Customer Reviews for

It's Raining Cupcakes

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

Twelve-year-old Isabel dreams of getting out of Oregon, but with her mom opening a cupcake shop in their small town, Isabel knows she's not going anywhere.

Things start looking up when Isabel learns about a baking contest with a trip to New York City as the prize. If...
Twelve-year-old Isabel dreams of getting out of Oregon, but with her mom opening a cupcake shop in their small town, Isabel knows she's not going anywhere.

Things start looking up when Isabel learns about a baking contest with a trip to New York City as the prize. If she can come up with a winning recipe, her dreams of travel might come true. Unfortunately, her best friend, Sophie, decides to enter the contest, too. This doesn't bode well for Isabel, as things always fall into place for Sophie.

Though Isabel has an amazing chocolate tart recipe, her mother wants her to enter a cupcake recipe to help promote the shop. Isabel's summer is turning out to be a roller coaster ride of decisions and life-altering events, and she isn't enjoying the thrill of it all.

I loved this novel! What a delight to follow Isabel and the other characters on a sweet journey of discovery. Schroeder does a great job of creating likable characters, and her descriptions had me drooling and craving cupcakes. Thank goodness she rewarded my reading with cupcake recipes at the end of the book!

posted by TeensReadToo on June 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Never

Dont know never read it

posted by 15726134 on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    Twelve-year-old Isabel dreams of getting out of Oregon, but with her mom opening a cupcake shop in their small town, Isabel knows she's not going anywhere.

    Things start looking up when Isabel learns about a baking contest with a trip to New York City as the prize. If she can come up with a winning recipe, her dreams of travel might come true. Unfortunately, her best friend, Sophie, decides to enter the contest, too. This doesn't bode well for Isabel, as things always fall into place for Sophie.

    Though Isabel has an amazing chocolate tart recipe, her mother wants her to enter a cupcake recipe to help promote the shop. Isabel's summer is turning out to be a roller coaster ride of decisions and life-altering events, and she isn't enjoying the thrill of it all.

    I loved this novel! What a delight to follow Isabel and the other characters on a sweet journey of discovery. Schroeder does a great job of creating likable characters, and her descriptions had me drooling and craving cupcakes. Thank goodness she rewarded my reading with cupcake recipes at the end of the book!

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great

    I read this last year, and i thought it was excellent!
    It kept me on my toes, i couldnt put it down!!!
    I deffinitly recommend for middle-schoolers.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love this book!!!

    This book is amazing but will lweave you hanging.... luckly there is a sequel: 'Secrets and sweet treats'! Hope this author writes more in this series!

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Good BOook

    This is a very good book for 9-12 aged girls to read if you like this book you should read" sprinkles and secrets " a sequal to this book or also try the CUpcake club seris start with "katie and the cupcake cure" another seris of good books about cupcakes!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    Amazing and full of cupcakes!

    This book tells more than a story about cupcakes but enjoy the people you meet as much maybe more as the place or places you are. It's amazing how a mother can transforme enough to go over her fear of flying to with her daughter on a trip to certant place that I'm not going to tell. It is one of the most insorational stories that I've read even for a book about cupcakes. And that's coming from a ten almost eleven year old girl.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    The boss

    I love this book,its AWSOME!!!!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Cute Story

    12-year-old Isabel desperately wants to get out of Oregon, where she has spent all her life. When Isabel's mother opens up a cupcake shop in their small town of Willow, Isabel thinks it will be another dissapointing summer. Until her best friend, Sophie, informs her of a baking contest. If Isabel can come up with a winning recipe, she'll get a trip to New York City and will compete in a bake-off. The problem is, Isabel wants to enter her Chocolate Jam Tarts recipe, without dissapointing her mother. The reader will learn how Isabel feels throughout her journey, and will learn to never quit and follow your dreams.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The best

    An awesome book that contains whst all good books shold have

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Mocha

    This book was good and some parts were really funny. I liked it a lot and I would recommend this book to ages 9 to 12. It is very entertaining.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Anonymus

    Must get i havethis book in real life and i love it i defenetly recomend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Should i

    Should i buy this book??????¿

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    So good

    Omg so good

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book and my name is Isabel also!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Recomended

    If you love this book then you'll love 'Cupcake Queen' by Heather Helper

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is such an aweome book! You should DEFINITELY read it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    GREAT

    I luvluvluvluvluvluv this booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooook!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Raining cupcakes?

    this book was really good!i love cupcakes and this helps me discover more

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Friendship

    I recommend this book to girls who like friendship books! I love this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A cute read

    This book is about Isabel who lives in a town called Willow, in Oregon. Her mother gets a crazy idea to open up a cupcake shop in town, but relies heavily on her daughter and husband to motivate her once the shop is a reality. Isabel would love to travel, but her mothers lack of 'gumption,' or follow-through, on things has prevented her family from going on trips. Isabel helps her mom with opening the shop, and enters a dessert recipe into a kids cooking contest, because the finalists get to go to New York City. Lots of life lessons in this book, and examples of how to stay positive when life gets frustrating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Minionlight

    I guess so...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12