Customer Reviews for

It's All Too Much: An Easy Plan for Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Long-term helpfull advice

I was impressed with this book. This author is different from all those that talk about 'organizing'. The author does not just give you advice to organize your home, but gives you the help (and understanding) to DECLUTTER your LIFE for good. It's not about rearranging ...
I was impressed with this book. This author is different from all those that talk about 'organizing'. The author does not just give you advice to organize your home, but gives you the help (and understanding) to DECLUTTER your LIFE for good. It's not about rearranging your clutter in a more neatly way, but to let go of the load of clutter you have been accumulating for years, making you understand what's important and not in life, so you and your family can live happier. It also helps you to understand why you do the things you do when it comes to 'hoarding' stuff. The book is addicting, straightforward, well written and easy to understand. Purge your home, purge your life, open a window to 'fresh air'. Reading it might help you to save money in the long run.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Book, but not for Nook

I loved the book and his approach to controlling clutter. I don't recommend getting this book for your Nook. He uses several charts and text boxes and the Nook format cuts off the bottom text. I had to abandon one chapter because when I tried to turn the page near the...
I loved the book and his approach to controlling clutter. I don't recommend getting this book for your Nook. He uses several charts and text boxes and the Nook format cuts off the bottom text. I had to abandon one chapter because when I tried to turn the page near the middle of the chapter, the Nook went back to the library page. I finally had to choose "go to" and move on to the next chapter.

posted by retired-teacherMO on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Long-term helpfull advice

    I was impressed with this book. This author is different from all those that talk about 'organizing'. The author does not just give you advice to organize your home, but gives you the help (and understanding) to DECLUTTER your LIFE for good. It's not about rearranging your clutter in a more neatly way, but to let go of the load of clutter you have been accumulating for years, making you understand what's important and not in life, so you and your family can live happier. It also helps you to understand why you do the things you do when it comes to 'hoarding' stuff. The book is addicting, straightforward, well written and easy to understand. Purge your home, purge your life, open a window to 'fresh air'. Reading it might help you to save money in the long run.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    A Great Book for Motivation

    Peter Walsh helps you understand what you really want and then guides you through doing it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    Very motivational

    I watched Peter (the author) on TV for several seasons and found this book by accident while browsing at Barnes and Noble. What a find it was. It has inspired me to take simple steps that have really changed my life. It is hard to decide what to let go. By giving you the concept of "decide what you want your life to look like then keep what fits" this book really hits the mark. It is much easier to make decisions rather than focusing on the stuff and deciding "keep or go". It is a joy to walk into my bedroom now and I do have extra money thanks to getting rid of things that, while still good and useful to someone, don't fit the picture of my current life. Grab it, read a couple of chapters, and you'll be hooked. Very readable. I can't wait to start on the garage and attic.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Good Book, but not for Nook

    I loved the book and his approach to controlling clutter. I don't recommend getting this book for your Nook. He uses several charts and text boxes and the Nook format cuts off the bottom text. I had to abandon one chapter because when I tried to turn the page near the middle of the chapter, the Nook went back to the library page. I finally had to choose "go to" and move on to the next chapter.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Things you know you should do, but...

    Clutter happens. That's the moral of this book. And, the reader must just hunker down and throw out some stuff when bringing in more stuff. It's not that I don't know that (my husband keeps telling me the same thing) but Peter Walsh puts it in much nicer tone and coaxes you to do the right thing. So far, I have de-cluttered a bit, but it has not gone full-scale yet so I can't say it's a 10. It's probably an 8 right now.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Where has this book been?

    I have been battling messiness and clutter all my life and I am only 34. My mom was a hoarder and we really didn't know the extent of it until she was rediagnosed with cancer and we had to get into her house to find things. After I moved out and bought my own place the hoarding progressively got worse to where she ultimately wouldn¿t let anyone in her house. All the signs were there from her car and obsession to buy things just because they were on sale or cheap. This book would have done wonders for all of us and even her. She felt it was all so overwhelming and I think the baby steps that Peter has you take would have done wonders for her. I started reading this book after years of wanting to change and now seeing all the influx of her belongings into my house. She passed away this past summer and I was having a hard time of getting rid of anything just because it was hers. Peter makes you take a look at ¿WHY¿ do you really want it. I have discovered that I keep so many things not because I like them but because I feel I am obligated to keep them. No more. I have too many things in my life that do not bring me joy and things that have been stored for that ¿just in case I need it¿ time. I haven¿t even finished the book and my husband has already seen great changes. Our house was never bad but I do like to collect things and papers seemed to be the worse culprit. With Peter¿s wise words I am going to declutter my life once and for all. I know I will have to come back and go over sections again as time passes. I knew I needed something like this book as I will have to be cleaning out my mom¿s house soon and I know I can now have a better insight to keeping things and letting things go. I am actually giving this book to one of my cousins as it does seem to be a family trait. I know this is one trait I do not want my baby girl to carry on. You definitely do have to be open to what he has to say and be ready for the experience.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Just what I needed to get motivated to declutter!!

