Customer Reviews for

It's Not Easy Being Mean (Clique Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(415)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's Not easy writing a bestselling book like Lisi Harrison, the author of this bestselling series, did.

Plot: The Pretty Committee, a middle school clique located at a prestigious private academy, return to school after being suspended. The group is greeted back by an adoring public and are finally ready to relax, but not until they win access to a secret, mythical room i...
Plot: The Pretty Committee, a middle school clique located at a prestigious private academy, return to school after being suspended. The group is greeted back by an adoring public and are finally ready to relax, but not until they win access to a secret, mythical room in the undergrounds of their school. Used to getting what they want, the girls (Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Claire Lyons, Kristen Gregory, and Dylan Marvil) expect the key to this mysterious room, but are surprised and horrified when it is announced that everyone- including the least popular girls at their school- will have the opportunity to win. With stakes high and their popularity on the line as whoever wins will be gain It Girl Status, the girls rush to find the room key. Meanwhile, Claire, who previously starred in a Hollywood film, must make a decision on whether to lead a normal life with her friends or move to California.

Characters: As always, the characters are well-developed and in-style. The eye-catchers in this book were Skye Hamilton and Chris Abeley. Skye, a popular eighth grader a year older than the PC, is hard to forget. Described as having buttery blond waves, blue eyes, and being a Taylor Swift double, Skye is a symbol of perfection and beauty not only for the PC but for the readers of this novel. Chris is the older brother of Claire¿s friend Layne, whose existence proves fruitful and necessary for the girls to win the room.

Book Pluses: This book was very entertaining. The best parts of this book were the parts pertaining Claire. Claire is a refreshing outsider, and her romance with the most popular boy at the nearby Briarwood Academy, Cam Fisher, is a hit. Cam and Claire make a cute couple, and to the reader¿s horror and interest, the author always finds a way to create drama between the two.

Relations: I was twelve years old once, the age of the girls in this novel, and must say there were some things I related to and things I couldn¿t. These girls are described as being fast, furious, fierce, and rich, but that is not the twelve-year old I was. A lot of twelve-year olds don¿t have boyfriends. Many aren¿t as popular as these girls. This is a sort of ¿wishing¿ book- the kind of book which featured characters who you ¿wished¿ you were like. But the insecurities, crushes, and tested friendships are relatable.

Age Appropriateness: This book is good for girls in the 11-13 age range. If you are an avid reader and mature, read this book at age eleven. The oldest you should read this book is age thirteen because by the time you reach high school, you will not be thinking like these girls. You¿ll probably undergo more real sagas than is.
My Rating: 5 Stars like always.

posted by Mattie604 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

IT'S NOT EASY BEING MEAN

I am a sophomore at Holt High School. I enjoy reading the Clique books. It's Not Easy Being Mean by Lisi Harrison is book number seven in the Clique seires. In this book Massie, Kristen, Alicia, Dylan, and Claire are finishing up their 7th grade year at Octavian Coun...
I am a sophomore at Holt High School. I enjoy reading the Clique books. It's Not Easy Being Mean by Lisi Harrison is book number seven in the Clique seires. In this book Massie, Kristen, Alicia, Dylan, and Claire are finishing up their 7th grade year at Octavian Country Day. The girls are preparing for their 8th grade year. Massie is the alpha 7th grader and next year wants to become the alpha 8th grader (Skye), so she and the girls have to prove to Skye that they can fill her shoes next year. While the girls are busy thinking of ways to beat the other girls and win the alpha spot, Claire is entering the world of movie stars but while she is acting and changing her style to become more like her chatacter, she is losing someone close to her heart.

Massie Block the same alpha girl that runs the school now has a new goal of becoming the new alpha 8th grader.

Claire Lyons is becoming more independent. She has also found so new friends outside of the Clique. But she is still the girl from Florida.

Alicia Rivera and Dylan Marvil are still following Massie around. Nothing has changed with them.

Kristen Gregory now has some new teammates on her soccer team that she isn't necessarily happy about. This year they may make it to the finals so she doesn't want anything or anyone stopping them.


