BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

It's Not the End of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    The Best Book I Ever Read!!!

    'It's Not the End of the World' is a very good book!! I hate reading, but once I read this book,I love reading. I read this book in 4 hours!! If you don't like reading or can't find a book for you you might read this one!! You will love it!!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    You must learn from the past and make sure it doesn't repeat its self.

    Have you ever had an argument with your mom or dad? Have you ever heard them argue about just everything? Have you ever felt like giving up on everything, especially love because you are afraid that your relationship might end up like your parents? Especially if they don't get along? In Its Not the End of the World by Judy Blume a young girl name Karen Newman sees her mom and dad argue everyday and sometimes her parents take out there anger on her and her brothers and sister. They never have a decent dinner because it's ruined by her mom getting jealous because of her dad. Her little sister locks herself in her room not wanting to know anything about anyone, she only goes out her room to talk to her dad. Her brother just acts weird. He blames her for their problems and he wishes that he would just leave that house and never come back. He locks himself in his room and doesn't care about anyone either. But deep inside him really cares about them but like a man never shows a tear. This girl faces many challenges and she eventually gets through life and through it all. She is strong tries very hard to never show any kind of emotion because she doesn't want her little brother and sister to worry about it.
    Blum does a great job at making her point, in any book that she writes. This book was an emotional ride but maybe because I could relate, in a way. It's also because it's not so fantasy-ish its a reality like situation. And with all the reality drama going on the imagery ends up being well painted in you head. You know how things might turn out but its still pulls you in. Blume used a little harsh language not to bad just a little so you can feel how serious their situation is and I think that's a very important technique that she used. I give this book one thumb up its great but it's not wow! I recommend this book to people who want to pass by time. It's simple but entertaining. I also recommend for people who are looking for a quick lesson on life. This gives you a quick smooth reality check

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    A good read for teenagers going through a divorce

    My Parents divorced when I was 2 so as I grew up I had to go through 12 years of not having a dad. I read this book and relized I was not the only person who went through that.Even though the main character is a fictional person she tought me that it really is not the end of the world going through a divorce. (my dad is back as of last year!!)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    LOVE IT! READ IT! SHARE IT!

    I really loved this book...a lot! it deals with not such a perfect family.It is about a girl, and her parents are getting a divorce. She trys to get them back together with the help of her grandfather..but she learns a lesson that she will never forget... (even if your parents arn't divorced, it is still a good book to read and to see what other people are going through)share it with people you know...and tell them to consider reading it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Fantastic

    This book was really good! I just enjoy every book i read by judy blume. I am 11 years old and have read this book and Are You There God It's Me, Margret and I liked that book just as much!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Had a great moral!:)

    What would you do if your parents were about to get divorced? Can you imagine having everything fall apart just because of them? In Judy Blume¿s book, It¿s Not the End of the World, this is what happens to Karen! In this book all Karen¿s parents do is¿ fight. They have never gotten along with each other about anything. Karen has decided that she will never get married. Karen has a sister and a brother. One day while they are at a restaurant with their grandparents and their mom, her brother goes to the bathroom and SUDDENLY disappears! Karen and her sister Amy, think that he did it on purpose so that their parents can get back together. Meanwhile, her dad moves into an apartment. She meets a girl named Val there. Her parents are already divorced. She gives her some tips about how to not to be depressed while this happens. Her dad has to go to Las Vegas in order to get this done. I was immediately drawn into the world of this interesting book. Not even one part of this book was boring. I liked it because you can put yourself into the character¿s shoes. I would recommend this book to people who like realistic fiction books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Pretty Good

    Its Not The End Of The World was a very good book for the ages 9-12.It is a very good book if you are in the same situation.Its about a girl who are parent are getting a divorce and she shares her feelings. And there are a few surprises along the way

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    This Is A Must Read Book

    I think the book ¿It¿s Not The End Of The World¿ By: Judy Blume is a superior book for all children who have divorced / separated parents because it talks about how you have to just deal with it. If you try your hardest to get them back together you have to remember they got divorced / separated for a reason and maybe your plan to get them back together will back fire on you. Once I started reading this book I couldn¿t put it down. I recommend more people should read the book ¿It¿s Not The End Of The World¿ By: Judy Blume.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Awesome!

    Its great for a tween girl like me!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Never read sounds like a good book

    From wat ive herd this story is about a girl named Karen whos parnts are going through a divorce and she tries to say her parents's marrige

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I love this book!!!!

    Good book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Great Book

    Karen¿s parents have always argued, and recently they¿ve been getting worse. But when her father doesn¿t come home and her mother announces that they¿re going to get a divorce. It seems as if Karen¿s whole world is falling apart. Her brother, Jeff blames there mom and runs away. Her little sister, Amy asks impossible questions and is afraid that everyone she loves is going to leave. Karen will try anything to bring her parents back together, get sick or run away. But she learns that when Jeff runs away her parents keep on arguing and yelling constantly blaming whose fault it is that Jeff ran away. In the end she realizes that nothing will get her parents back together and that a divorce isn¿t the end of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    tere a great book

    this is a great book for people that parents got divoreced you learn how it feels and what else goes wrong.Some things in life are not perfect and her life isnt. In the book all she wants is someone to talk to and she cant turn to anyone. If u thiink ur life is bad read about karen and jeff and amy who r going through divorce and are lost and confused.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Great Book

    I have to say I love this book. When I was younger my parents stuggled to be together. I read this book at least four times and loved it each time. I felt I knew Karen. Luckily 20 years down the road my parents are still together, but I will always remember this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    The book that made me realize

    At the exact time I was in the middle of reading this book, my parents were seperating, this book made me realize how good i got it than others. Now i know how much i have to appreciate my life no matter how bad it turns out. I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    u want a great book to read well here it is

    i love this book.... it's a great book i decided to read this book because i had my own experiences with moms and dads fighting and this book really made me think divorce isn't he end of the world......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Wonderful book 4 children with divorced parents

    This book is about a girl who's parents are going to divorce and would do anything to stop them.How could her parents do this? Somehow she has to get her parent to love each other more now more than ever. Soon they'll realize divorce was a big mistake- won't they.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Great book

    I wasn't surprised when i read this book. I read it in a day and a half becuase it was so interesting. This can be a book for children of all ages. The promblems were realistic and truthful. Judy Blume is a wonderful author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    A must read book!!!!

    'It's not the end of the World,' by Judy Blume is one of her very bests. It's for children of all ages. Karen Newman, the main character, just found out her parents are getting divorced and does not take it very well. She feels like her family is falling apart and no one else cares including her annoying little sister Amy. So, she comes up with a plan to get her parents back together. If you want to find out what Karens going through you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    This is a great book.

    It's Not the End of the World is a great book. You ought to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3