Customer Reviews for

It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 559 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's Not easy writing a bestselling book like Lisi Harrison, the author of this bestselling series, did.

Plot: The Pretty Committee, a middle school clique located at a prestigious private academy, return to school after being suspended. The group is greeted back by an adoring public and are finally ready to relax, but not until they win access to a secret, mythical room i...
Plot: The Pretty Committee, a middle school clique located at a prestigious private academy, return to school after being suspended. The group is greeted back by an adoring public and are finally ready to relax, but not until they win access to a secret, mythical room in the undergrounds of their school. Used to getting what they want, the girls (Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Claire Lyons, Kristen Gregory, and Dylan Marvil) expect the key to this mysterious room, but are surprised and horrified when it is announced that everyone- including the least popular girls at their school- will have the opportunity to win. With stakes high and their popularity on the line as whoever wins will be gain It Girl Status, the girls rush to find the room key. Meanwhile, Claire, who previously starred in a Hollywood film, must make a decision on whether to lead a normal life with her friends or move to California.

Characters: As always, the characters are well-developed and in-style. The eye-catchers in this book were Skye Hamilton and Chris Abeley. Skye, a popular eighth grader a year older than the PC, is hard to forget. Described as having buttery blond waves, blue eyes, and being a Taylor Swift double, Skye is a symbol of perfection and beauty not only for the PC but for the readers of this novel. Chris is the older brother of Claire¿s friend Layne, whose existence proves fruitful and necessary for the girls to win the room.

Book Pluses: This book was very entertaining. The best parts of this book were the parts pertaining Claire. Claire is a refreshing outsider, and her romance with the most popular boy at the nearby Briarwood Academy, Cam Fisher, is a hit. Cam and Claire make a cute couple, and to the reader¿s horror and interest, the author always finds a way to create drama between the two.

Relations: I was twelve years old once, the age of the girls in this novel, and must say there were some things I related to and things I couldn¿t. These girls are described as being fast, furious, fierce, and rich, but that is not the twelve-year old I was. A lot of twelve-year olds don¿t have boyfriends. Many aren¿t as popular as these girls. This is a sort of ¿wishing¿ book- the kind of book which featured characters who you ¿wished¿ you were like. But the insecurities, crushes, and tested friendships are relatable.

Age Appropriateness: This book is good for girls in the 11-13 age range. If you are an avid reader and mature, read this book at age eleven. The oldest you should read this book is age thirteen because by the time you reach high school, you will not be thinking like these girls. You¿ll probably undergo more real sagas than is.
My Rating: 5 Stars like always.

posted by Mattie604 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

IT'S NOT EASY BEING MEAN

I am a sophomore at Holt High School. I enjoy reading the Clique books. It's Not Easy Being Mean by Lisi Harrison is book number seven in the Clique seires. In this book Massie, Kristen, Alicia, Dylan, and Claire are finishing up their 7th grade year at Octavian Coun...
I am a sophomore at Holt High School. I enjoy reading the Clique books. It's Not Easy Being Mean by Lisi Harrison is book number seven in the Clique seires. In this book Massie, Kristen, Alicia, Dylan, and Claire are finishing up their 7th grade year at Octavian Country Day. The girls are preparing for their 8th grade year. Massie is the alpha 7th grader and next year wants to become the alpha 8th grader (Skye), so she and the girls have to prove to Skye that they can fill her shoes next year. While the girls are busy thinking of ways to beat the other girls and win the alpha spot, Claire is entering the world of movie stars but while she is acting and changing her style to become more like her chatacter, she is losing someone close to her heart.

Massie Block the same alpha girl that runs the school now has a new goal of becoming the new alpha 8th grader.

Claire Lyons is becoming more independent. She has also found so new friends outside of the Clique. But she is still the girl from Florida.

Alicia Rivera and Dylan Marvil are still following Massie around. Nothing has changed with them.

Kristen Gregory now has some new teammates on her soccer team that she isn't necessarily happy about. This year they may make it to the finals so she doesn't want anything or anyone stopping them.


