BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

It's Not Christmas Without You

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A doomed love?

My Review:
Rating: A
This is a really powerful story for a novella. There is no doubt in this book that Austin and Carrie love each other, but Carrie also has big dreams for her career and she doesn't want to sacrifice that for her love for Austin. She watched her mom...
My Review:
Rating: A
This is a really powerful story for a novella. There is no doubt in this book that Austin and Carrie love each other, but Carrie also has big dreams for her career and she doesn't want to sacrifice that for her love for Austin. She watched her mom become embittered and angry because she gave up her career for her family. She loves Austin enough that she doesn't want that for either of them. The problem...she does still love him and denying him is killing her.

See, it's powerful. So much emotion in this book. Both for Carrie and Austin who are dealing with huge amounts of heartache. It all takes place on a Christmas tree lot which adds a certain air of Christmas magic to the book which I loved. I really liked the way that this novella was laid out. Both of these people have scars because of what happened with their mothers and that definitely affects their response to each other. It's a beautiful love story.

posted by SmittenWithReading on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Is this ok for kids

posted by 9320573 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A doomed love?

    My Review:
    Rating: A
    This is a really powerful story for a novella. There is no doubt in this book that Austin and Carrie love each other, but Carrie also has big dreams for her career and she doesn't want to sacrifice that for her love for Austin. She watched her mom become embittered and angry because she gave up her career for her family. She loves Austin enough that she doesn't want that for either of them. The problem...she does still love him and denying him is killing her.

    See, it's powerful. So much emotion in this book. Both for Carrie and Austin who are dealing with huge amounts of heartache. It all takes place on a Christmas tree lot which adds a certain air of Christmas magic to the book which I loved. I really liked the way that this novella was laid out. Both of these people have scars because of what happened with their mothers and that definitely affects their response to each other. It's a beautiful love story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Beautiful love novella. enjoyed every minute reading this

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Is this ok for kids

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great holiday romance

    Best holiday romance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great introduction to a new series

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews by Kim

    IT’S NOT CHRISTMAS WITHOUT YOU is a great introduction to HelenKay’s Holloway Series. The series centers around the men of Thomas Nurseries, in Holloway, Virginia. This story focuses on Carrie Anders and Austin Thomas.

    Carrie and Austin were childhood sweethearts. After several attempts of breaking up to only end up getting back together again, Carrie Anders has decided to pack up and leave Holloway for her dream job of working at a museum in Washington D.C. . After going through some tough times with Carrie gone, Austin realizes that Carrie is the ONE for him and he will do whatever is necessary in order to make her realize that.

    So, what better way to win back the love of your life than to follow her around? Austin convinces his older brother, Spence to pack up some Christmas trees from their nursery and open a Christmas tree lot across the street from Carrie’s apartment. He figures that if she sees him everyday, she will come to her senses and come back to him and Holloway, where she belongs.

    Things don’t go according to Austin’s plans, naturally. He and Carrie have issues they each need to resolve and must make some compromises if their relationship is going to have a chance to work.

    Source: Personal Purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Pretty good

    It was a fast read, pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Awwwwww

    Really sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Good Read...Life/Love is not always easy, but it worked.

    I enjoyed this book at Christmas Season. They figured "it" out and
    made it work. Not Easy sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is the first book of Helenkay Dimon's that I read. Enjoyed the book very much and looking forward to more of her books. Kept you wanting to keep read to see if he was able to win her over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    nice Christmas book

    This is a nice Christmas read. It has all the love and fluff you would want in a Christmas book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    nice story, good plot

    I love reading Christmas stories during the season. This one was enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Not an exciting read

    Okay, but not one that kept you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    A Good Read

    A nice easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Mediocre

    Not my favorite read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    not what i expected

    reading but not enjoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I didn¿t like their relationship¿If Carrie was my girlfriend I¿d tell her to move on¿

    I’ll admit, I could have skipped this tale. It’s about a relationship that has been on hiatus for roughly 6 months. This is after dating for years: think high school, college, and beyond. Carrie has moved to D.C. because Austin won’t compromise. Austin can’t understand why Carrie would like to have her own hopes and dreams fulfilled working in a prestigious museum rather than a small tourist trap in West Virginia. Silly man, the answer is Duh. What girl doesn’t want all her dreams to come true…even those that don’t include a man.

    What bothered me was that in the end, I don’t think Austin got it. He openly hated Carrie’s job and spent the majority of the novella waiting for her to come to her senses and come home. While the do eventually reconcile and “compromise” it’s not in any way I see working in the long run. I wondered if maybe Carrie should have given the big city boys a chance…because Austin’s not giving up anything for her dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!!

    This book was great! I loved it and wish there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Alright for a Christmas story

    It was alright, mostly predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great read

    Fun quick easy xmas read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Good book

    This was a good book. Wasnt one that I couldn't put down but it kept my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3