Customer Reviews for

It's a Book

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED "IT's A BOOK!!!!!

This is the best and funniest book that I have ever read! Borrow it, buy it, just read "It's a Book"!!!

posted by AbsBoy on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Adult Humor

This book was shown on the Reggis and Kelly show today. I went to B&N to check it out. This in not located in the children section. It is in the adult humor section. The book is cute however the last page calls the donkey a jackass." It's a book jackass" The book is fun...
This book was shown on the Reggis and Kelly show today. I went to B&N to check it out. This in not located in the children section. It is in the adult humor section. The book is cute however the last page calls the donkey a jackass." It's a book jackass" The book is funny but inappropriate for children.

posted by Kate45 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    I LOVED "IT's A BOOK!!!!!

    This is the best and funniest book that I have ever read! Borrow it, buy it, just read "It's a Book"!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    it's a marvelous book

    jack·ass
    /'d?æk?æs/ Show Spelled[jak-as]
    -noun
    1. a male donkey.
    2. a contemptibly foolish or stupid person; dolt; blockhead; ass.

    the character in this book is both. it's not inappropriate, wev-c, unless you make it that way

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    A funny ode to our favorite friends, books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    My Granddaughter LOVES this book!

    I first purchased "It's A Little Book" (board book) and it was so much fun to read! My granddaughter wanted to read it over and over again. It was always the book she requested at nap and bed time as well as many times during the day. So.....the thing to do was follow it up with "It's a Book". Great books that are fun to read. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Smart, Current, Relevant, and Funny

    Lane Smith has always been one of my favorite illustrators, and here he shows, once again, that he's also a great, creative author.

    In a smart-alecky picture book, a monkey and a donkey talk about a book. The donkey thinks it must be a computer-related thing--how do you tweet, type, charge it, surf the web? "It's a book!" the monkey is constantly trying to tell him. In this time of technology-takeover and eBook industry, this book is a perfect addition.

    Adults will understand better than younger kids, but older elementary schoolers will enjoy it once they understand the tone behind it. For a great version for toddlers, check out Lane Smith's new board book, "It's a Little Book", in which they ask, "Is it a hat? Is it for building forts? Is it for eating?" Adorable and still hilarious.

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Wonderful!

    A a tech support person in a school district who also loves books, I found this book absolutely delightful! And for those people who are offended, shame on you! The characters are introduced by who/what they are at the beginning of the book. And, if you look it up in the dictionary you'll see what any of us in farm country know: "A jackass is a male ass or donkey." Use this to teach the ORIGINAL meaning of words and not the slang people drag words down into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Love it!

    I love the tone, the illustrations, the message. As for the jackass, well, I love that too, but then I'm fairly relaxed about such things. No, I wouldn't let my kid run into school with the book -- at least not without warning the teacher (and I am a teacher) -- but hey, if you don't like the jackass bit, don't read it. Don't let that one little word - which is completely accurate by the way -- get in the way of a sweet read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    excellent

    Last night in one of my education classes the professor ended the class with her reading this book to us. IT WAS AWESOME. I admit it is not for small children, but after a certain age it is fabulous. I ordered it for my sister (teacher), mom (teacher), dad (teacher) and a friend (teacher). They are going to love this book and will appreciate it for its light humor. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sign of the times...

    Anna Quindlen made the point once that electronic books may be the next big thing, but they'll never be "companionable." Kids reading this are probably too young to really get the humor of the last page, and it's fun for the grown-ups. A great way to start fostering a love for books, while poking some fun at folks who don't read for fun (and don't know what they are missing).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So good I had to post about it!

    I think this is the most hilarious book I've ever read. I had to post about it on Facebook just because I think everyone should read this book, it's great for a good giggle. Teachers and Librarians will really appreciate it but anyone that knows kids these days will think it's funny. So go to your local library or bookstore and READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1