Customer Reviews for

It Won't Be Soon Before Long

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    maroon 5 has done it again

    i mean im just a kid but i love this band so much their catchy toons and their great slow songs and i dont care if they say the f word its great music its not that innappropiate but these songs are gonna get you hooked once you listen to them you CANT STOP buy it people buy it its so awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not quite like their first

    Personally, for me, when I first heard Songs About Jane, there was something unique there that I had never heard in any other band before. Their lyrics seemed to reach out to me. The same goes for It Won't be Soon Before Long. The catchy tunes of Makes me wonder, Wake Up Call, and Can't Stop reach out to a new audience, and songs with the same great lyrics that are found in SAJ appeal to their old fans. Such songs as Not Falling Apart, Back at you Door, Better that we Break and Nothing lasts forever have great lyrics and even though they aren't in the same style as Sweetest Goodbye and Sunday Morning, these songs are just as loveable. But I hope in their next album that they incorporate some of the style of Sweetest Goodbye and Sunday Morning into atleast a few songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was just mediocre

    I desperately loved every song on "Songs About Jane," so I bought this CD without even listening to some of the samples, and I was pretty disappointed. Perhaps I am simply not the right audience for their new style. The album seems over-produced and a bit too flashy. I preferred the more honest and simple lyrics of their previous work. Maybe if I listen to it some more it will grow on me, but that's not what I'd hoped from a Maroon 5 album, particularly one for which I'd waited so long.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They've Done It Again

    Just when you thought "Songs About Jane" couldn't be topped, Maroon 5 has proved everyone wrong. "It Won't Be Soon Before Long" has got everything from Prince-esque rock to cheeky ballads. "If I Never See Your Face Again", "Makes Me Wonder", and "Can't Stop" are some of the more upbeat moments on the record that make you want to dance and sing along while "Won't Go Home Without You", "Nothing Lasts Forever" "whose chorus comes from Kanye West's "Heard 'Em Say", which Adam Levine sang", and "Goodnight, Goodnight" will definitely appeal to those "who seem to be females for the most part" that are touched by Adam Levine's warm, yet soothing voice when it comes to ballads. This set of songs establishes Maroon 5 as a band that will continue to tear up the pop charts while bringing the upbeat tunes that keep listeners dancing along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another spectacular addition

    This is yet another wonderful album by Maroon 5 that of course may not be as great as Songs about Jane, but it definitely is not dissatisfying. The only song where there is profanity is "Makes me Wonder" but other than that the other songs are 'clean.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Maroon 5: Their best album yet!

    Maroon 5 has done it again with another amazing album! All of the songs are good, but my favorite is Makes me wonder. It is so catchy and it never gets old to me! Way to go Maroon 5- you have done it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This CD has ONE HIT...and it's terrible..and OVERPLAYED! Not worth buying because you can hear the one good song on any radio station just once every hour. Chances are that MTV and Clearchnnel something are playing it right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The songs on this album are okay, but the lyrics are horrible!! DON'T BUY THIS! "Makes me Wonder" says the f word in every chorus! VERY bad songs that are not appropriate for kids and aren't good for older people either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Maroon 5 never marketed themselves as a child-friendly band, so the reviewer who gave the CD a poor rating because of the F word needs to go listen to Barney or the Wiggles, not ROCK AND ROLL if she is so worried about cursing. I have heard some of the CD and I think it's incredibly catchy and memorable. The guys kept us waiting for this one, and it was worth it. VERY funky!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    BUY THIS ALBUM! Ever song on this c.d. is great. But i'll break it down song by song if you only download: 1. "if i never see your face again" this song is 100% prince inspired. Great Party Track 2. "makes me wonder" The first single off their cd, and it's hot! The video is great. 3. "little of your time" Sounds like an okgo song. Funky, happy little song. One of my faves. 4. "wake up call" weird beat. Great song!! Love it. Starts of slow, but becomes fierce with great rifs. 5. "won't go home without you" kind of boring, but good the first few spins. Intrumentals sound like "time after time" during verses. 6. "nothing lasts forever" where have i heard this song? It's really good, but i can't listen to it, 'cause all i can think about is what movie i've heard this in, or whatever. Sad song, but faster beat. 7. "can't stop" Well, to mention Adam Levine touches himself, and "wakes up making love to a pillow..." Creepy song. Kind of stalker-ish ode. Make this a video!! 8. "goodnight goodnight" No, this isn't "kriptonite". Everytime i play this album, this is probably the most boring song. So sleepy, don't drive while listening to this!! 9. "not falling apart" After the last album mostly set to rage against woman, and then sorrow for them, Adam Levine just wants to tell you he's "not falling apart". So, now that you know, skip to the next track. 10. "kiwi" THIS SONG ROCKS!! AND I DON'T CARE WHAT ANY CRITICS SAY!! DOWNLOAD THIS SONG NOW!! 80's IS BACK!! 11. "better that we break" This song could be a little more depressing. But it's material James Blunt would cry through. 12. "back at your door" How nice, a happy ending. But why are we at a wedding? He's moving back in with a girl...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Listen to it more than once before you judge.

    It Won't Be Soon Before Long is not as good as SAJ .. but it's still a great album. I just finished listening to it for the first time as I am writing this, and to be honest, almost half the songs I liked immediately. True, it's disappointing they don't have that same "rhythm or feel" we fell in love with in their previous album, and no one expected a change this big, but I'm not disappointed with the songs themselves. Most of them I wouldn't mind hearing over and over again (example: back at your door, AMAZING) Trust me, people. After listening to the album a few more times, everyone will fall in love with it eventually. If this were their debut album, no one would be complaining about the songs or music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Maroon 5 lovers rejoice! The sound on their sophmore album is different, as it should be, since the release of Songs About Jane was 5 years ago. The style of lyrics hasn't changed, they are still full of meaning and soul. The sound has changed and progressed with a harder edge. True Maroon 5 fans will be able to love the album from the first second to the last. Maroon 5 is in a select group of bands/artists where every song is given equal play and the same amount of love. I can't listen to anything else. This album was well worth the wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing, I love it so much

    This album is seriously amazing. I've been waiting a long time for this album, and now thats its here, for me, it was well worth the wait. I love each song, particually "Little Of Your Time" and "Can't Stop". I havent stopped listening to this since I got it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    B&N employee that has nothing better to do...

    This CD is very funky and dance pop...but awesome. It is a lot like their first album. You shouldn't ask yoursel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW! OH WOW!

    You'd be a fool not to buy this CD! Every track is amazing and the production is crisp. They have crafted their sound to perfection. It's a creeper...you like it the first time you run it through, then you just can't put it down. "Makes Me Wonder", "Little of Your Time" and "Kiwi" are in my ear but honestly I can run the whole CD and not go forward or go back because the production is sooo tight. They made a song from the chorus of their Kanye West combo of "Heard 'Em Say" and it made a nice song. Just get the CD you won't be dissappointed. They're on top of their game right now. It was well worth the wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different, but still catchy

    I've been waiting for this album for such a long time, and I was so excited to go out and buy it. I agree with what someone said before, the more you listen to the album, the more you love it. It really is a fantastic album with catchy beats such as on "Wake Up Call", "Can't Stop", and others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I love Maroon 5's older stuff "including songs from Kara's Flowers", and after waiting years for "It Won't Be Soon Before Long" I was sorely disappointed. While I agree with the critics that Maroon 5's new album has broad market appeal, I feel they betrayed their core fan base with disappointingly superficial lyrics, and an overly-polished pop style. Having said that, my favorite tracks are: "Not Falling Apart" and "Infatuation". I'm not saying I don't like the album. It's just not what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2