Customer Reviews for

The Italian Slow Cooker

Average Rating 3
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book for first time crock pot users!

I'm not sure what book the other reviewer had. I've never used a slow cooker before (had one in the cabinets for a long time as a gift) and heard about this on Public Radio. Everything I've made has been so easy, simple and great tasting (come from a big Sicilian family...
I'm not sure what book the other reviewer had. I've never used a slow cooker before (had one in the cabinets for a long time as a gift) and heard about this on Public Radio. Everything I've made has been so easy, simple and great tasting (come from a big Sicilian family where nothing is as good as Grandma makes). Please give this book a try. I know you will not be disappointed.

posted by browseswithcafe on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Italian Slow Cooker

Plug it in, walk away-and cook like an Italian grandmother.

Yes, it's that easy. Michele Scicolone, a best-selling authority on Italian cooking, shows how to re-create the traditional flavors Italian food in your slow cooker. Meat and Mushroom Ragu, Milan-Style P...
Plug it in, walk away-and cook like an Italian grandmother.

Yes, it's that easy. Michele Scicolone, a best-selling authority on Italian cooking, shows how to re-create the traditional flavors Italian food in your slow cooker. Meat and Mushroom Ragu, Milan-Style Pasta and Beans, Sicilian-Style Orange Chicken, "Big Meatball" Meat Loaf, Osso Buco and Red wine-with just a few minutes of prep time in the morning, you can come home to an authentic Italian meal that you'll be proud to serve to family or company. Simmered in the slow cooker, these dishes are as healthy as they are delicious. Risotto and polenta are effortless-no need for all the usual stirring-inexpensive tough cuts of meat turn luxuriously succulent, and cheescakes emerge silkily flawless. Just one question: Why didn't someone think of this before?

I tried a few of the dishes in the book and for the most part I really enjoyed them. I'm sorry to say that once again I'm having to do this review without pictures because I've been a lazy little boy and have not replaced my digital camera yet, so I apologize for you not being able to see how good the food looked once it was done. The only thing that was better than the look was the smell and the taste of it. One note I will say, and one I almost missed in the book, is that the recipes are for a slow cooker that is 5-7 quarts. I'm going to share two of the recipes I tried out and I encourage everyone to give them a shot.

Calamari Soup

1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
2 large garlic cloves, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
1 1/2 pounds cleaned calamari, cut into 1/2 inch rings
1 cup peeled, seeded, and chopped fresh or canned tomatoes
1 large carrot, chopped
2 medium celery ribs, chopped
2 medium potatoes, diced
1 8-ounce bottle clam juice
5 cups water
2 cups fresh or thawed frozen peas
1 cup white rice
Salt and freshly groud pepper
2 tablespoons copped fresh basil or parsely

In a large skillet, cook the bell peppers and garlic in the oil over medium heat until tender, about 15. Scrape the mixture into a large slow cooker.

Add the calamari, tomatoes, carrot, celery, potatoes, clam juice and water. Cover and cook on low for 2 hours. Add the peas, rice, and salt and pepper to taste. Cover and cook for 20 minutes more, or until the rice is tender. Stir in the basil or parsley and serve hot.

Because I'm allergic to green bell peppers I did use red bell peppers instead, other than that I did it exactly the way the recipe is written and I loved it. I had my first bowl with parsley and while I like it, I tried it the next day for lunch and used basil instead and enjoyed that better. I ate this with a arugula salad and some toasted Italian bread. The recipe said this serves 6, though we got 7-8 servings out of it.

Pears in Marsala

1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup Marsala
1/2 cup organge juice
1 cinnamon stick
6-8 firm ripe pears, such as Bosc or Anjou

In a slow cooker, stir together the sugar, wine, orange juice, and cinnamon stick. Place the pears upright in the cooker and spoon some of the liquid over them. cover and cook on high for 4 hours, or unitl the pears are tender when pierced with a knife.

Uncover and let the pears cool in the cooker, basting them from time to time. Carefully transfer the pears to a serving dish. Discard the cinnamon stick. Pour the juices over the pears and chill until serving time.

Loved, loved, loved this o

posted by Ryan_G on February 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Great book for first time crock pot users!

    I'm not sure what book the other reviewer had. I've never used a slow cooker before (had one in the cabinets for a long time as a gift) and heard about this on Public Radio. Everything I've made has been so easy, simple and great tasting (come from a big Sicilian family where nothing is as good as Grandma makes). Please give this book a try. I know you will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wow! How did I get along without this book?

    As a fan of both slow cooking and Italian food, this book hit a gland slam home run for me! Each recipe is the best making menu planning from this book a challenge, all are wonderful choices.
    I recommend this for the new and experienced cook. This makes summer side dishes easy, delicious and interesting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Italian Slow Cooker

    Plug it in, walk away-and cook like an Italian grandmother.

