Customer Reviews for

It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I love this author. Very entertaining! I am the 'dumper' who has been struggling with whether or not to go back and try to work on the issues but this book helped me to see that the decision I made, although extrememly painful, was the right one. Going back would just...
I love this author. Very entertaining! I am the 'dumper' who has been struggling with whether or not to go back and try to work on the issues but this book helped me to see that the decision I made, although extrememly painful, was the right one. Going back would just be a temporary fix. I highly recommend this book...infact, I am going to buy a copy for my ex!

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Swift Kick For The Recently Single

An interesting, hip take on an age old problem. In this follow-up to "He's Just Not That Into You", Behrendt teams up with his wife, Amiira Rutola-Behrendt to present both sides of the problem.

I personally enjoyed their tag team approach as each shared their own sto...
An interesting, hip take on an age old problem. In this follow-up to "He's Just Not That Into You", Behrendt teams up with his wife, Amiira Rutola-Behrendt to present both sides of the problem.

I personally enjoyed their tag team approach as each shared their own stories and allowed readers a glimpse into the mind of the opposite sex. The authors have a complementary and well- blended writing style that works well together while reminding the reader that there are two distinct people with entirely separate experiences and ways of handling the same situation.

While often blunt, the book manages to avoid being preachy and generically over-optimistic. They deal with tough issues like alcoholism, obsessive behavior, and mindless self-indulgent pity parties without coming across as judgmental or self-righteous. Their strategy of openly and honestly discussing their own flaws and past mistakes makes for a sympathetic, but not enabling, read.

Though the book is primarily focused on romantic relationships (and their slow, painful deaths), a friend of mine actually recommended this to me when I was having friendship issues. Thought skeptical, I tried it out and found that she was right- the book applies to breakups of all sorts, professional, social, and otherwise.

A good resource for the self-conscious, self-referential, self-help generation.

posted by NomadiCat on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Love

    So funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Get it - it will make you laugh while you're crying.

    I bought this book the day after my boyfriend broke up with me, just because I wanted comfort from somewhere without burdening my friends. It cuts through all the mist and confusion of the emotional turmoil you're going through, and gets you through to reality, believe it or not, in a funny and entertaining way. I found myself laughing out loud a lot, which is much better than being a sad weepy victim. This book offers plenty of common sense advice, sorely needed when you're going through this crap. I especially enjoyed the Psycho Confessional. Stuff I'd love to do to him, but really can't...bad karma...but I can fantasize, right? I think this book shortened the duration of my mourning, helped me to see him for the first class jerk he is, and made me realize I deserve better. From my point of view, this book was 10 bucks well spent. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great lessons learned

    Funny take on break ups. The break up buddy worked very well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good Points

    While this book may be meant for a younger audience, I have found it helpful in a failing marriage. Not only is it encouraging but Greg and Amiira give great advice and key points that are easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Best Breakup Buddy Ever!!

    After several breakup attempts with my ex-boyfriend, I finally found the advice I needed to stay strong and move on with my life. This book is funny and entertaining as well as motivational. I highly recommend this book to any broken-hearted girl (or boy) out there! This amazing little book has done a better job consoling me than my friends have. Buy it! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent

    Very helpful. A little repetitive but needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    amazing!

    Amazing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Helped me see the light!

    Ive been going through a terrible breakup with a guy who I was with for 8 years. It was an on again off again relationship for 7 of those years but I was completely in love with him...or so I thought. This book touched on every aspect of how Ive been feeling for the past 8 months since we broke up and it really cleared my head and helped me open my eyes. It was nice to know that I wasnt the only person in the world that felt the way Ive been feeling as I go through this breakup. I definately recommend this book to help give you some guidance and clarity. Overall a terrific book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    It was great to hear this fun and funny couple's point of view. Their advice helped me see my own mistakes in the relationship and it actually led me to be able to repair it. I have recommended this book to many a friend in their own heartbreaking breakup situations and it not only gets you laughing, but their insight is so keen that it helps you change your outlook. I have read and reread this book, and read sections of it over the phone to friends in need. Endearing, entertaining, relevant, and thorough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Just what I needed.

    I am so thankful for this book. It has helped me realize that, no, I dont need to keep wondering if I will regret walking away from my relationship, because it has been over. I am excited to move head-on into my breakover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Loved it!

    What a lift. When you're moping & unhappy after a breakup, this is the perfect thing to reinstill humor in your life. Moving on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Helpful

    This book was helpful, even when I didn't like what it had to say. It was funny, and sad at times but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Loved it!!!

    What can I say about this book...it's great and I loved it! It was recommended to me while I dealing with a recent break up - I am currently on my 60 day "he-tox" and it does help to have a specified time...it is becoming easier and easier not to have contact and I'm wondering why I would want to talk to someone who completely broke my heart. The information was very helpful and I now evaluate men differently. Would highly recommend it to anyone needing some advice about how men think and deciphering their actions. Also loved his book "He's Just Not That Into You."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Such a big help

    Motivating and a crutch when someone breaks your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Awesome

    I went through a break up recently with a guy that I had been with for three years. Even though I was the one who broke it off, it is never easy to end a relationship. This book helped tremendously. It helps to advise you in the usual mistakes that are made when going through a break up. I would recommend this book to anyone, in a relationship or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking up is hard to do...

    ...and so you have a book like this to help. It's a must read, even if you're not currently in a relationship just because the things listed in the book (psycho ex for one) can help you not to make mistakes when you do start dating again. A great read and helps heal the broken heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    Just what I needed!!

    After my relationship ended, I was devastated! Sure, we had broken up NUMEROUS times before, but I could tell this time it was different. Both he and I knew that there was nothing else that we could do to try to salvage the relationship. To be honest, our relationship wasn't even that great to begin with. I finished the book in 2 days, read the first 200+ pages the day I got home from the bookstore, I couldn't put it down. It is such a fantastic book, made me laugh at a time when all I wanted to do was cry. Also, kept me from doing some of the "psycho ex-girlfriend" things I had been plotting... Yes, the book is written by a happily married couple, but they don't dwell on that, instead tell you about past loves gone wrong, and how they coped. All in all a great read, and would recommend to anyone, even if they weren't dealing with a break up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    You Always Need Someone else to tell you

    This book is the reality check you need when a relationship ends. It light-hearted, yet serious banter it puts right inf ront of you what you've been in denial about for those days, weeks, or even months after a breakup. With lessons about rebound relationships to reinventing yourself and everything in between, the authors show you how you can recover and become the best you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Awesome book!

    This book gave me the reality check I needed. I knew all along this was the right thing to do but when it was actually over I became completely depressed. If it had not been for this book I might be still thinking he was the greatest but the truth was we just didnt work well together. So I highly recommend this and if it doesnt help, get some therapy and maybe some antidepressants. And move on with your life, its too short to waste time on someone who is not wasting time on you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Helping Hand

    My name is Crystal and I was 16 when i first read this book and it still helps me today being a young adult. I love the title because it matches whats inside the book. It talks about different experiences about a relationship and it helps you deal with them. I love this book and I advise that if you are going through a relationship thats going no where hurry up and get this book before its too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8