Customer Reviews for

It Takes Balls: Dating Single Moms and Other Confessions from an Unprepared Single Dad

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious, painfully honest. Recommended for single parents, any

Hilarious, painfully honest. Recommended for single parents, anybody who knows a single parent, anybody who knows or was at one time in life a douchebag teenaged boy. Thank you Mr. Wolf. I hope to see more from you soon.

posted by 877392 on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Some good laughs, some truths, but short and not very deep.

I lived some of Josh's experiences and can see where he is coming from. I had hoped for more laughs or insight for 11.99 and so few pages.

posted by 3611074 on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Some good laughs, some truths, but short and not very deep.

    I lived some of Josh's experiences and can see where he is coming from. I had hoped for more laughs or insight for 11.99 and so few pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Funny and engaging

    Couldn't put it down. Hilarious start to finish. Thanks to Josh Wolf for this great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Hilarious, painfully honest. Recommended for single parents, any

    Hilarious, painfully honest. Recommended for single parents, anybody who knows a single parent, anybody who knows or was at one time in life a douchebag teenaged boy. Thank you Mr. Wolf. I hope to see more from you soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Lone

    He pads in to the lake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Glow

    Making sure he was gone she padded into the mountains and howled listening to the pained howl echo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Moonshine

    She sat on a rock and howled at the moon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Luna

    Bounds off to the main camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Moonshine

    Padded in and layed down in the sun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great Reads!

    I really enjoyed reading this book, it gave me so many laughs. I loved the fact tat he kept it real 100%. He didn't sugar coat anything and described what the real world was like through his eyes as a single parent. I honestly would not read this again, it's a good one reader but I would definitely encourage other people to read it, so they can share some of the great laughs like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Chris

    R u a demigod

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Lea

    Are you bi?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Hysterical!

    I read this all in one fell swoop and cried laughing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Hilarious

    That was by far the funniest book I have ever read. His writing style made it very easy to read. I literally couldn't tear myself away from it. I read half of it one day and the other half the next. I get bored easily, but I wasn't bored at all. There were certain points where I was literally laughing so hard that I had to put my Nook down and take a minute or two, it was that funny. I Highly recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    At times, I was laughing so hard I had to put the Nook down and wipe my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Great!!!

    This book is hilarious!! Easy read and i could not put it down at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Ddwr

    Dewf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite The short tales i

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    The short tales in “It Takes Balls” are written of actual events from the author’s life. Josh Wolf has an amazing and talented way of telling the stories. After telling each story he makes profound remarks. The author’s love for his children shines through the humor in his stories. While these tales are from Wolf’s perspective they could very well be written from most single parents' viewpoints. The tales have a common thread of the author’s viewpoint on dating and child-rearing. Apparently the author once coached his son’s baseball team. After reading this book Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches will never look the same. One of my favorites concerned his teenage daughter, the internet and a first kiss. Males in most species have one dominant male as head of the tribe. I laughed out loud at the 'Wrestling with the Future' story; Josh’s place as head of the household was challenged by his son.

    Josh Wolf is a stand up comedienne; he is a regular on the Chelsea Lately Show. I love this book! It gives readers a new perspective into Josh’s personality. While I found myself laughing out loud at many of the stories I also found myself admiring him as a single parent. His deep love for his children shines through his words. It is also obvious that he puts his children first. I highly recommend “It Takes Balls.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1