical. I live in a house with three people who have mental illness and could empathize with the author; however, having been pregnant twice, I found it refreshing that someone would expres their true feelings about the experience and that it could be so funny. I would recommend this book to all women who have been pregnant or are about to be pregnant.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I Laughed, and Then I Cried

    It Sucked and Then I Cried / 978-1-416-95914-4 I haven't really followed Heather Armstrong's blog, although I've read just enough of her to know I find her truly hilarious, so I picked up this book in an off moment figuring I'd read it "later". Somewhat ironically, I mindlessly turned to this book when I was in a depressed funk over my complicated journey trying to conceive, and I'm amazed to say that this book was the ONE thing that would lift my spirits back to a happy place. For me, at least, this book is *hilarious*. I didn't just laugh - I snorted, wheezed, and chortled my way through the first half of this book. I howled so hard that tears streamed down my face and my throat hurt from laughing so hard. Hearing Heather detail all the ups and downs of her pregnancy didn't - of course - lessen my own intense desire to conceive, but rather made me laugh at all the "fun" I have to look forward to. There's something very wonderful about Armstrong's writing - she reminds me somewhat of a modernized Erma Bombeck, with her ability to combine sarcasm and gallows humor with a strong streak of self-parody, and yet - underneath it all - you can still see how fiercely and passionately she loves her family. "It Sucked and Then I Cried" covers all the hilariously fun things that you don't learn in the pregnancy magazines, from the contortions you'll go through just to empty your bladder, to the sleepless nights from being crushed by the gravity of your own body, and it is a testament to Heather's writing skills that all this is rendered completely, totally, breathtakingly funny. Later in the second half, Armstrong details her own "breakdown", culminating in a hospitalization for her postpartum depression, and I am so humbled at her matter-of-fact tone and her willingness to share these personal experiences. The tone throughout is still very funny, but the laughs lessen slightly as the tears take over. It's impossible to not feel sympathy for this vulnerable woman wracked with chemical depression, and for her patient and wonderful husband who helps her through this time. And it's impossible to not feel grateful for her sharing these experiences, because when and if it hits in your life, you're grateful to know that there's not alone, there is hope, and life can get better. I loved this book from start to finish, and I really think this is the best book I've read all year. I'm baffled by the poor reviews, but apparently there's some overlap between this book and the author's blog? (This confuses me, really, because when I like an online humorist I WANT to get a "book version" of their blog - I didn't buy all those "Best of Dave Barry" books for nothing, after all.) My recommendation would be to download a sample of the first chapter, and see how it goes - if you're crying with laughter from the sample, you'll want more, I promise. ~ Ana Mardoll

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    A good book

    I'm not a mother, though some day I hope to be. I've never suffered from depression and hope I never do. I have been a fan of heather's web site for years though and this book was an extremely good read. As someone who has never experienced any of the topics in this book first hand I still enjoyed reading this book. It's written with a sense of humor and intelligent wit which I really enjoyed. I even read the part about her time as an exchange student to my boyfriend and he enjoyed it too! Would recommend to anyone, not just new moms.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Enlightning

    I bought this book because the title caught my eye, and because I wanted to do some reading regarding parenting.
    One thing you don't find often is a personal account of how complicated (both in a good and bad way) being pregnant is, since it's always depicted as an idyllic thing.
    This book definitely opened my eyes to the raw honesty and reality of post-partum depression, a taboo not many people want to talk about.
    "It Suck and Then I Cried" should be a must-read for any mother-to-be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    loved it!

    great book! hilariously funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Funny

    Humorous, honest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Hilarious read for a first time mom

    I loved that this book was so head on and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Ive never had kids....but I lovednthis book.

    I am 25 and not married and no kids because Im super career oriented. After this book it changed my perspective and made me laugh. Parents are brave and I can only hope I get to be blessed enough to experience it...even through the tears and PPD cause I know I will endure it due to my situational depression/anxiety issues. ALL IN ALL: GREAT INSPIRING BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I have yet to read this, but plan to.......

    I always read reviews before buying a book, and typically wait until I read a book before writing my review. Therefore, this is not an actual review, but my two cents on being a mother, and remembering my experiences with my 1st born, now 23 years old. He was colicky, my husband was out of state at the time on a job site so I only saw him on weekends, and though I didn't suffer PPD, I did experience the hormonal changes czusing "baby blues" said to be mild PPD. I was also having the changes from gestational diabetes, ehich was diet controlled, (I'm a nurse), so my hormones were all over. I will write a review when finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Hilarious!

    Haven't laughed this hard in a really long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Makayla

    I love it good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    AWESOME book!!

    This book was wonderful....as a parent I really enjoyed this book. I could totally relate to so much!!! There were MANY laugh out loud parts!!! My husband would often ask what I was laughing about!! You will love this book especially if you are a mommy!!!! New mommies could really use the laughs this book provides especially during those first few hectic months!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good story - funny/sad/truthful

    As a labor & delivery nurse, I found parts of this book very amusing. It also shows how postpartum depression can affect a woman's life. There's so much truth in this book, I really felt sorry for Heather. Makes you see how there's a glimmer of possibility that PPD can cause a woman to hurt others...A must read for anyone whose life has been touched by hormones, whatever the source!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. Armstrong chronicled a difficult and very serious time in her life, then wrote about it in a way that helps others relate and makes it funny at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    True and funny

    If you are a mother or expecting this book brings to light the things we don't talk about! Very funny! Relatable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    fantastic

    great read for anyone that has had a hard time adjusting to being a new mom!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Great book

    It's nice to see someone be honest about what it's like to have a baby. It's not always giggles and smiles. Anyone who wants to have a baby should read this book first to see what they are getting themselves into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    funniest book i have ever read!

    i feel like this book was written just for me! hilareous!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    amazing!!

    Laughed and cried along with her! Being pregnant now with #2 and having postpartum depression and anxiety with my first, it was easy to relate to the author and her struggles and accomplishments. I loved how it was written as if she was talking to you and even at hard times she still makes you laugh. definitly recomend this book to any new mother being dragged through the trenches or anyone looking to get pregnant who can enjoy someone elses story without getting bothered. many a nights i have stayed up just to read "one last page" before passing out. definitly not a book you will want to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    amazing!!

    Laughed and cried along with her! Being pregnant now with #2 and having postpartum depression and anxiety with my first, it was easy to relate to the author and her struggles and accomplishments. I loved how it was written as if she was talking to you and even at hard times she still makes you laugh. definitly recomend this book to any new mother being dragged through the trenches or anyone looking to get pregnant who can enjoy someone elses story without getting bothered. many a nights i have stayed up just to read "one last page" before passing out. definitly not a book you will want to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6