Customer Reviews for

It Takes a Family: Conservatism and the Common Good

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Finally!!

    Finally, someone is getting the message the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has been saying for decades!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Common Sense 101

    The Senator clearly shows a good understanding and comprehension of common sense, and how society can benefit from it. He explains the importence of man-woman marriage, and the family as the central unit of learning for a child. Overall, a great book!!! (I also look forward to reading Sen. Clinton's book, It takes a village, so that I can compare the two on a closer level.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    think of the children....

    ... while you are focusing on your career and daycare is 'raising' your children for you, I guess you never really stop to think about the effect of two working parents has on their children. The moral fabric of America has deteriorated because there is no longer one full time at-home parent to RAISE children instead of sticking them in daycare. Couples are just greedy about their new cars and other toys to show off or simply needing two jobs because they lack budgeting skills. Instead of budgeting their lives to live off one income, now both parents (if they are still even together) are out working and remove themselves from raising their children. If you want to be Ms. Corporate Woman, then I advise if you ever have children, you are married to Mr. Stay-at-Home Dad. At 34, I still don't think I'll ever meet the person I can stay with for 20+ years to properly raise a child, so childless I shall remain. In the age of 'my baby's daddy' instead of someone being able to say 'my husband' ... I find a book about morals to be refreshing. ~kev

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Great Book

    I think this is a truly great book that tackles many of problems with our society that I have felt but not been able to describe. But beyond outlining the problems Senator Santorum provides a clear cut picture of hope for the future and lays out the challenges and responsibilities that our families must take to keep our nation strong for our children and grand-children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Best Book I have Ever Read on What is wrong with Family's in America

    This Book is written with more facts than fiction on what is wrong with the Children of today. The Liberals think anything is OK as long as it does not hurt anyone else. This way of thinking is ruining our great kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Absolutley perfect

    Thank you for being a man in todays society and caring for our children especially those who are under privlaged. I am a mother of three and wife to a truly wonderful husband.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Working women/ Stay at home moms Applaud Rick Santorum

    I would like to Thank Senator Rick Santorum for standing up in what he believes in and representing the state of Pennsylvania. He proudly states that ALL women, NOT JUST THOSE WHO WORK OUTSIDE THE HOME, should be treated fairly. His strong beliefs that the family is the cornerstone of a working society are exactly what this country needs in these harsh times. God Bless him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    It Takes a Family: Conservatism and the Common Good

    I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK. SEN RICK SENTORUM HAS TRULY WRITTION A MASTER PIECE AND IN MY OPINION SHOULD BE NOMINATED FOR A NOBEL PEACE PRIZE FOR COMING UP WITH A BOOK OF HOPE. SO MANY NEGATIVE GROUPS AND CONCERNS ARE OUT THERE THAT ARE DOING THERE BEST TO TRY TO TEAR THE FAMILY APART AND I WAS JUST SO THRILLED TO READ SEN SANTORUMS BOOK 'IT TAKES A FAMILY' CAUSE HE SHOWS IN THIS GREAT BOOK OF HOPE THAT THE FAMILY IS MENT TO BE SOMETHING SPECIAL AND ITS MENT TO BE KEPT TOGETHER AND ITS MY HOPE AND PRAYER THAT MORE PEOPLE WILL READ THIS BOOK CAUSE NOT ONLY IS IT A BOOK OF HOPE BUT ITS A WAKE UP CALL.THIS BOOK WOULD MAKE A WONDERFUL GIFT FOR THAT SPECIAL SOMEONE IN YOUR LIFE:PERHAPS A FAMILY MEMBER A FRIEND,OR CHURCH MEMBER OR CO WORKER OR A NICE NEIBOR. AND YOU CAN BUY IT ON BN.COM AND YOU DONT HAVE TO WAIT INLINE OR FULL WITH LONG LINES.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    It Takes a Family: Conservatism and the Common Good

    THIS IS A TRULY REMARKABLE BOOK AND THE WRITER OF THIS BOOK RICK SANTORUM DESERVES A NOBEL PEACE PRIZE FOR WRITING SUCH A WONDERFUL PUBLICATION THAT WILL OFFER HOPE TO MANY. I REALLY ENJOYED READING SEN. SANTORUMS BOOK BECAUSE HE SHOWS YOU THROUGH SOME FASINATING RESEARCH AND DOCUMENTATION THAT FAMILYS ARE THE TRUE STRENTH OF AMERICA. IAM GOING TO BUY A COPY OF THIS BOOK TO A MINISTER FRIEND OF MINE.PLEASE BUY THIS BOOK TO A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER FOR A GIFT. AT WWW.BN.COM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Right On Rick!

    Thank God we still have a few brave politicians left in the U.S. who are not afraid to say what needs to be said. Keep fighting the good fight Senator Santorum!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1