Customer Reviews for

It's Okay to Be Different

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great for Kindergarten!

I am in college majoring in early childhood education. I had to teach a lesson on diversity to kindergartners this quarter. I found this book and I really love it! The colors are so vibrant, the text is simple and relative, and the kindergartners and their teacher lo...
I am in college majoring in early childhood education. I had to teach a lesson on diversity to kindergartners this quarter. I found this book and I really love it! The colors are so vibrant, the text is simple and relative, and the kindergartners and their teacher loved it! It would be good for preschoolers thru early primary grades.

posted by 312711 on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Says nothing really

This book just says its okay to be this, its okay to be that. The message that children should accept their differences does not sink in because the book does not address any aspect of being different. It must have taken 15 minutes to write the whole book. The illust...
This book just says its okay to be this, its okay to be that. The message that children should accept their differences does not sink in because the book does not address any aspect of being different. It must have taken 15 minutes to write the whole book. The illustrations are not very good. They may have taken 20 minutes to do.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    Great for Kindergarten!

    I am in college majoring in early childhood education. I had to teach a lesson on diversity to kindergartners this quarter. I found this book and I really love it! The colors are so vibrant, the text is simple and relative, and the kindergartners and their teacher loved it! It would be good for preschoolers thru early primary grades.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book on diversity for the young crowd!

    This is one of the best picture books on diversity I have ever encountered. From height and looks to varying abilities, Todd Parr covers many ways to be "different". My favorite page is "It's okay to have wheels"---what a marvelous way to look at life in a wheelchair! My only reservation is that some folks may find the vibrant colors of this title to be a little jarring--it does take a bit of adjustment. For teachers, this book is simple enough for any age group and should be good in a classroom storytime setting as it is a fair size and very brightly illustrated. If you need a diversity title for older children, try my recommendation below, Everybody Cooks Rice.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for Kids @ TeensReadToo.com

    If you haven't yet discovered the magic that is TODD'S WORLD, I recommend that you do so today! This series is great fun for both children and adults alike, whether it be in the form of a book or a video. Todd Parr knows what appeals to kids -- bold, bright, colorful illustrations and characters that are all unique in their own special way. <BR/><BR/>With IT'S OKAY TO BE DIFFERENT, children of all ages learn that no matter what your difference -- being in a wheelchair, being embarrassed, having different moms or dads, having an invisible friend -- it's perfectly A-OK. From the fanciful to the truthful to the whimsical, all kinds of differences are explored in ways that are easy to understand for the youngest reader, but that will also send home a message to those who are older. <BR/><BR/>This is one book you need in your personal collection!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Hchvhbhghxvnbnfbbd



    Hffbgndndnhjdjanfjhhwjdhnxjfjjhfhfjhjhfjvnbvjnfbnjvchvj j j jvjhmfjtjhnbj j j mnv mrjgjgjcjfbjjvjbjgjsgjnghsjbjfnsnngjfjskdhgjbhnjsjvbjndngncncjbjvjvhfuxjbjbmdmmshvbndjd

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    It's Okay to Be Different

    Great guide to explain and teach young kids and teenagers. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Says nothing really

    This book just says its okay to be this, its okay to be that. The message that children should accept their differences does not sink in because the book does not address any aspect of being different. It must have taken 15 minutes to write the whole book. The illustrations are not very good. They may have taken 20 minutes to do.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    re: says nothing really

    This book isn't for adults. It's for kids. The drawings and text are meant to grab the attention of small children. Simple text and drawings with bright colors draw kids in. This book is meant to initiate conversations between children and parents about all the wonderful differences in people. It's up to YOU, the parent to elaborate on the pictures and text, not the author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Book for all ages

    My mother purchased this book for my nephew at Christmas. She enjoyed it so much that she had to purchase another one for herself. Now all of her grandchildren ask her to read it whenever they visit her! Which is a couple of times a week. It's wonderful!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Wonderful book shows children it's ok to be different!

    Our family loves this book because in a funny way it shows children that everyone is different and it's ok to be different. Whether is a different hair, nose or coming from a different place it's ok to be different. My daughter loves this book and asks to read it at least once per hour everyday!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    Encourages self acceptance and acceptance of others

    Bold colors and great illustrations. It was nice to see a book that celebrates our differences and encourages children to be accepting of themselves and others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Dugvhn

    Rrhithj

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    good

    bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2