    Yes, it's that easy. Michele Scicolone, a best-selling authority on Italian cooking, shows how to re-create the traditional flavors Italian food in your slow cooker. Meat and Mushroom Ragu, Milan-Style Pasta and Beans, Sicilian-Style Orange Chicken, "Big Meatball" Meat Loaf, Osso Buco and Red wine-with just a few minutes of prep time in the morning, you can come home to an authentic Italian meal that you'll be proud to serve to family or company. Simmered in the slow cooker, these dishes are as healthy as they are delicious. Risotto and polenta are effortless-no need for all the usual stirring-inexpensive tough cuts of meat turn luxuriously succulent, and cheescakes emerge silkily flawless. Just one question: Why didn't someone think of this before?

    I tried a few of the dishes in the book and for the most part I really enjoyed them. I'm sorry to say that once again I'm having to do this review without pictures because I've been a lazy little boy and have not replaced my digital camera yet, so I apologize for you not being able to see how good the food looked once it was done. The only thing that was better than the look was the smell and the taste of it. One note I will say, and one I almost missed in the book, is that the recipes are for a slow cooker that is 5-7 quarts. I'm going to share two of the recipes I tried out and I encourage everyone to give them a shot.

    Calamari Soup

    1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
    2 large garlic cloves, chopped
    1/4 cup olive oil
    1 1/2 pounds cleaned calamari, cut into 1/2 inch rings
    1 cup peeled, seeded, and chopped fresh or canned tomatoes
    1 large carrot, chopped
    2 medium celery ribs, chopped
    2 medium potatoes, diced
    1 8-ounce bottle clam juice
    5 cups water
    2 cups fresh or thawed frozen peas
    1 cup white rice
    Salt and freshly groud pepper
    2 tablespoons copped fresh basil or parsely

    In a large skillet, cook the bell peppers and garlic in the oil over medium heat until tender, about 15. Scrape the mixture into a large slow cooker.

    Add the calamari, tomatoes, carrot, celery, potatoes, clam juice and water. Cover and cook on low for 2 hours. Add the peas, rice, and salt and pepper to taste. Cover and cook for 20 minutes more, or until the rice is tender. Stir in the basil or parsley and serve hot.

    Because I'm allergic to green bell peppers I did use red bell peppers instead, other than that I did it exactly the way the recipe is written and I loved it. I had my first bowl with parsley and while I like it, I tried it the next day for lunch and used basil instead and enjoyed that better. I ate this with a arugula salad and some toasted Italian bread. The recipe said this serves 6, though we got 7-8 servings out of it.

    Pears in Marsala

    1/4 cup packed brown sugar
    1/4 cup Marsala
    1/2 cup organge juice
    1 cinnamon stick
    6-8 firm ripe pears, such as Bosc or Anjou

    In a slow cooker, stir together the sugar, wine, orange juice, and cinnamon stick. Place the pears upright in the cooker and spoon some of the liquid over them. cover and cook on high for 4 hours, or unitl the pears are tender when pierced with a knife.

    Uncover and let the pears cool in the cooker, basting them from time to time. Carefully transfer the pears to a serving dish. Discard the cinnamon stick. Pour the juices over the pears and chill until serving time.

    Loved, loved, loved this o

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Absolutely DELICIOUS!

    I began to really dislike my slow cooker meals and recipes I had collected because the meals always looked AWFUL coming out of the cooker to the plate. It always had the appearance of overcooked MUSH. Michele changed that for me and I'm a believer in slow cooker cooking once again! THANK YOU Michele! You have really made one very, very busy business owner happy. I also have "The FRENCH Slow Cooker" by Michele and I have it on my NOOK and iPad so using it in the kitchen is a breeze!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Good Easy Food

    This recipes in this book take slow cooker cooking up a notch. The recipes are easy to prepare,use simlpe everyday ingredients, but you get big flavors. Its nice being able to serve your family ( or company ) a special meal even if you've spent the day pampering yourself, helping at the childrens school or shopping

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Yummmy

    This is a beautiful cookbook, easy to use, fab food, very Italian, great gift book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    So far I've made one recipe from this book and it really WAS lik

    So far I've made one recipe from this book and it really WAS like my
    Italian grandmother's cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Cookbook!

    Enjoyed looking at the pictures. Easy recipes. I am giving it to my daughter as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    excellent book>

    Lots of great recipes and easy to make.
    This is a good book to have in your library and also great to give as a gift.

    Love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Save your Money

    This was one of the poorest books I have ever purchased. I bought for a Christmas gift, it's going into my yard sale bin.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2