Customer Reviews for

It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I love this author. Very entertaining! I am the 'dumper' who has been struggling with whether or not to go back and try to work on the issues but this book helped me to see that the decision I made, although extrememly painful, was the right one. Going back would just...
I love this author. Very entertaining! I am the 'dumper' who has been struggling with whether or not to go back and try to work on the issues but this book helped me to see that the decision I made, although extrememly painful, was the right one. Going back would just be a temporary fix. I highly recommend this book...infact, I am going to buy a copy for my ex!

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Swift Kick For The Recently Single

An interesting, hip take on an age old problem. In this follow-up to "He's Just Not That Into You", Behrendt teams up with his wife, Amiira Rutola-Behrendt to present both sides of the problem.

I personally enjoyed their tag team approach as each shared their own sto...
An interesting, hip take on an age old problem. In this follow-up to "He's Just Not That Into You", Behrendt teams up with his wife, Amiira Rutola-Behrendt to present both sides of the problem.

I personally enjoyed their tag team approach as each shared their own stories and allowed readers a glimpse into the mind of the opposite sex. The authors have a complementary and well- blended writing style that works well together while reminding the reader that there are two distinct people with entirely separate experiences and ways of handling the same situation.

While often blunt, the book manages to avoid being preachy and generically over-optimistic. They deal with tough issues like alcoholism, obsessive behavior, and mindless self-indulgent pity parties without coming across as judgmental or self-righteous. Their strategy of openly and honestly discussing their own flaws and past mistakes makes for a sympathetic, but not enabling, read.

Though the book is primarily focused on romantic relationships (and their slow, painful deaths), a friend of mine actually recommended this to me when I was having friendship issues. Thought skeptical, I tried it out and found that she was right- the book applies to breakups of all sorts, professional, social, and otherwise.

A good resource for the self-conscious, self-referential, self-help generation.

posted by NomadiCat on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    A Good Swift Kick For The Recently Single

    An interesting, hip take on an age old problem. In this follow-up to "He's Just Not That Into You", Behrendt teams up with his wife, Amiira Rutola-Behrendt to present both sides of the problem.

    I personally enjoyed their tag team approach as each shared their own stories and allowed readers a glimpse into the mind of the opposite sex. The authors have a complementary and well- blended writing style that works well together while reminding the reader that there are two distinct people with entirely separate experiences and ways of handling the same situation.

    While often blunt, the book manages to avoid being preachy and generically over-optimistic. They deal with tough issues like alcoholism, obsessive behavior, and mindless self-indulgent pity parties without coming across as judgmental or self-righteous. Their strategy of openly and honestly discussing their own flaws and past mistakes makes for a sympathetic, but not enabling, read.

    Though the book is primarily focused on romantic relationships (and their slow, painful deaths), a friend of mine actually recommended this to me when I was having friendship issues. Thought skeptical, I tried it out and found that she was right- the book applies to breakups of all sorts, professional, social, and otherwise.

    A good resource for the self-conscious, self-referential, self-help generation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Great!

    I love this author. Very entertaining! I am the 'dumper' who has been struggling with whether or not to go back and try to work on the issues but this book helped me to see that the decision I made, although extrememly painful, was the right one. Going back would just be a temporary fix. I highly recommend this book...infact, I am going to buy a copy for my ex!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    great book for post-breakups

    Three years ago I ended a long term relationship and like so many others had my heartbroken, struggling to find an answer and cope. I picked up this book and it literally saved my life. It teaches you how to move on with your life post breakup. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking to move on once and for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Makes you feel very sane

    Although I didnt get any major eye opening advice from the book, I ended up feeling saner after reading all of the stories. The book is very funny, light to read, and reiterates that your relationship is over. Its like yet another friend telling you what you already know, its over, he sucks, you can do so much better! The advice it offers is very down to earth, what any girl should do, and although you will feel like you already know all that you are reading, its nice sometimes to be reminded what to do when you feel lost.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    COMMON SENSE BUT A FUN READ

    Sometimes we need to read a book in order for the common sense to kick in. This book brings nothing new to the table. It just reiterates what we instinctly know, but choose to ignore. But it is a good book that reminds us in a good-natured way to find someone who's actually worth keeping around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh and cry your way through a breakup & come out better

    What an eye-opening book...I learned a lot about myself even when I didn't want to believe it. With humor, the authors worked me from "how could it happen to us, how do I get him back" to "why would I want him back".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    You have to get this book!!!! Its such a BIG help!