    I loved how Peter Walsh got to the heart of why we have clutter and the steps to take (whether babysteps or full force) to get motivated to start a life altering way of dealing with our things!! He was also brilliant in getting us to consider the psychological effects of managing our things to live more free lives on so many levels. I'm going to pass this book on to my friends to pay it forward!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Great read for those of us who hold on for dear life to our stuff!!!

    I enjoyed it so much that I bought one for my sister (who holds on to WAY more stuff than I do) for her birthday! It is very motivating and really helps to explore WHY the stuff is so important. He does a great job getting to the root of the problem of WHY you feel you need to keep the stuff. He helps eliminate the waste and then helps to organize what is left! I loved it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for clutter-bugs!

    I really liked this book. It has some of the best advice on how to declutter and get your home in tip-top shape. If you need some help in this area--or a lot of help!--then this is the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for those of us who have lived with clutter for our whole lives

    I love the way he makes you think, but doesn't put you down for having a problem with clutter. He is all about helping you work through it, and has an approach that is very motivating and inspiring. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for answers to the clutter issues.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Organization and Cleaning Tips

    This book is very helpful if you want to clean out and organize your house, and keep it running efficiently. The book provides exercises you can share with your roommates or family members, and for the single person to do on their own, or with the assistance of an organized friend or relative. It mostly focuses on houses and families, but he does address the needs of singles and apartment-dwellers as well. One thing I liked about this book is that the author does not urge you to buy more stuff to get organized. Instead, he encourages you to discard, give away or sell things you don't need anymore, and he gives you some parameters to help you figure out what those things should be. Lest you think he's some kind of organization Nazi, he does cut you some slack and is aware that sometimes we keep things because of an emotional attachment. He eases you through that, too. I tried his method and I threw out and gave away a substantial amount of stuff. I still have far to go. I also recommend the "It's All Too Much Workbook," which gets into more detail behind the concepts addressed in "It's All Too Much," and gives lists, quizzes, questionnaires and appendices to help you through the "debriding" process (that's what my sister calls it). Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I needed help real bad because I am a clothes hog and a clutterer. I feel like an addict I am sure! I need too much STUFF for some reason? This book made lots of sense. Of course, it's all true with good common sense, we all should recognize. I knew most of it before I read the Book. But the Book was a needed motivator to help me get my act together. I would recommend this book 100% for someone like me.

    Or if you just simple need to know how to get organized & didn't know how to get started.

    And it's alot cheaper than going to Therapy. And it's where I can pick it up when I need a boost when I start to think I need something MORE and useless.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Inspiring!

    I love Peter Walsh's no nonsense, yet sensitive approach to clearing out the clutter in life. Although a lot of it is common sense, when one is faced with piles of clutter, it helps to be reminded.

    This book has inspired me to take a serious look at not only the clutter in front of me, but the source and drivers that cause it. Thank you, Peter, for helping me get my life back!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Ok

    Ok if you have kids and are battling hoarding tendancies. But if you are trying to de-clutter this may not be the best choice. If you can't find your dining room table, or your spair bedroom then yes this should help.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Use This To Change Your Thinking and Your Life

    Peter Walsh goes straight to the heart of the issues within clutter and how it affects our lives in ways we cannot imagine. I have always suspected there was more to it than meets the eye and he drives home this point, at times repetitively yet effectively. His compassionate support and clear logic is helping me to launch my own campaign against clutter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Many, many cd's to listen to

    I gave this as a gift to my significant other. He is so overwhelmed by the number of cd's in the set that he cannot bring himself to listen to them. He feels as though there is something inherently wrong with a 'how to organize your life topic' coming with so many cd's. If I could find a shorter version of this book I'd buy it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    gets you started

    gets you started when you need that push.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Lleo

    How? Whats it doin.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3