I would give this book a 4 out of 5 rating it is a good book but there is a lot of drama. I would recommend this book to any girl from the age of 12 to the age of 16. There is a lot of drama and boy problems.

posted by 1443371 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Not Easy Being Mean

    The title fits this book perfectly. Massie and the rest of the Clique make being the Alphas look simple, but this book shows you that it really isn't. And Claire, a rising movie-star, has to choose between her long-awaited spot in the PC, or the fame and fortune of Hollywood. This book was pretty good. Honestly, I liked #4 and #5 the best out of the entire series, but this book still makes me anticipate the next book. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Next read

    This is the next read in the clique series and i have it on hold at the library. Cant wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Own

    I own this book and I think it is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Love the clique!!!

    Thisbwas a very interestimg book that kapt me turming the pages just like the rest of yhe series has been....hope u write more.....:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    you should read this book!

    I recommend this book if you have read the books before this one because this is a series book.Here's what sort of happens in this book. The Pretty Comittee have to find a key that unlocks a secret room for alphas. It is under the pillow of a Briarwood boy... but which one?? Also, Claire gets offered a role in Princess Nobody. will she take the role and leave Westchester? read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    great for girls

    It¿s Not Easy Being Mean a Clique novel, by Lisi Harrison centers around an alpha group in the seventh grade called the Pretty Committee who attend Octavian Country Day School 'OCD'. The story is about Massie the rich and beautiful horse back riding brunette who is the alpha of the group. The ¿beta¿ of the group, Alicia Rivera, is the second in command in the group, and Dylan Marvil is a rich, spoiled, red-head who loves to eat and her mother is the talk show host on the show The Daily Grind. Next is Kristen Gregory who is blonde, athletic, smart, and secretly poor this fact only known by the Pretty Committee. Claire Lyons, a new addition to the group, is often not respected by Massie, as she is the new girl at OCD. Although she is new, Claire is the first of the group to have a real boyfriend. The story starts off with the Pretty Committee anxiously getting ready for their first day back to OCD after having been expelled for 3 weeks. While looking out her window, Massie notices Claire¿s younger Todd being given gold envelope by the eighth grade alpha, Skye Hamilton. Massie begs Todd to give them the envelope but he refuses. In order to make him come up to her room, Massie and the Pretty Committee seduce him, though not inappropriately. Instantly, Todd runs up to her room in hysterics and out of breath. Massie grabs the envelope, finds a CD-ROM and puts it in the computer, as the Pretty Committee surrounds to see what is on the CD-ROM. The story then goes to say that Skye Hamilton has a key to the secret room at OCD, which the teachers and faculty have forgotten about. There is a contest to see which seventh grader can find the key first, which is hidden under the mattress of a boy a local private school. Massie being the snobby and spoiled alpha she is puts each of her 5 friends in charge of a job to help find the key. Whoever finds the key according to Skye, will have complete power over the room, and the school. At the end, after many twists and turns, the Pretty Committee gets what they want, after bargaining with and unpopular student at OCD. This book is good for girls 11-16 who like chick-flick type books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Are you a Dylan, Massie, or Alicia?

    I'm gonna love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    The Clique Series is the BEST!

    this book was amazing and you cant give up on it! trust me, it gets better! DONT PUT IT DOWN! this book is probably the best on yet!!! so please finish this series! there are 9 of them but more are coming out in the summer of 2008!!!! yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    It's Not Easy Being Mean

    My book was mainly about five girls in a group called the pretty committee. The girls¿ names were Massie, Alicia, Dylan, Kristen, and Claire. It started out a regular day in Massie¿s bedroom when the girls received a tape. Little did they know, the tape they received would lead them into the biggest and most challenging scavenger hunt they would have ever gone on. It¿s not easy Being Mean, by: Lisi Harrison, is a very good book and I highly suggest reading it. The tape the girls received was about a secret door that was hidden in the back of Octavian County Day School (OCD), and the key to unlock it. Skye Hamilton was an eighth grader so the pretty committee obviously looked up to her already because they were seventh graders. Well, Skye was the girl that was holding the scavenger hunt and the one that delivered the tape. The key that the girls were looking for unlocked the door that had been used as a hang out for all of the previous popular eighth grade girls. Considering it was the end of the year, the pretty committee was moving to the eighth grade, and they were popular, they were extremely desperate to find that key. It wasn¿t that simple though. Skye had placed the key under the bed of one of the guys she has kissed before. So the girls had to make a list of all of the boys she kissed, and it was a long list because she¿s kissed a lot. So then the pretty committee had to figure out a way to get into the boys¿ bedrooms and look for the key under the bed. Skye gives a bag of Hershey kisses to every guy she kisses. Well, Claire was at her friend Layne¿s house one night, and Layne¿s older brother Chris had been with Skye before and she gave him the bag of Hershey kisses. The pretty committee was through with their list and they had no clue that Layne¿s brother had kissed Skye so he wasn¿t on it. So when Claire realized that Chris had a bag of hershey kisses from her, she ran into Chris¿s room and pushed of his mattress and under his bed, sure enough, the key was laying right there. So Claire brought the key to the pretty committee, they took it to Skye, and Skye led them to the sacred door, and from then on, the story is to be continued. I chose this book because I thought it was very interesting and the drama in it was very much like some of the stuff us middle schoolers have to deal with. I thought this was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Umm ok unrealistic ?