I would give this book a 4 out of 5 rating it is a good book but there is a lot of drama. I would recommend this book to any girl from the age of 12 to the age of 16. There is a lot of drama and boy problems.

posted by 1443371 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Hate it

    Worse thing ever it even saybad words

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    #&9848 9818

    :):(:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    : p

    this was the worst out of all the clique books it was pointless and so untrue i was really disapointed when i read it this the next one isn't the best either my personal fav is the 5th one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Give me a listen.

    Okay look. They're 12. Seventh grade, and they're rich. They're problem = trusting each other, getting over the fact some people are better than thim. Is that really it? Some best friends. and what are they fighting about!?! Wanna read it? Go ahead. It's fiction. Don't take it to heart. And don't look up to those girls, they're self concious girls that enjoy hurting others. And really don't have a major problem. Are their parents in Iraq, are there friends dying of a deadly disease, are they ridiculded for having their own thoughts? Just think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    How many times must we read the same material?! Claire is once again a reject even though she is the only character that anyone who isn't shallow would like. She should totally have just ditched Massie and all them. Because well, Massie is a brat along with the rest of the PC. No one would stand for that kind of treatment unless they had total self-confidence issues. I also find it hard to believe that an entire school of girls who have been put down and rejected by the PC would be rejoicing their return. If anything, you would find girls crying in the bathroom because they were coming back. Sorry, but the story of a preppy little rich girl is the last thing that any confident or non-Massieish girl would want to read. And also, it would have been cool for the PC to lose. Yeah! You heard me! LOSE! Why do the 'popular' girls end up getting everything and still manage to be witches? Not a good or realistic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    umm no

    I have to say these books started out real good. Now, there just sad, these books should not be 'young adult' they belong in the childrens section honestly. The books are so childish. The girls in the book are so naive and there in the 7th grade!? Come on girls can be nasty but no one really acts likes this....i am very dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    Here are a few reasons why I hate this books. 1-The characters they aren't likable nor are they believable. Massie is a 12 year old goddess who gets everything she wants. The whole school loves her just because she lives in a big house. I've never heard of a 7th grader being looked up to like that. Clair-Shes the newb in town from Florida. Lisi introduces her as a shy blond girl. But through the books she turned into a slutty mini-Massie, 'Like Ohmehgosh I like have to kiss Cam. I HAVE TO!' Alicia, Kristen, and Dylan- The side girls who Massie tortures on and on. 'I'll be a good friend.' Yeah right Massie, I'm surprised these girls haven't jumped you yet for being such a jerk. Plot- Oh my Lisi you should win an award for these wonderful plots you dream up and write in a 3 month span. Here's one after getting expelled the Clique girls are gonna star in a movie that'll get you a lot of money. Uh no...It makes you look bad as a writer to anyone who can tell good literature to a flop. The plots make me want to reach inside the book and choke the characters. They are meaningless! 3-How Lisi portrays 12 year olds-Hey Lisi when was the last time you met a REAL 12 year old girl. No 12 year girl would be in an igloo teaching her friends how to french kiss 'now just roll your tongues around'. And when does a 12 year old girl bash someone down for eating gummi bears 'omg you'll get fat'. Hey Lisi did ya know how much calories and caffeine is in a cup of coffee? If you did you would know 12 year old girls don't drink a cup for lunch at school everyday. If they're so weight-watchy then why are they doing it? Huh? You tell me! All the books overall are stupid. I could have came up with a better synopsis. ~April

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    These books would have been a TAD bit better if the characters weren't seventh graders and were high schoolers..oh wait. no. it would still be ALMOST the same because nobody acts like that. and the thing is, the little preteens think that the life that massie has is the life that they should all have. which is so not true. seriously........all these books do is make preteens who aren't rich feel bad about themselves, and make high schoolers feel ashamed about themselves because the preteens think that this is how high schoolers act and stuff. this is..just immoral and just plain STUPID. there is NOTHING YOU CAN GET OUT OF THIS BOOK BUT A BAD ATTITUDE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    Boring, dull, and repetitive. The reason people like books is because they like the characters and they have a problem and they want that character that they love to solve it. But really, if Massie got hit by a bus and died, I would have laughed and enjoyed the book and gave it a 5, as would many others I assume. But no. Of course they all still love Massie, even though in real life everybody hates the real Massies, Alicias, Dylans, and Kristens in the world. And Claire is getting really shallow. She should so dump the PC and get on with her life! And what happened to her friends in Florida? I know that if my friend moved to Westchester and started to hang out with a girl like Massie, I'd fly over there and kick her butt. She doesn't even care anymore! UGH! When will there be a book that doesn't portray the female sex as shallow? (there will always be girls like that, but really, not all of us are!) It was the same plot and TERRIBLE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Oh My God...

