Customer Reviews for

It's So Easy: and other lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Not your typical rock and roll read

    Let me start by saying that I have read dozens of rock autobiographies, memoirs and biographies over the years. Usually the more drug filled and sorted the better it is. I have never taken the time to write a review but after reading "It's so easy" I had to say a few words.

    Duff, you are the man! This starts out like many other of the books I read, sex, drugs and rock and roll. Starting out just wanting to play music all the way to waking up and not knowing what country you are in and everything in between. You have read it all before.

    Where this book changes course is when Duff decides to quit drinking or face death. Rehab, nope, he does it his own way. I will let the reader experience that for themselves, but you will be inspired i assure you. Smart guy for sure, and now he has dedicated his life to working with and helping others as well as his persuit of the music he continues to share with us in many forms, mostly his band Loaded.

    I have met literally hundreds of rock stars from a former job and really could nto think of too many that I would like to meet until i read this book. Duff if you read this stuff, thank you for sharing your life with us and continued Godspeed on your sobriety and life with your beautiful family!

    Read this book, you will not be sorry!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    It's So Easy to love Duff's story

    When Duff McKagan announced the publication of his memoir, I was immediately excited as a longtime Guns N' Roses fan. Their career stands as the ultimate rock 'n' roll tale: humble beginnings, a meteoric rise to superstardom, self-indulgent excesses, and finally inevitable destruction. Over the years we've received many sides to the story from the various band members. Slash's recent autobiography was a great read and an intriguing account of what went on inside what was at the time the world's greatest rock group. Duff's book presents a fresh take on this unforgettable ride, along with an unprecedented look into his own personal struggles and triumphs. McKagan is always supremely frank and well-spoken in his recollections, never holding back the gritty details. "It's So Easy" ultimately becomes an examination of addiction, conflict, and defeat on the road to conquering one's demons. You can't help but identify with Duff and respect him even more as both an artist and a man after reading this memoir. Nothing is sugarcoated, and that's the point. Duff explores the darker side of fame, but comes through it with a sense of peace and achievement greater than any platinum record.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Anxious

    I am anxious to read this book. I have read Slash's and Steven's books and really enjoyed them both. GN'R is my all time favorite band and I have followed the careers of the original 5 members (Axl, Slash, Izzy, Duff and Steven) since the beginning. I will always and forever be a GN'R fan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Great Read !!!!

    I stumbled onto this book after seeing Duff on Dr Phil ( youtube takes me to the strangest places ) . I was captivated by his story . Duff proves to be a loving friend, husband, and father . Not to mention a fantastic well rounded musician and songwriter in one of the greatest bands of all time .

    As someone who is in the early stages of recovery , his story is an example that there is hope for guys like us .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's So Easy And Other Lies

    Another young man makes it big in the music business, spends money on drugs and alcohol and almost kills himself in the process. Then after finding no solace in the music he is playing, cleans. Up, finds love and goes to business school. Not really an uplifting tale, but still one of hope and promise.

    Although, I was not a follower of Guns N Roses, I do enjoy reading memoirs and since this one that is in an area I know little about, I thought I would give it a try. I found Duff's storytelling to be interesting and although, they are points in his life that he skims over then comes back to, I did enjoy how he explained what his life was like and how he was able to overcome many obstacles. I am sure fans of the band will enjoy the book as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Great read!

    Loved it! If you are a GNR fan this is a must read. Well written, page turner. Left me wanting more. Very inspirational. Two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Enjoyed this book immensely. Duff was never (in my mind at leas

    Enjoyed this book immensely. Duff was never (in my mind at least) the most well known of the GnR members but I developed a new respect for him after reading his memoirs. Great writing style - not "f this", "f that" but written more like a normal human being relating his experiences. Most of us have dreamed of being rock starts but that will never happen. With Duff's book you can get a sense for what it was all like and maybe even imagine that you yourself went through it. A lot of fun - I read it a 2nd time shortly after the first. Would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Interesting to see how he made it through to the other side. Kee

    Interesting to see how he made it through to the other side. Keep up the hard work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Its a good read and well written.

    One of the better GnR books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Buy it

    One the best rock books available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    A must for any 80's rock fan.

    As a die hard hard rock fan, and the 1980's hard rock scene especially, I bought this as a fan of Guns n Roses & because I am a Seattle music homer. Obviously this covers his time in GnR, Velvet Revolver, but his solo record during his time in GnR, & his current band, Loaded. He also goes into his family life extensively, especially him being a father, which he loves being. He makes no bones about his drug & alcohol addiction, & speaks candidly about it.

    Bottom line, if you are a hard rock fan, you will not be disappointed in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Love

    This book was very good, Kept my attention .i just totally love him after reading this. What a extrordinary man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    Growing up in the 80's, and being a big GnR fan, I found this book a truly interesting read and had a hard time putting it down. Always love a good recovery story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    I loved this story. Such truth and honesty. I bought this after seeing Duff on ELLEN and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    More than Guns and Roses

    I was in La when G and R started. I saw Jetboy and La guns also. If you are a big G and R fan you already know how the band started and how it imploded. Duffs book is more than that. Its a journey of his addictions and how he beat them on his terms. My favorite part of the book was the life AFTER Guns. You cant help but cheer Duff on. Anyone struggling with addiction should read Duffs story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love it

    Duff really opened up his life to the fans. I was only 14 when they were on top of the world and I had the biggest crush on Duff, I could never imanage what he was going though. Great read for not only die hard GNR fans but for all those for have gone though tough times in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    A good read.

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    A wonderful book by a wonderful man. And that is what is at the heart of this book...one man' s journey (and WHAT a journey it is!) into adulthood. Unflinchingly honest, truly inspiring and very well written. Good on you Duff, for being a survivor, a good person anf for sharing it all with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    OUTSTANDING

    Fascinating rock n' roll history.
    It rocks...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Question

    Does this book have swear words in it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4