Customer Reviews for

It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's All About Him

The biography It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life written by Denise Jackson is a book about her good and bad times in the life of fame. Denise shares with us her life-changing story of her life struggles with being a wife of a country music artist Alan Jack...
The biography It's All About Him: Finding the Love of My Life written by Denise Jackson is a book about her good and bad times in the life of fame. Denise shares with us her life-changing story of her life struggles with being a wife of a country music artist Alan Jackson and a mother of three children. Denise talks about her and Alan's separation and that as hard as it was going through that, it was a growing experience and that they came out stronger in the end. Through this Denise found happiness, Denise says, "as I chased after God, I actually found my true self." Most of this book is based on Christian values. When reading this book I didn't not want to put it down wanting to know what happened next and what she learned while going through it. I recommend this book to any woman who needs encouragement and who chooses to seek God and desires to find their true self. As she says, "brokenness moves my story forward in a way that peaceful times do not. It's in difficulties that I became desperate to really know God, to cry out to Him."

posted by BeccaG1 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother you know the ending!!

I didn't like the book at all, I felt she took the blame for his unfaithfulness and was willing to do whatever to get him back. I didn't like how she continue to let us know how much money they had, that was the point she didn't want to give that up. Harsh but true....

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    It's All About Her?

    First of all, I do not believe Denise and Alan Jackson were compatible from the very outset of their relationship. From the very beginning of the book there were many unsuitable likes and dis-likes. Initially it was a physical attraction at best - more so on Alan's part 'He having pursued her.' As time marched on in their marriage, they began to drift apart and then they fell apart after Alan's infidelity. I got the sense that Denise would have liked to share more concerning Alan's unfaithfulness but showed great restraint in choosing not to cast him or his career in a bad light. It was upsetting to me and I'm sure countless others to see Denise blame herself for Alan's betrayal or trying to pull herself down to his level for a few impure thoughts she may have had back when...whenever. Denise fought long and hard by exhausting every avenue to restore her relationship with Alan until finally surrendering it all to Christ, the Author and Finisher of Our Faith. I to have been there until I did exactly what Denise did in crying out to God to not only save my marriage but to save myself and by divine intervention, my marriage was spared. That was over 25 years ago and we are still going so very strong today. In all honesty, I do not think Denise would have fought so long and so vehemently to save her marriage if it were not for the extravagant and opulent lifestyle she had come to know and love, for herself and for their children. I appreciate Denise's honesty in making mention in her book before the fame and fortune she said to Alan, 'I don't remember any woman chasing after you when you worked the second shift at K-Mart.' I truly believe that Denise would have shown Alan to the door had it not been for all the wealth. It is my hope that they will both stay on the straight and narrow path that leads to everlasting life and their children as well. The scripture does say, 'It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.' Denise closed her book by quoting the passage, 'Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, neither has entered into the heart of man, the things which God has prepared for them that love Him.' However, for the readers enlightenment I would like to add the very next passage that states, 'But God has revealed them unto us by His Spirit: for the Spirit searches all things, yes the deep things of God.' I'll close by sharing this thought, 'It is Christ Himself who empowers us to forgive those who have violated our trust, all we need do is ask and by the Holy Spirit He will enable us to forgive all.'

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    What is your future worth!!!!

    This couple is well deserving of the wealth and riches portrayed in this book and I am glad she shared those with everyone! But she came to admit you can have it all in the world but without HIM you will never find true happiness! Its a blessing to see someone blessed beyond measure from the Lord and the talents he gave Alan and through it all the Lord will always come out on top. He brought them through tough times and gave them all they deserved! Its super easy reading I finished it in two days. Its a good pick me up book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Good Reading

    I would recommend this book for someone who just enjoys a good story. I was surprised how I could not put it down. I was blessed and felt better about my walk with God after reading this book. Again, no this will not change the world in some profound way but it is a great story to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Staying on Track

    This book I recommend I am a former stay at home Mom and I feel this book can be a great help for couples. I feel Denise emphasizes the wealth aspect only as to say, it's not about wealth and this healing is available to all who seek it. 'It's All About Him', is thought provoking and inspirational with a simple hearted flair. It is to me delightfully humorous and poignant. It shows the humanity, that regardless of social status, we all share.Separations of any kind are not easy. Denise was given great strength through her faith to sustain her during their personal trials. I admire the strength of this dear young woman.a young woman of deep found faith. I enjoyed the humorous side of their relationship. I thank Denise for sharing a bit of the private life of the Jackson family. It's a great read ! It shows that with love and faith, one's marriage can prevail.I think Alan acknowledges his wrong doing and was willing to seek therapy and save his marriage. I admire them getting back on track with God and really knowing 'It's All About Him.' I wish Denise much success with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Inspiring and Faith-building

    I found the book very interesting and enjoyable to read. Denise was very honest and humble even as she explains the 'star's life' she led and still, to some extent still leads. Her story shows that pain and depression are not removed by things, by fame, by even the love of a handsome, creative country singer. Relationship with the one who made us is what satisfies a heart's cry. I was struck by how blessed Alan is to have Her, at the end of the story, where as at the beginning you were seeing how great he was. It's also super encouraging to read about a famous couple that came back together after a very publicized and painful separation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1