Customer Reviews for

It's Your Time: Activate Your Faith, Achieve Your Dreams, and Increase in God's Favor

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

It's Your Time

I started watching Joel Osteen after he lost his fether in the year of 2000. Since that time I have been a faithful viewer. I have every book and CD's that he has written or recorded. His positive and motivating sermons have changed my life completely. Each word that h...
I started watching Joel Osteen after he lost his fether in the year of 2000. Since that time I have been a faithful viewer. I have every book and CD's that he has written or recorded. His positive and motivating sermons have changed my life completely. Each word that he speaks is true. If you truly believe I know for a fact that God will change your life. I lost my daughter to a horrible car accident in 2006,through God and the love of Jesus wrapped me up and kept me from going insane. Joel's words of encouragement kept me strong enough to want to continue to live for the 2 children I had left and my granddaughter. This book IT'S YOUR TIME is awesome,it's what each person who lives today needs. To know that God has set this time what some believe is the worst time. To let his people know it's not to late to have the best to have all you need and all you want and to know someone loves you no matter whatever you may do.

posted by lovelivelife on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Hopeless Book

Unfortunately, Osteen's book is a mere veneer of hope. He uses cheap tricks of rhetoric to make the biblical promises for future grace and blessings appear to refer to things of the material world. The Gospel promises the greatest gift of all: Jesus Christ, who saves us...
Unfortunately, Osteen's book is a mere veneer of hope. He uses cheap tricks of rhetoric to make the biblical promises for future grace and blessings appear to refer to things of the material world. The Gospel promises the greatest gift of all: Jesus Christ, who saves us from the just punishment of our sins and sends his Spirit to transform us and live with us. Yet, according to Osteen, the problem with the world is not Sin and separation from God; the problem is depression and lack of material wealth. Therefore he teaches a gospel of self-help (instead of teaching that we truly need God's help) and health and wealth (instead of the fruits of the Spirit and God's mighty presence).

The scriptures never promise Christians pleasant lives of health and material wealth, free of depression and agony. Jesus himself told us to count the cost before we enter His kingdom. Osteen seems to have counted this cost, found it too great, and thereby transformed the glorious, holy, and wonderful God of the bible into a divine-dream-machine, who's chief end is to give selfish people what they desire.

What a terrible crime this is, for Jesus promises far better things: to see and know his glory and righteousness.

posted by PatrickKeithMiller on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seeds of Inspiration.

    Favorable review: Uplifting. If you follow Joel Osteen on T.V. this book has the same stories and talks he gives on his show. You may want to read this book if you want to see "visual" inspiration; it will re-enforce what you hear on his program. Like he says, our breakthrough is just around the corner; don't give up and don't get discouraged or throw in the towel. This is a timely book during hard times for the many situations we face in our personal lives, work lives, family life, and in our "dreams and aspirations" life. He is planting "seeds of inspiration" to encourage the readers to keep pressing forward. This book is well worth reading if you need hope and strength to move into your fabulous future. :) :) It is a visual reminder to stay in faith with the Lord Jesus' plan for your life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book. Makes you feel good after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended,Very Powerful

    Amazing,Amazing,Amazing u would not be the same after reading this book,u will be a better person all together in the name of Jesus Christ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Very Inspirational

    From someone who has (and is) struggling with low self worth, this book reminds me of where my value comes from and who loves me unconditionally. The majority of my family has passed away, prematurely. I will read this book again and again and be reminded that I have a purpose and that God still has a plan for my life. It has renewed my hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Don't waste your time or money

    Olsteen may well be a charsmatic speaker/writer capturing his listeners/readers attention, but when compared to Scripture his teachings don't measure up. If you want to know how to live a Christian life, what to expect in this life now - read Paul's epistles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    recommended

    He's the master of giving hope and courage. But the lasting courage is to free man from all his perceived or imagined fears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Joel Osteen!

    What more can I say about this great book or this wonderful man. Other than that, 'd also like to suggest "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it could change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It Is My Time

    With the times we are living in now, we need to have faith in God and ourselves. This book will certainly encourage you and show you how to have faith in something greater than yourself or country.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It's for sale here on BN.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Everyone should read this book!

    It's Your Time - Take time to read this book because it is your time. I liked this book because it is so easy to read but has such important information.
    You can take your time reading it or go right through it.
    This book helps you to believe in yourself and know you are in charge of your thoughts and what you can do.
    Your faith and beliefs are the things you need to make this your time.
    I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Its your time

    The scriptures are more thoroughly explained then ever before..
    The ( Hope )based on God's word.. is motivating and gives ways to think and act.. as it applies now to modern life...! Fantastic!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Great Reading material

    It's your time is very motivating and inspiring. After reading this book I looked at my life situations in a brand new perceptive. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a motivating life experience. Not to mention I have since purchase tickets to see Joel Osteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Mega Inspiration

    Joel Osteen's positive message is so uplifting and inspirational that I bought a ticket to see him when he comes to my area. Anyone who has watched his show will love this book. If you need motivation to think positively about your life and to know that God has a hand in it, then all of Joel's books should be on your bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8