    Seriously, ok so the girl's may be rich and snobby, && it may not be how YOU act but this is a FICTION novel. So for all of you complaining because this is not how people really act then i suggest you shut up & pick up a non fiction book about the real world because no one cares about yer opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    serena-just ur normal bookworm =p

    i liked this, even though it had a different atmostphere then the rest of the books. i've read all the other books, and i got all my friends into reading it!...and they love it, their hooked!sure it may your average just wat happens in school books, but it's shown from a different perspective, probably frm the one where you read it,compare urself,and wish u were or like 1 of the characters. i can't wait 2 read 'sealed with a diss!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    It Leaves You hangin'

    These books are great but this particular book at the very end leaves you hanging so badly, i won't give it away but it makes you want to keep going, and of course the next book doesnt come out until August, but this book is very good but don't be surprised at the very end when theres not another page afterwards :(.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Yes its true, the girls are snobby and spoiled rotten, but isnt that what girls mostly are?? I mean, I usually hate those girls, but its fun to see the conflicts they get in and how they deal. Im a fan, and they really reflect on how tennagers act. You can see that Theres only a few girls good enough for The Clique, and most are like Claire, just an average, imperfect girl. Maybe it is a tad unrealistic, but who wants a book thats so serious?? I find them intersting, and sometimes I find myself rooting for one girl when shes in a fight. I like Dylan the best. I'm in the seventh grade-SOME GIRLS DO ACT LIKE THAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    1 am reader

    I really love this book. I'm happy I bought it in late June because I would be able to read sealed with a diss. I'm getting it on July 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    LOVE IT!

    I LOVED this book, along with all the others in the clique series. This book reminds me so much of my life, except i'm 3 years older and can drive my own self around. BUT i recommend this book to everyone! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Amazing

    This book was really amazing! I loved how the author described every character with great detail. I really loved how everything worked out for Claire and how everyone got what they wanted with the room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Ah-mazing Book!

    Eh Ma Gawd! This is a really good book. I couldn't put it down after reading the first page. It's a reccommended book and gr8 for any girl! I ab-solutely ah-dore this book. Keep up the good work Lisi!=]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Not Lisi's Best

    This was definantly not Lisi Harrison's best. It seems as though she was rushed to, like, think of a plot because it's a horrid plot. WTF, a key to a freaking secret room!?! Yeah. Ok. I did, however, like that she mentioned Cole Sprouse in it. But I did not like that she made Claire go all, 'OMG I LOVE HIM' cuz as every single one of my friends know, Cole is miiiiine. :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Out-shined By the Rest

    This book started off good. It got a little boring in the middle parts, and it was just completely off the road from the other 6 books. I am a big fan of the Clique, but sorry Lisi this wasn't your best work. Not to mention some words were spelled wrong. But I wonder what is in the secret door! That is fascinating! Overall, it was not as enjoyable as the rest but I would recommend it if you want to see what happens after Dial L, or if you just want to read more about the mistreatment of Clair = ]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    I like these books.

    I really do like these books, but I just think its unrealistic that the main characters are 7th graders. I could see if they were in 9th grade or even 10. I can see where a lot of u guys said that these books are unrealistic and could never happen in the real world and some of them are realistic and some of them arnt. I can see where like being put into a movie because you let some director use your cell phone and he wants you in his movie thats a little far fetch for reality and finding a secret room in your school that only certain people know where it is thats pretty unrealistic too. Some of the things in the book are really realistic like when they have a fashion show at school to pick uniforms and then being in a models in a magazine because those things can actually really happen. Most popular girls in school are mean, bitches, backstabbing girls that care more about there cloths than there grades and its true these girls are mean and bitchy but most girls in school want to be just like that they want to be popular like them and they are some what extreamly realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4