    So I heard about this book from a friend and she claimed that this book not only helped her but made her feel great and was extreamly funny. Wouldnt you know it about 5 months later I was in the same boat that she was in. Not good at all. It actually was a HORRIBLE breakup and I decided that maybe I should try this book out. IT WAS SO GOOD. My goodness the authors know exactly what they are talking about and I found myself laughing most of the time. This book is a great investment so I recommend getting it if your having a bad breakup! You WONT be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Couldn't have done it w/out this book!

    A girlfriend of mine recommended this book to me. She had just gone through a very emotional break-up and said that this is what got her through the first 60 days. I have to agree. I carried it around with me the first 2-3 weeks and every time I felt weak, I opened it. No matter what page I read I instantly felt better--not perfect, but better because I was reminded that my ended relationship neither made me less of a great person nor signified the end of my opportunities at love. They are funny and honest--yes, often brutally so--but it works!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    This is the best medicine! Pick up this book when you're bummed out about a guy because it's really funny, will make you laugh and being happy is all that matters in life! Some of the stuff is pretty harsh, but unfortunately 99 percent of it is true....You can handle it! There are worst things in life! This book will make you stonger & more confident! ENJOY!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    Why this book helped me after the breakup

    After eight months of dating a man who was always there for me, always looking to spend time with me and always telling me he loved me I saw that the relationship was going nowhere i.e. there was never any hint about the future. I realized 'He's not into me' and did not take it personally. However, because I had/have good self esteem I decided to take the bull by the horns and end the relationship myself. He claimed to be very upset. I then asked him what (if any) were his long term intentions with me and he told me that he 'Just wanted a long term girlfriend'. I explained that I needed someone who (at 44) could get out of the playpen and have a real life with a woman. I asked him why he did not tell me this in the first place. He said 'I thought I would lose you'. I read your book afterwards and found so much truth in it. I am now happily married becuase I allowed my mate to follow his primordial instincts that no woman's movement could hope to change as these instincts have taken two million years to develop!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    A witty and helpful kick in the ass

    Witty, helpful, and not your average pathetic self-help book. This was a clear and much needed kick in the ass during a very trying and confusing time...im recomending it to all my girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    #switched@birth

    I thnk a breakup is the hardeest thing to get throug in life since u spend most of the time with that person and wen suddenly ur cut off u feel that u are not able to continue on life anymore.in my opinion i dont think a book is going to help u heal i thnk it is time that helps the old wounds heal and just spending time with friends helps alot;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Definitely a book to read!! Even if your not experiencing a breakup

    Simply amazing and very uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Please read this book - it truly helped me . The book is a must

    Please read this book - it truly helped me . The book is a must read if you are going through a break up.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Just What I Needed

    I am a nineteen year old that just went through my first breakup. The relationship lasted for almost two years and this guy had me wrapped around his finger. We were so in love and knew everything about each other. We spent every day together until we went to different colleges, he felt that the distance was too difficult and ended it. Its been the hardest thing I've ever had to deal with and this book has been there for me and helped me through my sadness. I feel like when I carry the book it makes me feel better. I'm not completely healed, but just reading the stories about other breakups makes me feel better because I know im not alone. You will be referred to as a "superfox" or a "hot mama" to make you feel better and get that encouragement to get up, realize this is for the best, and move on to someone better. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great Post Breakup Book

    This book gave me the kick in the a** I needed to get over the loser I ended things with.
    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Pretty good

    I read this after a bad breakup. Then I reread it after another breakup. Gave me a good self-esteem boost when I was miles away from family and friends and needed support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Loved this book!

    After breaking up with my boyfriend i had to admit that i was deeply saddened. So much that i did something i thought i would never do which was purchase a self help book. Yet this book was so helpful and it expressed everything exactly how i was feeling it and what i was doing to make m life worst then what it was. After reading, I was able to gain the confidence that i needed to get over my ex. I would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Excellent

    I just recently went through a breakup and when i would feel down i'd start reading this book & it kind of open my eyes to my relationship & that im not alone and its okay to feel the way i was feeling...Also i enjoyed the stories & advice that was given. Some of it was really funny. Actually alot of the stories & advice was hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Will i like it??????!

    I know your probly thinking well read it and find out but wats the point about having to read something to realize you need to get over them...sorry but open your eyes and move on and life is short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8