Customer Reviews for

It's a Jungle in There: Inspiring Lessons, Hard-Won Insights, and Other Acts of Entrepreneurial Daring

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Loved every page of this book!

    I have been the CEO of five start-up companies and I just got done reading "It's a Jungle in There." Wow - the advice that Steven Schussler gives to entrepreneurs is worth it's weight in gold and anyone who reads this book will not only be inspired, but they will jumpstart their creativity to fast forward to real results in business! My favorite part of the book is all of the real life examples that Schussler gives...it goes to show that we all should adopt his philosophy of 'Never say Never and never give up!" I am ordering copies for friends and family as soon as possible...this book has just become my gift of choice for birthdays and holidays!
    Lori Frank

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    This guy is bananas! No pun intended.

    I've been to Rain-forest Cafe's quite a bit with my nieces and nephews and would have never in my wildest dreams imagined its very peculiar inception. In the 80's the author of this book had a vision of a tropical-themed restaurant. He knew that if he was going to attempt launching it, he would need investors, so he did what any of us would do. he turned his own home into the prototype (crazy awesome!) People were walking through all the time and after a lot of rejection and even a visit from the DEA (Yes, the DEA!) he finally made it happen and thus, the Rain forest Cafe was born.

    I swear, he's like the Rocky Balboa of the business world--any time he got knocked down, he got right back up and he offers a lot of advice to anyone that's thinking of starting up their own business...but the reason to really buy this book is for all of his off-the-wall anecdotes.

    I promise, you won't be sorry--it wasn't a dry business guide, it was a total riot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Easy Read, Interesting, and Informative

    Through reading the book I have found that the book was an interesting, easy read that goes over the recesses of what Entrepreneurship really is. If you are looking into being an entrepreneur, or are interested in what an entrepreneur does, pick up this book and read it and you will be surprised at what being an entrepreneur is really about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Great Read!

    Steven has a terrific writing style...He kept me engaged from start to finish with his quips and humor and kept me inspired from page to page with his audacity, his tenacity and his ability to succeed against the odds! Beyond the events of this career, however, is the entrepreneur's lesson plan that Steven articulates for the reader... It's the clarity of what skills and what principles are necessary to beat the odds that are my lasting takeaway. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Inspiring Business and Life Stories with Many Laughs Along the Way.

    I spent most of my Friday night reading, "It's a Jungle in There" by Steven Schussler. And yes I have a social life; the book was that enjoyable. Being someone who likes reading about business success and the personal stories of entrepreneurs, it is one of the most engaging books I have read for some time. First off, it is a simple read, flows well, and kept me engaged both from a fun factor as well as valuable lessons to implement in my life. But let me caution you, the book is about much more than business and pure profits. If you're looking for a book with heart attached to business and seeing how good people can succeed by operating from the "golden rule" this is a great read. I personally liked the chapter on philanthropy and how 100% of the author's profits are going to Smile Network Intl.

    If you are an entrepreneur or want to start your own business, you'll love the stories. In addition to laughing you're a** off, you will gain tangible principles that will directly impact your results in business and as a person. And even if you don't think of yourself as an entrepreneur, I guarantee you will find the book enjoyable, thought provoking, and encourage you to go after your dreams.

    Given the inspiring stories of perseverance, and the substance from a credible entrepreneur, I know I will use this book as a reference for my own journey and also gift it to others as they reflect and pursue their passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    This book is not just for entrepreneurs.

    Having spend 27 years in the field of Human Resources I throughly enjoyed "It's A Jungle In There." Section IV was outstanding!

    Pat_Ryan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    This book will inspire you...

    How many NO's would it take before you gave up? Could you with passion, jest, and salesmanship sell your idea to the same investor who has told you NO 26 times before?

    The author got Yes on the 27th try.

    First I have to admit for this book review I'm a little biased. This last week I got to tour the Schussler Creative, Inc. showroom (or the Laboratories). Beyond that great experience for this review the book completely has it's own merit.

    This book is inspiring in each and every way. As an entrepreneur it resonated with me on many different levels. Here are some key things I got from reading the book:

    Why You Should be a Mutli-tasker. yes I know the latest studies say otherwise but in a few years they will go back and say that you really should multitask. So I tend to agree with Steven on this one. He also shares how working on two things at once actually got him a deal.

    The Case for Strategic Partnerships. Great case studies throughout the book on why you should consider a strategic partnership and some general advice on why they truly are a smart move.

    Persistence. This is an overarching theme of the book and a reminder for anybody during those tough times that a little persistence will go a long way.

    Vision. I've seen first hand that Mr. Schussler is a visionary but getting the inside track from stories and life experiences really shows how you can take a vision to reality.

    Managing Perception. The author covers a topic in Chapter 23 that I believe is a hidden gem that every entrepreneur must know.

    So yes I recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Creativity Drives Results!

    This book shows you what happens if you go for it and follow your dreams!
    Most people step into something part way, not Steven Schussler. This book is a quick read filled with good questions to help you connect to your passion or reignite the fire that made you go for it with your best ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    How to Turn a No into a Yes!

    Steven Schussler's book, It's A Jungle In There, is one of the most incredible and inspiring how to beat the odds books I've ever read. His no-nonsense approach to following your dream and getting things done is remarkable. I purchased a few for my entrepreneurial brothers and friends. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2