    These books have really gone down the drain. Yeahh...I believe all of this. Who wouldn't think their social life relied on a key...? Oh, right, every person in the world who isn't a clueless bonehead. Dear lord these books suck. Hmm...what's missing? We have LBR...GLU...oh, yeah, add this to your list of acronyms Pretty Committee: POC, cuz that's what these books have become.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    I understand why some girls would read these books, b/c your going into middle school, or you are having a hard time in middle school and you want to read about your idea of 'prefect' girls. and then compare yourself to them. But they are so unrealistic. I have never met a 7th grader who is head to toe in designer clothes. IPC could care less about their grades and more about who has nicer clothes and who has French kissed. Please read something that isn't about girls depending on daddy's money, cuz those aren't the girls that you want to live up to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    these are terrible outlooks on the real world

    these books are about bitches and backstabbing. they sterotype girls in cliques and highschools and make you feel DUMBER. We live in a world where you have to have the right clothes, have money, and insult people to be popular. These books take that and make a twisted story our generation will read and continue the patteren in which $= popularity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Addicting maybe, but not helping

    This book is supposedly written for girls aged 13 to 14, but the vocabulary in this book is as so simple that my 9 year old sister could understand it. Some girls maybe really like these books and that is okay, but they are getting as much knowledge from these books or even less than a televisison show. The point of a book is to enhance your vocabulary, not domb you down to the brain capacity of a thimble, so please think about this before buying this book. And mothers, think about where you want your daughters to be going to college, an ivy league or the community college down the street.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Waste of Your Time

    Clique books are repetitive and pointless...its as simple as that. Books 1-4 made a lot more sense and were at least believable. Once it stopped being plaid, it stopped being cool. The books are filled with bad disses, horrible characters, fake moments . Most people say they like the books because they can relate to it. That's not true. I resemble the average girl, and I had no interest in the latest clique books. If you want to read them, try the first four, theyre better. Its not worth your time OR money $

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Books Like These Are A Waste of Money

    Books like this are shallow, and show the sadly popularity driven need to be cool for teens and younger kids. People who read this act like this, and prove that this book are badly influencing teens. People shouldn't bother reading this, when they could walk into almost any school and find it set up with a heiarchy just like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Worse than poor.

    This series-among others of its kind- are a complete waste of time. They are all the same- and it is COMPLETELY unrealistic in how girls in high school act. If you want to be entertained, don't bother reading this utter trash. Spend your time reading something that ISN'T written by someone who worked for MTV, Seventeen, etc. Because they have no idea of what real life is. They think it's all about Chanel, Abercrombie, being as thin as a toothpick, etc. Don't read this crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    The Clique is back and better!

    OMG! The newest Clique book rocks the charts! It is the best! Given! I really heart the series! It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    Although these other reviews for the clique books are very entertaining, there are some things reviewers neglected to mention. How about starting with that these books are an absolute waste of time, and that in all of my fourteen years I have never been as misfortuned as that sad day when I picked up the seventh of this series? I really suggest that Lisi Harrison spends her time--and any writing talents she might have that these books are completely devoid of--writing about people other than spoiled rich kids who have nothing better to do than stab each other in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

    Although these other reviews for the clique books are very entertaining, there are some things reviewers neglected to mention. How about starting with that these books are an absolute waste of time, and that in all of my fourteen years I have never been as misfortuned as that sad day when I picked up the seventh of this series? I really suggest that Lisi Harrison spends her time--and any writing talents she might have that these books are completely devoid of--writing about people other than spoiled rich kids who have nothing better to do than stab each other in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    . . . . . . .

    These books are terrible. They have no depth whatsoever. They just scream 'Be vindictive, coniving and controlling, Everyone will love you!' The first 5 were already bad, the 6th one took them to an all time horrible. Lisi is an OK writer who with a better plot could write a relatively alright book. These book seriously warp the minds of girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2